Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
12 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
October 22, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 22, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

"There's no place like home". That statement is what my daughter used as a caption under a picture she just took of herself at a StarStruck rehearsal. Beyond being an excellent training ground for musical theatre arts, StarStruck Theatre has provided nourishment for my children's souls. I have seen my children blossom in confidence, friendships, decision-making, and time-management. I have seen children who are lost and lonely during the school day come to StarStruck and become "alive". For some children, StarStruck has literally saved their lives by giving them something constructive and creative to look forward to and to belong to. My family has ever been transformed for the better since StarStruck came into our lives!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 21, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 21, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

So far I have only been a part of one summer musical with starstruck theatre, but let me tell you this, Starstruck theatre is the place to be! Whether its performing, working backstage, volunteering, or even just coming out to watch a show, the starstruck family will fill your heart with joy. The only thing I regret is not joining sooner! The instructors at starstruck are the best. They will work with you patiently and kindly, so you can give the best performance of your life. I have learned so much more about the magic of theatre thanks to Starstruck. If I could describe Starstruck Theatre in one word it would be ASTONISHING!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 19, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 19, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Starstruck Youth Theatre in Fremont, CA made such a difference in my life. When entering this program I only knew my "dance friends" and didn't think I would get to know anyone else (we were brought in as specialty tap dancers from a studio we attended together). After the first week of rehearsals I was in love with my fellow cast mates and the production team. Everyone was so warm and welcoming to this new group of people they had never met. The actors/singers would give the dancers tips and we would help them with choreography. After my first show in 2008 I ended up doing 5 more shows because I couldn't get enough of it.These people grew to become my second family and I loved them and the company so much. I was sad once my last show finished in summer of 2011 but I still go and see almost every show they put on. Every time I get to see familiar faces and everyone is genuinely happy to see you return. I have made lifelong friendships through this company and many people that I recommended it to are having the same wonderful experience I had. This company does not only put on great musical productions for the community to enjoy, but gives the cast and crew a life changing experince and wonderful memories.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 18, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 18, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Our family became involved with StarStruck through my eldest son while he was in high school. We had heard from the community about StarStruck's great shows, but had no idea of the true caliber until we saw our first production and were floored! The production value and talent was off the charts! This led to my son auditioning and being cast in several show, and our family becoming active volunteers and eventually to my becoming a Board Member. Without a doubt, StarStruck is the reason that my son chose to pursue Musical Theatre in college. He just graduated from UCLA's School of Theatre, Film & Television and is currently performing in his second professional show. My youngest son has also been in several productions and has become an accomplished dancer through his training at StarStruck. I can't say enough good things about StarStruck - the professionalism, the training, the talent it attracts, and the incredibly high production value make it pretty incomparable.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

A bigger facility - we're bursting at the seams!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 18, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 18, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

As a musician who has performed with more than 40 different shows with various theater groups of all ages, including high-quality youth theater programs, I would rank the quality of Starstruck right up there at the top. It feels good to know that there are programs like this where talented budding performers can learn the craft and develop not just their skills but their love of the performing arts along with those who just enjoy the experience. Everyone needs a place where they can be their best and do what they love.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Move it closer to the South Bay :).

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

None

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 18, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 18, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have been taking my two grade-school aged sons to see Starstruck's amazing performances for over 5 years. At the very first performance we attended I was shocked to find out that the actors were ages 9-16. I thought I was watching young adult actors and that children's theater meant it was FOR children, not performed BY children! The vocals and acting were of such a high quality - way beyond their years, professional, even. The staging, costumes and direction were amazing, I still wonder how they pull it off, knowing that they rely on donations to keep these enriching shows coming my way. Through the years as I attended this theater and occasionally caught shows at other children's theaters in the Bay Area, I was consistently pleased to see the high quality singers, dancers and actors Starstruck attracts (and develops) in their well produced shows. They set the bar very high and not many other theaters in the bay area can compete.
Then, two years ago, a good friend's son auditioned and began performing in Starstruck shows and I was so very lucky to hear about how things ran from the inside and was able to further appreciate the amazing character building, professional and personal development the staff nurtures among their actors.
I have seen a young man flourish and grow by leaps and bounds due to his involvement with Lori and her staff, it's been a beautiful sight to see. I cannot recommend this organization enough to any human being on the planet in terms of attending their shows, being in their shows or supporting their shows through donations or grants. They truly do stellar work in the community and affect our young people (me and my sons included!) in more ways than even they can imagine. Maybe someday my boys will audition!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Expand and do even more shows. This organization runs great shows, develops young people and brings joy to everyone attending their shows. What more could anyone ask?

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 17, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 17, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Amazing! The productions always keep us on the edge of our seats! It's hard to believe that the incredibly talented actors are all kids! I am in awe of the quality shows that Starstruck Theatre puts on!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 17, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 17, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Star Struck is the absolutely the best theatrical company in the East Bay. Every production is flawless and polished to perfection. My son has made tremendous strides working with the outstanding director, choreographer and musical director. They have brought out the best in him as a performer and also as a human being. He has learned so much about how to work as a team player as well as how to be a responsible, caring person. I owe so much to Star Struck Theatre for helping my son navigate his way through his adolescence. My son will be forever grateful for having been a part of the many shows he has had the privilege of being cast in. He hopes to make acting his career, and Star Struck has given him impeccable training towards that goal. I have been involved with theatre all my life and I have never seen such a solid, talented and caring oganization as this. I just cannot say enough wonderful things about Star Struck Theatre!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I wouldn't change one thing! I only wish I was a millionaire so I could give them everything they need to continue the quality of work that they produce.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

January 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

My son has been participating in StarStruck shows for the past 7 years. He has participated in 12 main stage shows, and has been allowed to pursue his passion in an environment of respect, love and acceptance. No matter what role he has been in, he has always been made to feel as if his role was crucial to the show. I have also had the opportunity to volunteer for StarStruck, and each volunteer is included in the family as well.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

January 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have now worked three shows in the pit with StarStruck. Each experience has been outstanding. Sadly I do not get to see the live performances on stage, however, the cast and crews on up to the directors have put together wonderful performances that my friends and family have given very high marks.
This is a great troupe for youth to learn many aspects about theatre beyond just singing, dancing and acting. Live theatre is always wonderfully unpredictable and StarStruck handles things like pros.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers