Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
19 Reviews
1234.842115
Previous | Next
Write A Review
February 13, 2013

I began working with Star of Hope in 1998 when, as a faculty member of Baylor College of Medicine, I was asked to develop a counseling center for women and families at the Star of Hope Transitional Living Center (TLC). As a family therapist and community health professional, this was an exciting opportunity to meet a real need in the community. As everyone knows, one of the problems in the delivery of mental health care is that many of those who need it cannot afford it. But Star of Hope made that happen. The TLC was already providing an excellent recovery program, along with a Personal Development and Career Development curriculum. The Baylor Counseling Center added additional resources: individual and family counseling, children’s play therapy, medication management, relapse prevention groups, anger assertiveness/management classes, personal health coaching, and Building Better Families classes. With access to these resources the clients were able to address their problems in a safe and professional environment and we were privileged to help facilitate the healing process. Over the years I have seen hundreds of women recover from addiction to drugs and alcohol, the trauma of partner violence and childhood sexual abuse, and such mental illnesses as depression, PTSD, and various anxiety disorders. Many would tell us that they knew what they needed to overcome their problems, but they simply could not afford it, and when they discovered the Star of Hope TLC, it was like manna from heaven. I no longer work at Baylor or Star of Hope TLC, but I return each year as a volunteer to teach my Power Over Anger course, and I am always buoyed to see the healing that happens thanks to the courage of the clients and Star of Hope’s commitment to provide professional treatment programs in a faith-based setting. -Warren Holleman, PhD

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 26, 2012

more

November 26, 2012

I have been involved with Star of Hope for the past 11 years. I have worked as a counselor at both the Women's Shelter and the Transitional Living Center and have witnessed first hand the many lives that have changed because of the highly dedicated staff that become personally inovolved in the lives of the people who walk through the doors of Star of of Hope. It is the goal of Star of Hope to treat each client with love and respect - to help them return to functioning in the world physically, mentally, fiscally, and spiritually whole. I have personally watched these miracles occur...to see women who literally were left on the street - beaten and left for dead and after a year of dedicated work at the Transitional Living Center of Star of Hope leave with a new life. As an example, I watched one lady leave those doors with her 10 year old daughter smiling beside her...a job...an apartment...and all because the 1 year total of combined programs at Star of Hope helped her to get her life back. Of course, she did the work. But Star of Hope provided a beautiful furnished apartment, 3 healthy meals a day for her and her daughter, the afterschool and evening and summer program for her daughter, year long individual and group counseling for her and and daughter, a 3 month intensive alcohol/drug program and year long followup, a Bible, Chrisitan education, a case manager to meet with weekly and who was always available, checkins at the front desk, volunteers who came to give extra programs, and much, much more. I will tell you that I have watched these "miracles" occur at Star of Hope often as clients graduate to their new lives. I have also worked as a counselor at the Women and Family Shelter which functions more as the traditional Homeless Shelter. I am also impressed with the manner in which the staff tirelessly and compassionately treat the many people who come asking for food and a place to stay.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 18, 2012

As a health professional, educator, and retired Program Director, I have worked to establish and provide on-site health care services at the Star of Hope for over 20 years. In 1989 through an untraditional collaboration, on-site health care clinics were established at Star of Hope facilities. Many homeless individuals forego and delay accessing health care because of financial, programmatic, and individual barriers they encounter. By providing health care on-site, many of these barriers are eliminated and minimized. The clinics established are federally qualified health clinics and maintain national accreditation through the Joint Commission of Hospitals Ambulatory Care Standards. We are currently working to add community health workers to the cadre of service providers that collaborate to assist homeless individuals exit homelessness, attain and maintain self-sufficiency, and to prevent recidivism. I commend the Star of Hope for its collaborative spirit and extensive network of partnerships that address the myriad of problems experienced by homeless individuals. Marion Scott, MSN,RN, CHWI

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 29, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 29, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

As Executive Director of Open Door Mission we work very closely with the staff at Star of Hope in meeting the needs of the homeless and helping many of them transition to independent and productive lives. We know that most Individuals in recovery will spend time in more than one program but seeds get planted along the way. We may plant a seed, and it gets harvested while the individual is at Star of Hope and vice versa. There are times when it becomes necessary to dismiss a resident, andStar of Hope is our first choice for placement. I believe the feeling is mutual because they send people our way too. Since we do not have a program for women and children and do not provide emergency services to those not interested in recovery we refer inquiries for help to Star of Hope. Additionally, there is a plan in progress for the Alumni of both organizations to get involved in joint projects.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Both Star of Hope and Open Door Mission are members of the Association of Gospel Rescue Missions, and we share common goals in helping the homeless. From personal experience I know that Star of Hope management is highly committed to the cause, and you can see the impact in the lives being changed that are under their care.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find a way to help more people. The need is so great.

April 20, 2011

more

April 20, 2011

I have been a program evaluator for Star of Hope for over a decade. I work with several non-profits in Texas, particularly homeless shelters and transitional housing providers, and Star of Hope is by far the best organization with which I have worked. They work is cutting edge and compassionate in dealing with a very difficult population. Their family programs address the all the needs of the every family member -- physical, emotional, psychological, spiritual and financial -- in helping them to recover from homelessness, poverty, and in most cases physical, sexual and/or substance abuse.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

analyzing client information and seeing the number of residents who exit their program and poverty successfully.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

expand their resources to allow them to help provide more after-care and housing subsidies to homeless families as they exit the transitional living center and move to permanent housing.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

What is unique about this organization?

Its comprehensive holistic approach to a very complex and difficult problem -- homelessness

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers