Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
37 Reviews
1234.729735
Write A Review
September 4, 2014

more

September 4, 2014

I was introduced to SUFK as a Public Relations Chair for a car club that hosts car shows to raise money for different charities each year. The event raised a large donation for StandUp For Kids Hampton Roads in Virginia. I was approached by the chapters leadership to utilize my connections as PR chair and join as their Director of Community Resource Development. I soon became involved at the ground level as provider of a meal once a month at our outreach center. My wife and I soon found ourselves as Leaders on the Outreach Center 2 nights a month. I am now the Executive Director working along side a core group of volunteers. All the volunteers wear many hats serving the needs of homeless and at risk youth in our community. Hampton Roads Chapter was the second or third chapter to be established. We would love to have you join our team if you are passionate about saving kids that others have looked past.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

December 2, 2012

more

December 2, 2012

As a former kid and current volunteer, StandUp For Kids has changed my life in the best way possible. The love and care is real and you can feel it. Without StandUp I wouldn't have my job at Macy's, my drivers license or even my birth certificate. They helped me in more ways than just material goods, they give constant moral support and assure you that you can always count on them. If you do what the volunteers suggest, your life will be changed for the better. They are an all around amazing organization and I would send any kid to them that is need of help and a best friend to be there for them. I love everything about StandUp & wouldn't change a thing.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 30, 2012

more

November 30, 2012

We love helping the youth of our city and we love that they love us helping them. I am inspired and energized by the people that continue to want to help the kids of our city and our organization. The passion that people bring to this is extraordinary and the support we get from our national office is wonderful. It's an excellent organization that does great things to help young people in need! Reid

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 30, 2012

more

November 30, 2012

As someone who has worked with youth and their families in the local public school system, I was looking for an organization who focuses upon one of the most noticeable, but least recognized needs in our community, namely "homeless youth". After some personal inquiries, and searches I came upon StandUp For Kids which I think addresses the beginnings of our homeless youth crisis. For my part, I wanted to make sure what I contributed whether monies or goods went to this issue and not bloated administrative costs. With being a volunteer organization, I am very comfortable that what I am doing will have some positive impact, knowing that this is not the beginning or end to the concerns I have for homeless youth.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Likely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 30, 2012

more

November 30, 2012

I have been a volunteer in StandUp For Kids for 15 years and have always had the support, advise and encouragement from our National office of SUFK that I needed. It was eye-opening at first to discover the awful need out there, mostly invisible unless someone tells you about it. When I read of what is being accomplished around our country to help homeless/at-risk youth I am proud to be part of the solution.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 30, 2012

more

November 30, 2012

I first found StandUp For Kids-San Antonio two years ago while looking for a charity to make a corporate donation to. My office arranged to do a hygein drive for them along with giving a monetary donation. When Janet Grigsby, Executive Director, came by to pick up the items and the check, we had a chance to spend some time talking about the organization. I was so impressed with her and their mission I immediately asked "How do I join?" In just a short period, I went from volunteer to Director of Apartment Support and when Janet stepped down as Executive Director in September, I became Co-Executive Director along with my daughter Madison. The determination and heart of everyone in our group is amazing. Everyday of every week throughout the year they are doing something to strive to accomplish our mission to help homeless and at-risk-youth on the streets of San Antonio, TX. I am proud to be affiliated with StandUp For Kids and to call everyone of the volunteers I serve with Friend.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 30, 2012

more

November 30, 2012

I first heard of Standup for Kids/Tucson when Kim Sisson addressed our Outreach Ministry at Corpus Christi Catholic Church several years ago. Kim's passion and heart for the young people she helps was evident from moment one. Kim does so much with very limited resources. The need is great in order to reach the most vulnerable kids on the streets. Socks, emergency toiletry and food kits, warm clothing and money to purchase needed items - ways we can help ! I encourage you to support this non-profit in its' efforts to make a difference. You can make a difference in the life of a young person living on the streets, cold, hungry and needing someone to care about them. StandUp for Kids/Tucson cares!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 29, 2012

more

November 29, 2012

StandUp for Kids in Tucson, AZ provides such a safety net for really vulnerable kids. We depend on them to guide youth in our community to safety and planning for themselves. They do this by being advocates and consistently caring people who are there to support them where they are, not where they think kids should be. When kids trust adults, they are doing something right!!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 29, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 29, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

As the volunteer Executive Director in Washington, DC, I have met a lot of people who inspired me. The youth we work with have such a passion for life that even adverse circumstances cannot deter -- whether it's the young man who kept himself sane on the streets by creating documentaries of his experience, the young lady who sleeps in a shelter at night but does modern dance during the day, or the transgender young lady who always has a smile on her face despite the constant harassment she faces on the street, they all prove that young people on the streets are so much more than the label "homeless." I have also met dozens of community members who inspire me every day -- our organization is run entirely by a team of people who are dedicated, professional, and enthusiastic about our work despite coming to it after 12-hour workdays and on their weekends. I feel truly lucky to be a part of such an organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 29, 2012

more

November 29, 2012

I have been with the Cleveland Chapter for about 5 years as the Director of Outreach. My most memorable experience happened the summer of 2011. We received a call from 2 homeless youth passing through Cleveland. They were in need of food and clothing. I arranged to meet them at a safe location and brought them the needed items. It was the day before Father's Day so I asked them if they wanted to call their dads with a Father's day wish. They did and I gave them our cell phone to call home. They were very appreciative of the food, clothing and calls. After the calls they felt very comfortable around me and began to talk about their lives. They told me that the first thing they did when they came into a town that had a StandUp or Kids Chapter was to call for assistance and were never turned down. We stand ready to help any homeless youth in need without passing judgement on their lifestyle or living conditions. When kids tell you they trust StandUp For Kids, you know you must be doing things right. I am proud to be a part of this organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers