Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
27 Reviews
1234.962965
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
March 28, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 28, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I was fortunate to have traveled to Haiti with Star of Hope in February of 2012. What an amazing experience! I saw firsthand the work that Star of Hope is doing and the impact they are having on a country that has so little and has so many needs. As we toured the schools and villages I saw the look on the faces of the children. The look on their faces was all the confirmation I needed to believe/know that Star of Hope is accomplishing great things and is loved by all they have touched . Thank you Star of Hope for opening my heart and mind.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 16, 2013

more

September 16, 2013

I thank God for this wonderful child that He sent to our family. He changed radically our life and made us see things and the whole world from his point of view. His world is much better and much cleaner than the one in which we lived until now.
Cristian is a little boy which now has been 10
years since he has been diagnosed with autism at age of 7 years old. Until that age we kept going to different doctors that underlined some “alleged problems”. The child start talking at age of 4 years and a half and at about 3 years we went to a doctor which said: “Don’t worry, Blaga spoke for the first time at 5 at the first word was silly”. I left with a bitter taste because I had other expectations from him.
Two years ago I found out about Star of Hope, where I found a big, strong and very united family with human beings eager to offer us help and unconditionally support. Here I have found the serenity and comfort I needed. Cristi comes here for speech therapy and psychotherapy surrounded by very agreeable people for him (autistic children don’t empathize with everyone).
Thanks to all of staff members because they are doing a great job informing the parents from all points of view, helping us in impasse and keeping us together by organizing all kinds of meetings (with moms, with dads, and children). This matter a lot for us as a family with a child with special needs, we feel understood and safe.
It would be a lot more to say about the Star of Hope foundation, about our family experience but I pray for everyone’s health so we could keep collaborating because we need you so much.
Thank you Star of Hope for being there for us!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 16, 2013

more

September 16, 2013

Razvan says that his life is a struggle, a ceaseless struggle and chess is royal sport, a sport for mind. He also says that if the king is alone, he can do nothing. The same is for the queen or the horse. In the life everything happens in the same manner. His life started in 1996 in a placement center. Two years later, Star of Hope started to be part of his life. He was a lovely boy that could not sit as others did. He was always in his bed. It was the autumn of 1998 when Star of Hope Romania was set up al local organization, with office in Iasi. It was the same period when Razvan was noticed by the members of multidisciplinary team of Star of Hope. The child was diagnosed with a severe illness in the bones and was abandoned at birth. Razvan will understand only a couple of years after, that meeting Star of Hope also meant meeting with the one that was to become his mother, this means me. The medic from the village asked me: “Why did I take him?” Couldn’t I find another? Razvan heard this and asked me: “Why did he say this?” And then I told him: “Razvan I did not gave birth to you, I choose you.” And then Razvan understood.
Before Razvan managed to use both legs for walking, it took a lot of endurance. But without Star of Hope support, none of the 6 surgical operations would have been possible. Now I thank God for helping him walk. Because I heard that most children with this diagnosis never walk. Even the doctor that operated was very surprised… “He can walk? When I operated him I had no hope for recovery…” “Because we asked for it.“ “I have never thought that he will ever walk” and when he saw Razvan he could not believe it. Thanks to Star of Hope, the life of Razvan fundamentally changed. Now he lives a normal life. He is a happy child. Razvan walks without support, can write and is doing well in school. He has many friends. In order to have Razvan today going to normal school, enjoying life with the loved ones, it was needed that 15 years ago Star of Hope Romania was set up, with support from mother organization Star of Hope International.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 11, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 11, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Our story begins 7 years ago, in 2006. Like young people, at 21 years old, with enthusiasm regarding our future plans, with faith in God and with jobs, the future was ahead us. But this was only the beginning…
In short time we had to take some difficult decisions – for some we were prepared and
we passed over them, the other we could not handle and the consequences were big – leisure time, career, budget, but all this help us to be mature, to be strong as a family and help us to see our potential which God putted in us.
When I finished the University I gave birth to my first child, Clara Bianca. She is 5 years old. At that time we were living in a flat. Because we didn’t want to have only one child, but more, we decided to move out in a house to have more space for the entire family. After 2 years we had a boy, Fillip Timotei, who has Down syndrome.
It was like a shock for us and I started to do everything like a routine, like a duty, searching for answers for the entire situation. I’ve find out about Star of Hope Romania Foundation from another families who have children with Down syndrome. In 2011 I’ve decided to do something for my child and I went to Star of Hope to ask for help. There I received information, I participated at meetings with other parents and we decided to fight for the rights of our children. For a while Fillip went at individual therapy and now he is integrated in a group of children who have the same age. I also worked with him a lot at home. Now he can walk, he can eat by self, he imitates the adults. Fillip is 3 years old. After he was born we moved out and now are living in a house.
Last year, in 2012, God gave us another baby, a girl, Theodora Sophia. Fillip loves his sister very much and together they learn how to share, to speak, to use the potty and other things.
Our future is not in our hands, but we try to be prepare for tomorrow. „All the ways of a man are clean in his own eyes; but the LORD weigheth the spirits“. (Proverbs 16:2) „The horse is prepared against the day of battle: but safety is of the LORD.” (Proverbs 21:31).

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 11, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 11, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Denis’ Story

Denis is 5 years old. He was diagnosed with Autism and his mother is his personal assistant. They live about 30 km from Iasi, kilometers that they are doing every day to come at the Foundation Star of Hope’ Centre in Iasi, where Denis receive the help that he needs. His father
left them and he did not contribute with any money to help Denis or to sustain his education.

When Denis went to the kindergarten, in the village, his mother observed that he was not like the other children: he did not answer to the questions, he did not ask for help, he did not draw, he did not play with the other children, he did not ask to go to the toilet and he did not eat without help.

His mother found out about Star of Hope Romania Foundation and she asked for help. Denis started with individual therapy and after that he was integrated in the group of children, five days per week and four hours per day.

Denis developed new skills in a year of therapy. So he started to eat without help, to ask what he needs, he goes himself to the toilet using the symbols for each activity. He has educational activities that he likes, he learned the numbers, letter, colors, animals and he started to speak.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 11, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 11, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I'm Antonina Gavajuc, Manager of Association for Supporting of Children with Special Needs from Republic of Moldova. During the period of the time, from 2006 to the present, Star of Hope International became a true Star of hope for our children with disabilities from Moldova. Through many implemented projects their financial and logistical support has brought a lot of changes in our country at different levels: authorities, society, institutions, families. One of the most important support that we have received in the organizational development and change of experiences, which is essential in our activity continuing our mission for support of children with disabilities and their families. For our organization is a pleasure and blessing to work together with this organization! Star of Hope International really makes a difference!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 11, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 11, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

My name is Ciobanu Cristian. My daughter is 4 years old and she comes to Star of Hope since she was 11 months. She has Down Syndrome.
Coming here, at Star of Hope Center, she learned a lot; to socialize with other kids, with grown-ups and she learned to walk.
I thank the ones who are
part of Star of Hope foundation because they take care of my child and provide for her what she needs, so she can develop properly. For that she makes therapy at the Star of Hope Center in Iasi.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 10, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 10, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Star of Hope helps children throughout the world! I'm so proud to be a part of this organization. Whether it's nutrition, spiritual development, education, or building social skills, Star of Hope helps children to become strong adults in this world.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 9, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 9, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I am James Manadong. I am so thankful to Star of Hope, because of their humanitarian missions to help alleviate the sufferings of the poor and the destitute.

I and my family are one of those who benefited from all their good deeds.

Through Star of Hope Educational program, I was
albe to study in college and pursue my dream to become a nurse. Yes, I am now a male registered nurse.

Glory to God in the highest for all His mercy and favor in my life. Now, I can see the light ahead of me!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

make it bigger to help more kids!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2005

September 9, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 9, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

My name is Erwin Dolera. I am most thankful to Star of Hope for being an instrument that my life now is quite different when I was a young boy living in Payatas, in a big dumpsite of garbage in Metro Manila.

I came across Star of Hope when their personnel did relief operations to the
dumpsite in Payatas several years ago. I was taken as one of their sponsored child. I was a young lad then. It was through their Education al Program that I am what I am now. I am so happy that I was able to graduate in my four (4) years college course. I finished my Mass Communication degree.

As of now, I am working in a reputable television station here in Metro Manila. Now, I can buy the food that I was just dreaming when I was a young boy. I am sharing the blessings of my salary to my relatives.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Help it be the change for more kids in the dump and slums.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

be a friend finder... Volunteer