Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
5 Reviews
1234.25
Previous | Next
Write A Review
March 25, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 25, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have worked at St. Mary's Food Bank Alliance for the past two years in the role of Human Resources Business Partner and I was a volunteer for the first three months. Prior to joining the St. Mary's team, I was as senior level human resources professional for three fortune 100 insurance companies. These organizations basically cared about profit and although they made donations to charity, the culture did not embrace helping others. My experience working with this organization has been the most rewarding and fulfilling in my career. Every employee is truly committed to the mission of alleviating hunger through the gathering and distribution of food while encouraging self-sufficiency, collaboration, advocacy and education. In my daily interactions with our leadership team, employees and volunteers, every person I have come in contact with treats one another with dignity and respect. The culture is all about teamwork and doing whatever it takes to distribute food, solicit donations and educate our customers. New hires come to see me after their first 90 days and report that this is the best place they have ever worked. Less than 5% of our revenue is spent on administration with the donations actually going to those in our community who are in need. I am so proud to be a part of a organization that truly walks the talk.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Educate our community about all the programs St. Mary's offers.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

March 25, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
March 25, 2014

I have worked at St. Mary's Food Bank Alliance for the past two years in the role of Human Resources Business Partner and I was a volunteer for the first three months. Prior to joining the St. Mary's team, I was as senior level human resources professional for three fortune 100 insurance companies. These organizations basically cared about profit and although they made donations to charity, the culture did not embrace helping others. My experience working with this organization has been the most rewarding and fulfilling in my career. Every employee is truly committed to the mission of alleviating hunger through the gathering and distribution of food while encouraging self-sufficiency, collaboration, advocacy and education. In my daily interactions with our leadership team, employees and volunteers, every person I have come in contact with treats one another with dignity and respect. The culture is all about teamwork and doing whatever it takes to distribute food, solicit donations and educate our customers. New hires comes to see me after their first 90 days and report that this is the best place they have ever worked. Less that 5% of our revenue is spent on administration with the donations actually go to those in our community who are in need. I am so proud to be a part of a organization that truly walks the talk.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Continue to education our community on all of our programs at St. Mary's. We offer more than food....we offer hope.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

March 23, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
March 23, 2014

I am a retired HR director from a large technology company. I have worked at St. Mary's Food Bank Alliance twice: first, 1987-88 time frame when it was a much smaller organization as a volunteer and now, in 2013-14 as a OD Consultant who is helping with the implementation of a HR System, and writing coursework for newly hired employees. My role has me in contact with many leaders and employees. I have seen most of their buildings, facilities and operations.

St. Mary's was the first food bank in the United States and I have seen it twice - Now after it evolved from a small operation (6 panel trucks in 1987) to a huge operation (about 60 semi-truck today). The current organization is changing to accommodate the growing hunger population in Arizona. Their challenge is not only to get the food and funds donated to meet the needs of the hungry but also to quickly distribute the food to other agencies so it ends up in the hands of the hungry elders, families and children. They have a cooking school to teach very marketable skills to those who need a fresh start. And with their experience, they are a resource to clients and other agencies feeding the hungry.

I don't know the exact ratio but it looks like to me that there are 10 volunteers for every 1 employee. I have not found anyone there who is not helpful and dedicated. The people working there are positive and cheerful. But, I have seen several employees moved to tears when discussing their clients and their situations - such heart and compassion is so rare.

The culture seems focused and intentional – and I could see some people not “fitting in” if they were still hyped up from corporate “for profit” cultures or not collaborative. St. Mary’s seems to have mastered the art of doing a lot for so many with very few paid employees, a smile, kind hearts and a lot of creativity.

In closing, I will add that everyone who hears I am working for St. Mary's - smiles and nods because they have such a wonderful reputation here in Phoenix.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

ask them to become a louder voice in the politics of hunger by educating more people. I don't think that people really know how tough it is for the working poor and unemployed. I didn't and I consider myself well informed.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

April 1, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
April 1, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

Since the new administration has taken over, at least 40 staff members have been unceremoniously fired. First, any of the direct reports to the operations director, then once the new president took over, many of the direct reports to the executive director were fired, or had their hours and benefits cut.
Let me clarify "fired." These individuals were given a paper to sign, saying they would resign and were given a severance package. By signing this document, they agreed not to speak to anyone about the circumstances of their departure. In this way, the senior administrative staff could explain to the board that these high-quality individuals [who have never been cautioned previously and had exemplary reviews] had simply resigned. These "firings" were not based on lack of merit or job performance, but simply a dislike by the new senior management - or the level of compensation. Some jobs were "eliminated" as an explanation, but offered to other staff after the departure of the individuals involved. It is reprehensible behavior for a charitable organization of this kind.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Somewhat badly

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 1, 2011

more

March 1, 2011

I worked there from mid-1986 to mid-1988 as a mission volunteer (Methodist). St. Mary's was then in the process of rapidly expanding programs. The emphasis on frugality was remarkable - every one was working for relatively little to support the cause, and even the director refused pay raises several times. We were successfully in getting all sorts of goods and services donated because the community respected us so well. The problems then were the inadequate physical facility and some unconstructive rivalries with the West Side Food Bank and the local St. Vincent de Paul society, although there was already a good relationship with the Food Bank in Flagstaff. I talked to several of the Board Members about the rivalries, and saw some immediate changes. The new facility was not purchased until after I left, but I did see it on a later visit, and it is everything one could want for a growing Food Bank in a growing state. I'm glad to see the establishment of the Alliance. No one who lives in the Alliance's service area (which is everything in Arizona except the counties around Tucson) should have any hesitations about supporting this charity.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I saw the whole operation from the inside during the years that I worked there.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

It has been too long since I left to recommend any changes.

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers