Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
20 Reviews
1234.655
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
September 11, 2014

more

September 11, 2014

The REAL name of the 'Star of Hop'e should be the 'Star of Hopelessness'.
There's what could be only described as open discrimination not only from the clients assigned as workers who play outright favoritism with certain friends by giving preferential treatment to them such as letting them
cut in line to eat but even in assigning bed tickets. The handicapped are openly discriminated against, as having to stand outside in all types of inclement weather while using cane, walkers, wheelchairs etc. Many of the handicapped have health conditions making this unsafe. Depending on the 'worker' assigned to let 'Rescue client' re-enter the building for a bed ticket the handicapped are often left to sleep on the floor on a approx. two-inch mattress. please remember these people use walkers, canes, etc. so getting up or down on a regular bed is hard enough much less onto a floor.
The people who can afford to pay (yes this is supposedly a non-profit) $150.00 a month to stay at the Star of Hope Men's Development Center (MDC) are treated MUCH better than the Rescue Client. In ways such as better mattresses, being able to eat earlier, take a shower whenever needed. a actual locker to secure their personal belongings, etc. Whereas the Rescue Client is forced to store their personal items in a common area where very ofter items, if not entire pieces of baggage are stolen.
The paid staff treat the Rescues like dirt to say the least as well in how they treat and communicate with them. This is NOT a religious orginization to say the least but a way to make money as a non-profit disguised as a homeless shelter. Never will I volunteer at The Star of Hope MDC. Donate items or cash to them once I'm able. And tell all others as well the real story of the Star of Hope MDC
To make the Star of Hope even worse. ONLY the spiritual Recovery Program members (SRP's) an Veteran's in Progress" (VIP's) are allowed access to job search, clean, useable clothes for job interviews, bus passes for job searches, medical appointments etc wheres the Rescue Client is forced to walk in all weather conditions etc., and not have a sack lunch provided by the Star of Hope as SRP's and VIP's are. Need I say more.?>

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Fire every one both paid and unpaid.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A little

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

No

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Badly

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

February 13, 2013

I began working with Star of Hope in 1998 when, as a faculty member of Baylor College of Medicine, I was asked to develop a counseling center for women and families at the Star of Hope Transitional Living Center (TLC). As a family therapist and community health professional, this was an exciting opportunity to meet a real need in the community. As everyone knows, one of the problems in the delivery of mental health care is that many of those who need it cannot afford it. But Star of Hope made that happen. The TLC was already providing an excellent recovery program, along with a Personal Development and Career Development curriculum. The Baylor Counseling Center added additional resources: individual and family counseling, children’s play therapy, medication management, relapse prevention groups, anger assertiveness/management classes, personal health coaching, and Building Better Families classes. With access to these resources the clients were able to address their problems in a safe and professional environment and we were privileged to help facilitate the healing process. Over the years I have seen hundreds of women recover from addiction to drugs and alcohol, the trauma of partner violence and childhood sexual abuse, and such mental illnesses as depression, PTSD, and various anxiety disorders. Many would tell us that they knew what they needed to overcome their problems, but they simply could not afford it, and when they discovered the Star of Hope TLC, it was like manna from heaven. I no longer work at Baylor or Star of Hope TLC, but I return each year as a volunteer to teach my Power Over Anger course, and I am always buoyed to see the healing that happens thanks to the courage of the clients and Star of Hope’s commitment to provide professional treatment programs in a faith-based setting. -Warren Holleman, PhD

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 26, 2012

more

November 26, 2012

I have been involved with Star of Hope for the past 11 years. I have worked as a counselor at both the Women's Shelter and the Transitional Living Center and have witnessed first hand the many lives that have changed because of the highly dedicated staff that become personally inovolved in the lives of the people who walk through the doors of Star of of Hope. It is the goal of Star of Hope to treat each client with love and respect - to help them return to functioning in the world physically, mentally, fiscally, and spiritually whole. I have personally watched these miracles occur...to see women who literally were left on the street - beaten and left for dead and after a year of dedicated work at the Transitional Living Center of Star of Hope leave with a new life. As an example, I watched one lady leave those doors with her 10 year old daughter smiling beside her...a job...an apartment...and all because the 1 year total of combined programs at Star of Hope helped her to get her life back. Of course, she did the work. But Star of Hope provided a beautiful furnished apartment, 3 healthy meals a day for her and her daughter, the afterschool and evening and summer program for her daughter, year long individual and group counseling for her and and daughter, a 3 month intensive alcohol/drug program and year long followup, a Bible, Chrisitan education, a case manager to meet with weekly and who was always available, checkins at the front desk, volunteers who came to give extra programs, and much, much more. I will tell you that I have watched these "miracles" occur at Star of Hope often as clients graduate to their new lives. I have also worked as a counselor at the Women and Family Shelter which functions more as the traditional Homeless Shelter. I am also impressed with the manner in which the staff tirelessly and compassionately treat the many people who come asking for food and a place to stay.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 18, 2012

As a health professional, educator, and retired Program Director, I have worked to establish and provide on-site health care services at the Star of Hope for over 20 years. In 1989 through an untraditional collaboration, on-site health care clinics were established at Star of Hope facilities. Many homeless individuals forego and delay accessing health care because of financial, programmatic, and individual barriers they encounter. By providing health care on-site, many of these barriers are eliminated and minimized. The clinics established are federally qualified health clinics and maintain national accreditation through the Joint Commission of Hospitals Ambulatory Care Standards. We are currently working to add community health workers to the cadre of service providers that collaborate to assist homeless individuals exit homelessness, attain and maintain self-sufficiency, and to prevent recidivism. I commend the Star of Hope for its collaborative spirit and extensive network of partnerships that address the myriad of problems experienced by homeless individuals. Marion Scott, MSN,RN, CHWI

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 10, 2012


I am a physician who has volunteered several hours a week at the Star of Hope for almost 12 years. I have practiced ophthalmology for over 32 years. Back in 2001, I decided to set up a free eye clinic to serve the homeless population in downtown Houston. Having good vision is essential to
starting on the path to a stable and productive life. I approached the Star of Hope Men's Development Center, which had just finished new construction. I brought my own equipment, and obtained an inventory of used glasses to distribute. Over the years, I have examined over 4300 people and given over 3300 pairs of glasses.

When I walk into the Star of Hope clinic at 8:30 AM each Wednesday morning, there is usually a group of ladies waiting, having been transported from the Women and Family Shelter and the Transitional Living Center. They have filled out their paperwork already, and are ready to be seen. The staff then calls for the residents of the Men's Development Center, who have signed up for the eye clinic in advance, and takes their individual medical histories. Work proceeds quickly, with the help of a volunteer optician. At the end of each complete eye exam, each patient has used glasses to help them immediately, a prescription to obtain free new glasses, and referral to the appropriate county medical facility if necessary. Over a three hour period, between 8 and 12 patients are generally seen. This past year, the eye clinic was renovated and received state-of-the-art equipment as a result of a grant obtained by the Star of Hope. Each homeless patient gets the type of care that private patients receive.

Over the years, I have diagnosed numerous cases of glaucoma, diabetic retinopathy, inflammatory eye diseases, and eye movement disorders. Cases of life-threatening brain tumor and retinal detachment have also been detected, with referral for urgent surgery.

