Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
7 Reviews
1234.714295
Write A Review
July 28, 2014

more

July 28, 2014

Twenty-five years ago, I showed up at St. Matthew's House just out of prison with a hard case of the cocaine blues. I had nowhere to turn and I just wanted to die. I had never been homeless, never been in jail; knew no one in Naples. It was as far away from civilization as I could get. I didn't even know how to ask for help. The Salvation Army told me about St. Matt's. I wandered over to the "old house" (fire station) where this guy named Bill Wilson (truth) came out and introduced himself. Told me that I needed an ID. I walked in some ill-fitting hard soled shoes from the fire house all the way to the North Trail, old Social Security office, then to the Highway Patrol Station, on Davis at the time, to get a photo ID. By the time I got back to St. Matt's, my shoes were filled with blood from the broken blisters on my feet. John Coolidge met me at the back door and interviewed me. He told me this is where I needed to be and it was. Three months later, I had a job with the county, an apartment and some distance between myself and the cocaine. I have never used again thanks to St. Matthew's House.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Turn no one away.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2000

July 2, 2014

more

July 2, 2014

This week, I celebrate six years clean from cocaine. If it wasn't for St Matthew's house, I don't know where I'd be today. I was pregnant, scared and alone. I began to work to better myself. The structure, meetings and resources given to me helped me to rebuild my life. I am forever grateful for the work you do! God bless you!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2008

July 1, 2014

more

July 1, 2014

I came to St.Matthews House out of necessity, ashamed and hopeless. I desperately wanted to piece my life back together, but had no idea where to start. The Justin's Place Women's Program, not only gave me a safe and secure setting, but began to teach me a new way of life. They have helped me reconnect with my family, regain self worth, and find purpose. St.Matthew's House exemplafies the love of Christ through practical application of meeting basic needs. It has saved my life and provided me with the opportunity for a future.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Like to see more beds available for homeless females.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 30, 2014

more

June 30, 2014

I came to St. Matthew's House broken and in desperate need of help. They took me in, fed me, and taught me how to live again. I will forever be grateful for the second, third, and fourth chance they gave me. When they never gave up on me despite my shortcomings I knew there was something special about this place. My life has been on track for the last two years and I am truly free to experience joy today. Thank you St. Matthew's House donors, volunteers and staff.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Broaden the impact to other counties.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 19, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 19, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

As a former client, resident, and God seeker of Justin's Place a faith based rehab at St Matt's I have much gratitude for them. St. Matt's on a daily basis touches many, and definitely touched me. My life has changed for the better, and I could not have done it with out the non-judging support of St. Matthew's House and Justin's Place. Thank you, Don S.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Stock the pantry, prepare a hot meal for the homeless and hungry, stock clothing at the thrift stores, or help with administrative support. Volunteer