Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
55 Reviews
1234.945455
Write A Review
July 25, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 25, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have served in various capacities for over 25 years but by far my greatest pleasure is as an audience member. Stageworks consistently delivers high quality acting, directing, sound and set design, and scripts that are relevant to current events. Their use of diverse talent to provoke thought and inspire creative solutions to the problems of humanity are much appreciated. As a local teacher, I always encourage my students to attend Stageworks productions.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 25, 2013

more

July 25, 2013

Stageworks brings the best actors to its new space and continues to provide great theatre. Stageworks is progressive, with social concern. Anna and Company produced my third civil rights play, that dealt with the 16th Street Church bombing in Birmingham. Beyond the stage, the Theatre does community outreach, taking programs to at-risk youth. The greatest!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Like for them to produce more new plays by local playwrights...something that benefited me greatly.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 25, 2013

more

July 25, 2013

Stageworks goes above and beyond to create great theater and to do good works for the community through their outreach programs.
Great little theater space for actors to work in and for audiences to enjoy.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Open the space up more often to other groups. Make better use of the lobby space and the rehearsal rooms for small cast productions, staged readings and fund raisers.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 25, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 25, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

SW is easily the finest regional theater in the Tampa Bay Area. They are astonishing not only for the quality of the productions but also their exemplary program of outreach into needy communities such as at-risk youth. Their mission to present stories of under-represented populations - including women, gays, ethnic minorities - makes a real difference. Their support of local playwrights including annual one-act festival is a substantial contribution in an area with few similar resources. -Ed Stevens, Kennedy Center Award Winning Playwright, www.EdStevensthePlaywright.com.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give it the biggest budget possible to do even more good!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 4, 2012

more

November 4, 2012

Stageworks sets itself above and beyond the average theatre experience in Tampa Bay. They are a dedicated force of professionals, volunteers with advisors and Season Ticket holders that CONTINUE to come back time after time. Many new faces find exceptional opportunities to enjoy their craft, demonstrate the mission statement of the theatre, serve the audience members and reach out to numerous special needs populations in Tampa. I have served on various theatre boards and rarely have I found the diversity of cultures that Stageworks reaches out to. Beyond what the audience sees as a supremely tuned theatre production, a million hours are spent on creating the final product.Everyone works hard to polish the success of each endeavor and it shows, time after time, show after show.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 31, 2012

more

October 31, 2012

I’m a lifelong theatre lover, and have recently discovered the joy of Stageworks! The company provides the Tampa Bay region with quality productions and amazing talent in an intimate setting. Its outreach programs to at-risk children are vital to helping kids find new approaches to everyday challenges. I’m proud to be affiliated with Stageworks, and I’m reminding all my friends and colleagues of the transformative power of live performance.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 30, 2012

more


1 previous review
March 1, 2010

Stageworks Theatre is truly a theatrical jewel in Tampa Bay. For twenty-seven years it has offered innovative and exciting theatre experiences with everything from the bizarre to the exceptional. ... more

October 30, 2012

Stageworks Theatre consistently offers an outstanding theater experience in an intimate and delightful black-box setting. Their season always includes something for everyone, although theater-lovers in general can be guaranteed enjoyment by attending everything they present. Each production offers fine directing, creative design and a talented ensemble of actors guaranteed to enhance that very special something you can only get from live theater.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Quite well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 1, 2010

Stageworks Theatre is truly a theatrical jewel in Tampa Bay. For twenty-seven years it has offered innovative and exciting theatre experiences with everything from the bizarre to the exceptional. Lets hope with a new theatre in the horizon, it will broaden its base.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

so many ways. The scope of the programming, along with the expertise of the artistic and production staff.

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

its abundance of personalities.

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

extremely giving of their time and efforts, truly showing how much they appreciate the hard work it takes to 'put on a perforance'.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

One time

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

October 30, 2012

more

October 30, 2012

I have known Anna before StageWorks. I volunteered to help her in her quest for quality theatre. I will make a gift to to our Tampa Bay Community. She has worked tirelessly and it's time now for us to support StageWorks. Alleluia, Amen! DI

More feedback...

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

1997

May 30, 2012

more

May 30, 2012

Stageworks Outreach uses the performing arts, such as dramatic improv and bucket drumming, to teach at risk youth important social skills such as anger management and conflict resolution. I have seen it have the biggest impact on juvenile justice youth who credit the progam with helping them deal with anger, improve their social skils and have a more positive out look on their education.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 30, 2012

more

May 30, 2012

I have been involved as early as "pre" StageWorks with Anna Brennan. The contribution to the entire Tampa Bay community has been invaluable. Young artists are given great opportunities resulting in great performances for the entire public at VERY reasonable rates.The last production (Biloxi Blues) was monumental. StageWorks now has their own facility and an every growing appreciative audience. They deserve support! Many folks have given voluntarily to assist SW. I have recognized talent and am now coaching some of the young actors in improving their vocal skills. This "company" is down to earth and supports theatre arts to an exulted state. It is crucial they remain "in business". Many of their productions would make it off Broadway if given a chance, so it is imperative they stay here in the Tampa Bay area to give us the best theatre and musical theatre available.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Usher for any main stage or funraising event