I have found the work to be very gratifying. Even the most depressed patients become elated when they can see. But this type of outreach could never have been accomplished without the excellent facilities and dedicated and compassionate staff of the Star of Hope.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 29, 2012

As a volunteer that has coordinated and delivered training to the leaders of Star of Hope, I have witnessed the gracious and heartfelt dedication that these people have to ending homelessness for their clients. I have had the opportunity to attend some of their nightly worship services with the clients housed at the men's mission, and I have been truly moved at the transformation and hope that SOH provides to the people they serve. Their God-centered approach to clients, and each other, make this a truly exceptional organzation that serves groups of people often forgotten by so many of us. It has been a blessing to be involved with them.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 20, 2012

more

March 20, 2012

I have been a Star of Hope volunteer and donor for almost 20 years. I continue to support this life changing organization because I have observed first hand the faith based recovery programs offered to men and women who had all but given up on life. Star of Hope gives them a second chance and the tools to achieve a more productive and independent life. I work with the children at their Transitional Living Center - teaching dance and coordination. In addition, several times a year my Cookie Joe's Dancin" School will produce a benefit performance or concert for the mission. Over the years we have given over $50,000 to the organization. We are able to designate our donations to specifically help the homeless children. The interior of the Place of Grace at the Women and Family Emergency Shelter is funded by our efforts and evidence of all donations is obvious in the quality of care and services. I notice that more and more families are showing up at the shelters and the need for care is growing. I encourage everyone to support this wonderful mission.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Observing services and progams that work to change lives and futures.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

My work at Star of Hope validates my faith

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Fulfilled

November 7, 2011
3 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
November 7, 2011
3 people found this review helpful

I've begun working in the background on the streets of Houston, using Star of Hope's wonderful suggestions of what kinds of items to give to the homeless. I've been out on the streets talking to the homeless folks and getting their opinions on Star of Hope since I have been considering becoming an official volunteer. I also look for ministries to give money to on a regular basis. The ONLY reason I have decided not to support SOH is due to the fact that the CEO's are paid enormous salaries. I find it hard to accept that a CEO working and caring about the homeless could in conscience accept such high salaries and live better than the normal middle class.
Sadly, I will not be supporting this much needed ministry because the excessive money that goes for these salaries could be better sent helping the poor.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

By talking to the people on the streets who have utilized some of the Star Of Hope resources.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would not pay my CEO such huge salaries allowing them to live like the wealthy, while they are serving the poorest of the poor.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

How did you learn about this organization?

googled looking for ministries to the homeless in Houston.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

April 29, 2011

I have been personally blessed through the Star of Hope at several levels. First, I have met on several occasions individuals who have been assisted by Star of Hope in the past are now in the mainstream workforce. Their lives have been changed to stable, motivated and contributing individuals. Not just to society but to others who are now where they once were.
Secondly, I have seen the walk of several of their leadership in the community. Their walk backs up the work they do at Star of Hope. They are people of integrity, character and consistency, I am impressed.
Finally, I have had several opportunities to either refer people to Star of Hope and on one occasion was personally involved in taking someone to the shelter in the late evening. They were received under a stressful situation and shown respect where others had ignored the persons situation. Many in our community are impressed with what they see about Star of Hope in news reports, and yet, I feel that what they do that makes the news pales in comparison to what they do 24/7 all year long.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I have referred people to Star of Hope on several occasions with positive results. Specifically I have spoken with those people later and their response was positive and their lives had moved forward to an improved level. I have also heard the testimony of men and women whose lives have changed as a result of the intervention of Star of Hope in their lives. The details of what they learned, personal changes and disciplines they were able to experience and the reality of their new life is impressive!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Help to make certain even more people knew of their work so those who do not know about Star of Hope yet would either begin to support it or benefit from Star of Hope's work in their time of need. This is an organization worth supporting with time, money and prayers!

April 29, 2011

Over the course of the last twelve years I have served as a GED tutor, warehouse worker, food preparation worker, and personal development instructor for Star of Hope. I have personally witnessed many lives changed as a result of this miraculous organization. Their programs are Christ-centered, well organized, efficiently managed, and the content is highly relevant to a productive Christian life. The staff of the Star of Hope are extremely compassionate and deeply concerned for the wellbeing and success of their clients. This organization is a true blessing to the less fortunate people of the Houston area.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I have personally witnessed many lives changed as a result of this miraculous organization.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would not make a change.

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers