Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
15 Reviews
12345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
November 15, 2012

more

November 15, 2012

Being a part of the St. Vicent de Paul Society is an eye opener. I feel I was going thru day to day with blinders on and not really realizing that there is struggle and suffering not a half a world away but very close to home. Trying to make a difference an ease someone's difficulty is as much of a reward for me as it is to those I try to help. Specifically by seeing the gratitude in their eyes and the relief in their voices when we can help keep the light's on or their kids fed. It is spiritually uplifting for me to think that I'm apart of something so great and genuine. One incredible affect it has had on me is the friendships I have developed with the other volunteers, it is literally like an extended family that grows with no end in sight. It is an honor and privledge to be counted among the Society.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 13, 2012

more

November 13, 2012

Many lives are touched in central rural Kentucky by St Vincent de Paul, as there are conferences in Bardstown, Springfield, and Lebanon, KY.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 12, 2012

more

November 12, 2012

The individuals that run this organization, are inspiring in themselves - perhaps because their work inspires them. Regardless of the church and its members in other capacities, the work that the church does for the poor and down trodden is beyond compare. If any Catholic is feeling lukewarm about their faith - this organization is one they should get involved with to reignite their passion for being Catholic.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 12, 2012

more

November 12, 2012

I joined my parish SVDP conference less than a year ago. I have & continue to work in a number of other volunteer orgs since I retired. Without question I have found this the most rewarding experience in my lifetime. We channel near 100% of the donations received from parish members to those in need with a minimum of bureaucry. Several times a month going into people's homes, reviewing their needs, making recommendations for long term solutions, praying with them & keeping them from being evicted or their lights& heat turned off is truly a miraculous experience. One especially poignant example was an elderly woman, a Muslim Afgan refugee, who likely would have died if she had lost electricity for her breathing machine.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 12, 2012

more

November 12, 2012

I got involved with the St Raphaels Christmas SVdP Food Basket program several years ago and found it to be very rewarding to be able to participate in brining a little cheer and comfort to those less fortunate than myself,Moreover is is refreshing to be part of the generosity that is shared by our parish that support SVdL and those in need at the local level. I began to attend the SVdL monthly meetings and was impressed with the outreach of the society and it;s inner workings with other SVdP groups in the area through networking resources of the different chapters to help those in need regardless of race, religion ,or creed, I joined the Society in 2008 and vollunteer each month when our chapeter serves at the SVdP helping Hands kitchen when possible, The consept of SVdP of extending a helping hand up vs a hand out makes sense and that is the primary reason for my interest in the Society of Saint Vincent dePaul

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 12, 2012

more

November 12, 2012

Several times a year I work with Donna Young to bring 8th graders down to the St. Vincent dePaul campus for a tour. The youth and adults who come learn so much about the needs of the community: feeding the hungry, clothing the naked, sheltering the homeless. Further they learn how they can serve as well. I believe that this learning helps set them on a path of life-long service for others. It is always a privilege to come to the campus and meet the people who serve and hear the stories of those who have been helped by this wonderful organization. I will continue to support them in any way I can.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 11, 2012

more

November 11, 2012

St Vincent de Paul is an amazing organization the truly meets their clients where they are, serves their needs, & gives hope! Vincentians are doing God's work daily. They make an impact in the fight for the poor.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 9, 2012

more

November 9, 2012

This non profit has been a god send to those in our community. It is truly a one to one personal contact with people who are struggling with life. In many aspects of life you talk about what needs to be done about a problem and wait for someone else to take action. Well SVD is taking action and making a difference with every person it has contact with. I personally have received hugs and thank yous followed by tears of gratitude from clients who were at a point in life when they have lost faith in anyone caring. God works in this non profit by way of the devoted volunteers who pick people up when they are at lifes hardest moments.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 8, 2012

more

November 8, 2012

Being a Vincentian has meant so much to me. It is a great way to meet my neighbors. People who I never would have met otherwise. To hear their stories and able to help them is a real blessing. Sure there are some that take advantage but there are so many that are just down on their luck. They have illnesses, loss of jobs, or etc. but to know that you can give them food, rent, or utilities turned back on. They are so appreciative. Some begin to cry. It really touches you. You go home knowing that you helped someone. That God used you to bring theym His hope for a brighter tomorrow. It is a great calling to be a Vincentian and I am so blessed that I answered that call.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers