Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
55 Reviews
1234.945455
Write A Review
October 19, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 19, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have been inspired by the volunteers and staff. This theatre cares about more than just the stage - their hard work is in service of a new Renaissance for Tampa, and reinvestment in our community.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 19, 2014

more


1 previous review
February 20, 2010

Two years ago, I was looking for an organization to volunteer for and I found Stageworks. Anna and Andrea welcomed me into this great organization. Giving me terrific opportunities to share my abilit... more

October 19, 2014

Having volunteered since 2009 for Stageworks, they are like family to me. Stageworks has some of the most amazing live performances that you can find in the Tampa Bay area and to give so many of us a place to share our talents for the disadvantaged of our community makes it a wonderful organization.
February 20, 2010
1 person found this review helpful

Two years ago, I was looking for an organization to volunteer for and I found Stageworks. Anna and Andrea welcomed me into this great organization. Giving me terrific opportunities to share my abilities in many different ways. Their purpose in the community is admirable and has done great service for the local disadvantaged as well as the art community as a whole.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

attending all their performances since 2009. The actors and talents of the Stageworks' family are always excellent.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

hope that more would volunteer their time and money to make it possible for them to focus on their creative missions rather than funding.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

October 19, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more


2 previous reviews - show all
September 6, 2013

I have been going to see Stageworks shows since its inception 30 years ago. I had just moved down from new York City and was concerned that there would not be enough GREAT theatre in this new communi... more

October 19, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

For over 30 years Stageworks Theatre has been producing top quality professional shows that make you stretch your realm of experience. Dedicated to exploring diversity and teaching tolerance, Stageworks has always been a leader in choosing plays that challenge you while they entertain you. I am proud to be associated with this great organization.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 6, 2013

I have been going to see Stageworks shows since its inception 30 years ago. I had just moved down from new York City and was concerned that there would not be enough GREAT theatre in this new community I was moving to. From its first show 30 years ago, to the shows in the past season I have continued to be "swept away" by the powerful emotion of the actors and the alluring engagement of the plays. I especially admire the wide diversity of plays that Stageworks decides to produce: I have seen plays about the gay community dealing with the AIDS virus (The Normal Heart); plays about conflict in the Jewish tradition (The Chosen); plays about the strength of women in their support of each other (The Sisters Rosensweig); plays about the tension of apartheid in South Africa (My Children My Africa) and plays about the challenges of immigration and assimilation in "How the Garcia Girls Lost Their Accents." I am dedicated to Stageworks because they walk the talk: they believe in their mission of promoting tolerance and celebrating diversity and their plays symbolize their beliefs. During the last 8 years have had the honor of being on the Board and work with one of the most involved and dedicated group of volunteers I have ever been associated with. We are a working board and proud to help spread the artistic vision of our Founder and producing Artistic Director, Anna Brennen and our Associate Artistic Director, Karla Hartley.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Cultivate more volunteers for the Board who can help with fundraising.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 10, 2010

I have been involved with Stageworks Theatre for more than 20 years. I was attracted to Stageworks because of their courageous plunge into AIDS prevention education for youth when AIDS was a "four letter word". Stageworks developed a play about AIDS prevention and after a long hard struggle with the Board of Education, finally got approved to tour the public schools. It was poignant, it was piercing and it was effective. I felt that Stageworks filled a vacuum in our community and will be forever grateful that they were committed to helping the kids of our community learn about the disease and how to prevent it. I truly believe that Stageworks helped to change behavior and helped save lives. It was very personal for me because my brother had been diagnosed with AIDS, so at that time I felt like I was doing something helpful. (My brother died several years later from AIDS.) Many years later I am still a volunteer, and continue to be impressed with the high quality Main Stage productions. I am from New York City - so my standards are very high - and Stageworks comes out a winner every time. The calibre of the direction and the acting is top notch, the technical sophistication in design and final production values are impeccable and the emotional level of delivery is often heartwrenching. I have spent many hours in the theatre laughing so hard that my rib cage hurts to wiping tears from my eyes from total emotional immersion! I spend most of my time with Stageworks helping to build the audience and raise money. I find when I am out in the public talking about the theatre I feel very proud of our work and honored to be a representative of this great theatre. Our outreach program for at risk youth is amazing: we go where others are afraid to go: in the jails, in the projects and in the at risk schools. I am so impressed with our actor/teachers who work with kids who are 7 or 8 and use theatre to teach them anger management, self esteem and pride in heritage. We cannot keep up with the demand for these programs. There are so many worthy projects to get involved with in Tampa. But I know that I am working with a powerful theatre company that produces poignant, absorbing, life-changing theatre in a way that respects the differences in all of us. I think of Stageworks as "the little theatre with a big voice." I am honored to be a part of it.

Photos

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

meeting all of the other volunteers and theatre goers who feel the power of the message and keep coming back year after year!

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every week

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

October 3, 2014

more

October 3, 2014

As Founder and for 30 plus years the Producing Artistic Director, of course I am biased; however, this theater has been the flagship for Bay Area theaters through it's producing diverse plays and supporting young and/or new minority talents in the area. Additionally, the SW outreach program, most notably it's Rainbow Tribe was the first, and continues to be a flagship example of critical workshops for the youth of Hillsborough County, especially in the areas of anger management, social skills, and work preparedness. The continued commitments to these kinds of projects provide a baseline example and a critical space/place where minorities can go and be welcomed, encouraged and trained. SW has been and continues to be deeply committed and involved in Tampa's and the entire county's minority populations.
September 9, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 9, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I think that Stageworks offers the best and most interesting theater in Tampa Bay.
Every play is outstanding and you feel good going and supporting the community.
The price is unbeatable also.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have been attending Stageworks Theater for several years and it's always an amazing, moving experience! The productions celebrate the human spirit, while challenging the thresholds of intolerance and insensitivity. Stageworks plays are most frequently 'taboo' subjects, that many theaters steer away from. Giving a voice to those marginalized by circumstance as exploring the multi-cultural society we live in. The productions touch subjects of racism, sexism, homophobia and anti-Semitism. I am constantly amazed by the level of acting and directing and the continued diversity of content. I leave being wholly entertained. Better yet, a more educated, tolerant individual!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Increase the space so even more people could attend!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 5, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

September 5, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I've been associated with Stageworks for over 10 years, as a playwright, as a patron, even as a volunteer usher. SW has been a true asset to this community, bringing first rate theater to Tampa, nurturing and encouraging artists, and fulfilling a vital role in the community.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 5, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

September 5, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I watched 2 plays at the end of this years season and was completely moved by the content and the presentation. The directing and the acting in the play was absolutely phenomenal. In the play "Of Mice & Men", the cast did an incredible job in portraying the hope and challenges of the country at the time. The ending shook me in my seat and left a lasting impression. "How the Garcia Girls Lost Their Accents" was another play that hit home with me as a 2nd generation Indian, and I am sure hit home with other 2nd generation immigrants who have faced similar "crisis" with their sense of identity as the assimilated into this country. The diverse themes of the plays make Stageworks a wonderful theater. I look forward to the diverse themes being presented this year by this wonderful team!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Raise more money so that the organization can invest in the box office and other hospitality related expenditures that increase the comfort and improve the experience of the guests. The performances are phenomenal and when in your seat, nothing else is needed. The improvements are solely for improved comfort at arrival, and during intermission.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 27, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 27, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I had the privilege of working with Anna Brennen. Her brilliant direction and approach to the piece bonded the actors, we really became an ensemble, which brought more life into the piece, which resulted to sold out performances night after night. Brennen reached out to an audience that rarely gets any recognition in the Tampa Bay area. StageWorks offers a space and a voice to minorities, from all walks of life, to tell their stories and connect us as a whole.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

N/A I would love to work with Anna again!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 25, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
October 30, 2012

I've loved the theatre since my first experiences in college and been a true junkie for the arts my entire adult life. I retired a year ago and have been a board member at Stageworks since May. I am a... more

July 25, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I've been a theatre lover my entire life. Being part of Stageworks Theatre has enriched my life enormously by presenting quality productions of both classic and cutting edge plays and by allowing me to participate in raising money for their youth outreach programs. The arts are part of what makes all great cities great and Stageworks Theatre helps make Tampa a fabulous city.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2012

I've loved the theatre since my first experiences in college and been a true junkie for the arts my entire adult life. I retired a year ago and have been a board member at Stageworks since May. I am awestruck by the talent involved with the theatre at every level and look forward to being a part of the growth of our theatre. Our outreach programs are so important and I love spreading the word about our good works. Putting butts in our seats is my goal....sharing great theatre with my friends and family is my reward.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Usher for any main stage or funraising event