Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
10 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
April 5, 2013

more

April 5, 2013

WONDEFUL!!! Amazing people and really some of the kindest hearts in rescue- that I have ever met!! Would help them any day, any time. I love them!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 20, 2012

more

October 20, 2012


The most amazing people and rescuers. They put the animals first and themselves last. They will do anything to help. We have adopted 2 dogs from them. Just look at the pictures they have on their sight and facebook. I have printed a few of these pictures because they are inspirational.One
picture in particular stands out and that is of FIDDLESTICKS. The picture tells it all. I show them to people hoping they will help a rescue. Will I adopt from them again in the future...definitely yes.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

October 1, 2012

more

October 1, 2012

We have been rescuing dogs from STAR since they began helping saving the animals of Rowan County. I have had the pleasure of driving down from Buffalo, NY 4 times and met these dedicated volunteers. The other dogs have been transported here. An estimated 50 dogs have come from STAR and unlike other shelters we have rescued from, every dog we get from STAR is exactly as described with no surprises regarding their health, age, or temperament. I cannot think of any group of animal volunteers I would rather work with!

Photos

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

receiving dogs to re-home in Buffalo, NY through our Dog Rescue.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

not make any.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

How did you find this group?

A friend.

What, if any, change in your life has this group encouraged?

The encouragement to continue responsible dog rescue.

September 25, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

September 25, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

Before joining STAR, my husband I had been rescuing and adopting out animals for nearly nine years. It is sometimes a heartbreaking job, and a mental and financial drain, especially without the support of an organization. In March, I became a proud, proud member of STAR, and I have been able to rescue and foster more than ever. It is a wonderful organization with a reputation for extraordinary kindness. The women and men I have had the honor to meet have become family. They work tirelessly and often without gratitude to save precious lives. They give generously of their own time, money, blood, sweat, and tears, and are often a great encouragement to those they encounter to do the right thing, always. I have great love and respect for STAR, and only wish I had more to give.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 1, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 1, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

STAR is the most respected rescue group I know! I first met Julia about 6 yrs ago when I came across 2 dogs she needed help with and I eneded up sending her toys and treats for them since that was all I could do from Illinois at the moment. We became good friends ever since and I have been having several fundraisers , asking for donations at my garage sales using poster boards full of the Rowan County dog pound dogs pictures and selling dog treat bags at my aunts store to raise some money for STAR! I send care packages from my organization called Baileys love to STAR full of goodies for the pound dogs, dogs on transports and foster dogs! I even sponsor dogs and ask for donations from family and friends. STAR is an outstanding rescue group and rise above everyone else and what they do for the hundreds of dogs not only in rowan, but other counties when dire help is needed weather it be 6am or 10pm, usually someone is there for a call, a pick up, or any other emergency! I have so much love and respect for the people with STAR and support their progress! There are a few ladies with STAR who are my role models, and are certainly hero's and angels! They do what is right and I wish I could take away some of their heart ache with all of the problems that occur with the homeless, dumped, abused animals in Rowan. They fight until the last minute to find a safe and loving place for every dog they can They show the world what it takes to be kind, loving and compassionate and the constant struggle it is to help animals. I love them very much and want only the very best for them and their families and the animals of Rowan County! STAR rates 5 stars from me!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would add thousands of dollars to their bank account to continue to help and save the animals!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 31, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 31, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I first became associated with STAR (Saving The Animals of Rowan) when someone near my home moved and left their dog. I would stop and leave food and water, however the dog was to frightened to come to me. Star had things well in hand and were able to rescue the dog. Later that year another case of a family moving and leaving a very pregnant dog made me think of STAR. I became a foster for STAR with the litter of 9 puppies, and their mother. Since then, I have had the honor of fostering hundreds of puppies and dogs for STAR. I am continually amazed at the dedication and hard work members are involved in in order to find rescues, transports, veterinary care, and adoptions in our small community. We have some of the hardest working volunteers I have ever know. I have now been associated with STAR for nearly four years now, and foster on a regular basis as well as participating in fundraising when ever possible. It is truly amazing the transformation you will see in dog that has been abandoned, or abused when they are given the opportunity of a loving family environment. I am very proud to be associated with STAR.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 31, 2012

more

Review from Guidestar
July 31, 2012

STAR (Saving the Animals of Rowan) has some of the most dedicated volunteers and it is ALL about the dogs. It is an all volunteer group, there are no paid positions, every penny goes to the care of the animals. STAR has been able to make the county pound go from a 95% kill rate to a 95% save rate. I only wish every county could have such a group working for and helping the dogs. I have adopted a STAR dog and he is the most loving dog and has brought me much laughter. When there is an injured, neglected or abused animal STAR is called and steps forward. A puppy mill was raided and STAR is the group that stepped forward and assisted the ASPCA from Oct. until March to care for the dogs. This is amost worthy and deserving organization. I am proud to be associated with this group.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 31, 2012

more

Review from Guidestar
July 31, 2012

The single most amazing people that I have ever known. Rescuers that are amazing human beings!!!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 31, 2012

more

July 31, 2012

Prior to becoming a STAR volunteer, I read about their fundraisers in the local paper. I have been a volunteer now for about a year and a half. I had no idea how much work they do, or how many dogs they save prior to becoming directly involved in STAR. As a volunteer, I go to the local Canine Shelter almost daily to take photos of new dogs, evaluate them, and observe any physical problems that might need attention. Photos are put on Petfinder as part of the effort to find homes and rescues. STAR takes on the expenses of veterinary care of dogs in need. Members immediately step up to foster dogs and puppies that would not do well in the Pound environment. There is not a day that goes by without STAR helping animals in Rowan County in one way or another. STAR works diligently with the County to keep the shelter low kill, and assists the County in providing for the care and rehoming of homeless dogs. In addition to directly helping the dogs, STAR members are constantly planning and conducting fundraisers to raise the money needed to cover veterinary, transport, and other expenses. STAR is dedicated to helping homeless dogs of Rowan County!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 30, 2012

more

Review from Guidestar
July 30, 2012

I learned of STAR from another organization who was requesting help with transporting a dog from STAR to them in Cincinnati, OH. From that point on I began following STAR through the United Rescues of Kentucky listserve, and eventually their Facebook page. I began fostering for STAR, and have been very impressed with their commitment to an awesome foster experience, as well as their dedication to seeing that all animals find a loving home. I cannot help but be impressed with their ability to get shelter animals out and into rescues or foster homes, keeping the kill rate at the pound extremely low. Their hard work and dedication certainly are obvious. The saying "When the going gets tough, the tough get going" certainly applies in the case of STAR!

Photos

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

I have made many new friends through STAR. We occasionally have "Foster Mom" lunches, which is a great opportunity to meet others that foster and to build relationships while enjoying some great food!

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

I felt great for giving several dogs the opportunity to hang out with my family until finding their way to a rescue. Others were made whole again through the care and medicines they were given until they were healthy enough to move to rescue.

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers