Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
36 Reviews
1234.722225
| 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
November 29, 2012

more

November 29, 2012

I have been the Executive Director of StandUp For Kids Houston for almost two years. It has been such a rewarding time for me. The kids we help are great and so thankful for everything. SUFK is such a great organization. We always hear from "our" kids how much they appreciate the help and support. It is a great feeling when you help others. To me its the most important job we have in life.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 29, 2012

more

November 29, 2012

I have been part of the Silicon Valley chapter for almost a year, and I can honestly say that this organization is extremely dedicated and passionate about helping at risk youth – one kid at a time. The mentors build deep and meaningful relationships with their children while the support staff works hard to provide organizational structure, funds development, and awareness. StandUp For Kids continues standing up for their kids.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 29, 2012

more

November 29, 2012

As a volunteer at StandUp for Kids Phoenix I am proud to have the opportunity to be a mentor, role model, and backbone to many homeless and at risk youth. With an amazing team of volunteers we have been able to produce results and change lives permanently. We teach youth the value of life, make them feel important, and most importantly help them believe in themselves. When our youth are confident they are able to pursue and land jobs leading to getting their feet on the ground and being able to establish a stable homed life. It's not only the bigger ultimate goals that make a difference but the little ones as well. From being able to give a meal to one of our youth who hasn't eaten in two days or giving them a shower and clean clothes to something as simple as a bottle of water or a hug is a small start to big change...letting them know we are there to help is incentive to nurture their growth as youth and as individuals. I couldn't describe a more rewarding experience and getting involved is the key to continued support in our youth, community, and ourselves as individuals.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 29, 2012

more

November 29, 2012

They provide so much help to homeless children. They have huge hearts full of live. They help kids and change their life.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 29, 2012

more

November 29, 2012

I retired 12 years ago and found Standup For Kids on a volunteer website. Within a few months I was on the Board of Directors. Like most people, I had no idea of the depth and breadth of the homeless children problem. Without judgement or conditions, we go to the streets with a simple goal: show these kids that there is someone in the world that cares about you...me. Sure, we bring them food. And warm clothing, but if we can gain their trust, we have a chance to get them off the street. Standup gives love and support to these kids, all across the country, when no one else will.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 28, 2012

more

November 28, 2012

I have been volunteering with StandUp For Kids - Worcester Program since 2009. I started as a volunteer helping out with a little of everything, before the end of the first year, the ED stepped down and I moved into the Volunteer ED position. I have met many wonderful volunteers and wonderful youths and young adults that we have assisted. I have witness the building of self esteem of 2 homeless young adults that were addicted to heroin and prostituting to support their $600 a day habit. After months of giving food, hugs and providing other survival items, along with a lot of positive reinforcement, they finally did go back into rehab and wanted to improve their lives. We helped a 17 yo get into HS, he earned his diploma and is now applying to go to college for premed. The volunteers really care for the kids and show it. We assist kids on the streets. We provide food for weekends and vacation weeks for anonymously identified kids in one of the local schools. We have a few kids that are financially or emotional struggling in apartments, that we are giving giving emotional support and food support to keep them in the apartments. This has been a very rewarding volunteer experience, being able to give so much to the youths, and working with the generous donors, providing us with materials to give. It has changed my life forever.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 28, 2012

more

November 28, 2012

As a volunteer in the Marketing and PR team at StandUp For Kids Silicon Valley, I highly appreciate the great team work and the close relationship among all volunteers. Each and everyone of us in his or her own way is deeply devoted to change a kid's life - one at a time. Working with these colleagues really gives me the feeling to be able to make a change!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 28, 2012

more

November 28, 2012

I have been volunteering with StandUp Orange County CA since August 2006 when I started as an intern. In 2008, I took over as the Executive Director in OC and in 2011 I became the Interim National Executive Director and a board member. This has been such a rewarding experience, and time of personal growth. This expereince has allowed me to use my education in Human Services to counsel clients, create programs, write grants, access community resources and create coalltions. I am proud to be a part of an organization that tirelessly works to help homeless and street kids, while asking for nothing in return. I am proud to be part of an organization has done such great work for so long, on an all volunteer run basis. The dedication of the volunteers across the US is amazing and their love for the kids admirable.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 28, 2012

more

November 28, 2012

StandUp For Kids. My first introduction to this organization coincided with my first attempt to raise a large amount of money for a cause that is near and dear to my heart – homeless kids. Creatively named by StandUp For Kids as the SOS2009 Tour (Segway Off ‘the’ Streets), it was important that I perform due diligence for my intended beneficiary a little more than typical online research. Two trips to the Atlanta National Headquarters and one to Chicago cemented my commitment to StandUp For Kids. On the trips to the Georgia headquarters, I met staff, some members of the Board of Directors (including a surprise – one of them was a good friend from Minnesota) and of course, many volunteers. Being face to face with leaders and staff was amazing, I have to say. But it was my trip to Chicago that really created a bond. It was here, at a two day training session for new volunteers to the Chicago Program, that I saw with my own eyes, heard with my own ears and felt with my own heart what StandUp For Kids is all about. This nationwide organization is made up of nearly all volunteers. But it’s what I saw and heard from these volunteers-in-training that, to this very day, creates a little mist (or something) in my eyes. Dedication and a burning desire to positively change the lives of homeless kids isn’t something a person can fake. And here, right before me, I was in the middle of a room full of promise. Right before me, there were 15 people of all ages ready to learn about homelessness – ready to take the fight to the streets of Chicago in order to make a difference. And this is why Responsible Referrals has designated StandUp For Kids as our 2013 Charity of the Year. This is why we plan to pour all of our efforts into raising money for this organization. This is why I am so very thankful that in 2009, I made a phone call, did the research and became a life-long advocate for this organization.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 20, 2012

I have been volunteering with StandUp in Seattle since October 2008. I was part of the leadership team that revived the chapter and took over as ED in June 2009. Being a part of a non profit has been a challenging yet rewarding experience. I am proud to be a part of an organization that tirelessly works to help homeless and street kids, while asking for nothing in return. I am amazed that this organization has done such great work for so long, on an ALL VOLUNTEER run basis! It shows the true dedication of the volunteers across the US that have passion for the kids they serve.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers