Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
13 Reviews
123.3846245
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
March 25, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 25, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

This charity seems to do good work by all accounts. People seemed miffed at the gifts, but I am not sure why anyone would require a blanket or any other gift to donate to a charity anyway. Use SouthwestIndian.com if you just want stuff to order and still get a tax writeoff. The lawsuit by the tribe sounds absurd. If the tribe cared so much and did even 1/2 the job the school does to take care of these kids, there would never have been a need for this school, but they didn't, they don't, and as far as I can tell, they never will.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Likely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 24, 2014

more

March 24, 2014

INVESTIGATE this charity by using the great tool of the Internet...you may discover, it is a ruse and NOT a charity that benefits the Native American Indians it claims to help....but it DOES enrich the church and the people who are on salary at the "Charity." The tribes in question has SUED this charity AND the church, for reasons of using the Native People to make money...CHECK IT OUT!!! By the way...those "trade blankets" that are sent as promos to donors are made in china out of poly fleece...commissioned in factories in China by this "dubious charity." CHECK! INVESTIGATE!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

INVESTIGATE better options to insure that the Native People ARE benefiting from all the money donated by honest and charitable people who are being duped into giving to a dubious cause.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

January 29, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

January 29, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

My wife and I have never had a problem receiving gifts from this charity. Most of the time, we tell them not to send anything to us. No organization is perfect and things can "fall through the cracks". If a gift was not received, the person should have informed the charity before complaining about it.

We support this organization and believe in the work they are doing.

Mike & Ann Mills
Clearwater, FL

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 18, 2013
5 people found this review helpful

more

October 18, 2013
5 people found this review helpful

My mother gave a gift a few months ago. Her reward was to be a handcrafted blanket. She still checks the mail each weekday waiting for her "Gift". That seems a cruel joke to me. My family is of Irish and Cherokee descent. We donate to a cause we believed worthy and were jilted by those that should understand broken promises better than most!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Carefully mind my promises to donors.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 16, 2013
9 people found this review helpful

more

June 16, 2013
9 people found this review helpful

It's just about money for the Northern Cheyenne Tribe. They've done little for themselves while St. Labre Indian School has educated their children and provided numerous employment opportunities over the last 50 years. They see an organization that's been successful and feel they are required to "give us" what we haven't earned ourselves.

Lawsuits are for the liberals, those that want what others have earned and to suck from their success due to their own failures. St. Labre and the Catholic Church owe nothing additional, in my opinion, to the Northern Cheyenne Tribe than what they've provided for years and continue to give.

You want something better? Go earn it!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

It is not my position to tell St. Labre Indian School how to run their organization. They seem to be doing one heck of a job - collecting money, educating Indian children and providing a solid base for further educational opportunities.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 6, 2013
9 people found this review helpful

more

May 6, 2013
9 people found this review helpful

I gave last year without much quesiton due to the Catholic connection --- But, just did some research today after receiving more solicitation.

With surprise I found:

March 12, 2005
Church, school sued by tribe
By JAN FALSTAD
Of The Gazette Staff

The Northern
Cheyenne Tribe filed a lawsuit in Billings Friday against the Roman Catholic Church and the St. Labre Indian School Educational Association alleging that the school has used the tribe's "plight" and "financial need" to operate one of the most successful fund-raising enterprises in American history.

Today only a small percentage of students at St. Labre Mission are Northern Cheyenne, the lawsuit said, yet the school continues to raise money by marketing the tribe's poverty.

Northern Cheyenne President Eugene Little Coyote and the tribal council, which voted unanimously to authorize the lawsuit, allege that the school had "reaped enormous financial revenue and benefit" during the past 50 years.

"We're trying to make sure there is a more equitable distribution of the funds raised on the Northern Cheyenne reservation," Little Coyote said.

In just two of the past four years, St. Labre has reaped $57 million while poverty is rampant throughout the reservation, the lawsuit stated.

The lawsuit filed in Yellowstone District Court was first considered in 1998.

Billings attorney Cliff Edwards and his law firm are representing the Northern Cheyenne. St. Labre officials could not be reached for comment late Friday.

"It is not known to the Northern Cheyenne where these tens - probably hundreds - of millions of dollars have gone," the lawsuit stated.

The tribe is demanding that St. Labre open its books for the past half century through "forensic accounting" and pay all compensatory and punitive damages due under Montana law.

Other charges against St. Labre and the Catholic Church include:

Trespassing on tribal lands

Not compensating the tribe for the school's "impressive buildings and facilities" just outside Ashland

Imposing church values and religion on the tribe

Using without permission "the faces, stories and symbols of the Northern Cheyenne"

St. Labre Mission School was started on the reservation in 1884 to educate and to help the Northern Cheyenne. The small mission school has grown into a 100-acre modern campus.

The school raised money through mass marketing. It built a factory at Ashland in the early 1960s where tribal members made plastic items, including Indian dolls and costume jewelry, which were sent to donors.

The lawsuit names The Roman Catholic Church, the Dioceses of Great Falls/Billings, St. Labre Indian School Educational Association and St. Labre Home for Indian Children and Youth.

Jan Falstad can be contacted at (406) 657-1306 or at jfalstad@billingsgazette.com

Copyright © The Billings Gazette, a division of Lee Enterprises.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unlikely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unlikely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 3, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

more

May 3, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

we made a $20.00 gift to the school & in the mail a blanket not made by students but made in china 100% polyester?

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unsure

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unsure

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 23, 2013
10 people found this review helpful

more

April 23, 2013
10 people found this review helpful

I'm writing this in response to one for_the ride 's comment and concerns.
Anyone else who takes the time to read through all this. Thank you for making the time. This is what happens when you are involved ( giving ) to a place for 10,12+ years.

Here are 2 much more recent articles from
the Billing Gazette, the same newspaper that had the story about the lawsuit , which mind you, I was very concerned about myself.

http://billingsgazette.com/news/state-and-regional/montana/st-labre-school-celebrates-history/article_fa591d9d-21ef-50cb-bdf0-7991bd67dbd3.html

http://billingsgazette.com/news/state-and-regional/montana/parts-of-st-labre-ruling-overturned/article_17fbe127-642a-54dd-8bfb-e2f425a87a9a.html
***************************************
Over the many years that I have been giving to St. Labre Indian School, I have learned things, by asking and by experiencing, and reading.
- They don't share their mailing list, though they GET lists. We have a unusual last name spelling. I asked for them to correct it. I don't remember ever seeing ANY OTHER junk mail to show they shared us.
- They're very good at keeping track of your donations, it seems. I wouldn't always get an acknowledgement, but at $100, you get a certificate for the Century Society.
- The number of students has increased from 650 to almost 800 students at the school. The quality of their education also gone up at the same time. No small feat. I can tell by what is written/seen in their newsletter.
- Students used to "end school" after the 8th grade; then after high school, and now they provide support into college by scholarships and mentoring.
- St. Labre's only started in like, the 1950's, and struggled for a bunch of years. They are learning as they go what helps the children to thrive.
[For College: The mentoring program just started a couple years ago =>So Many promising students who went to college were struggling from 'culture shock' and 'home sickness', and after a short time would drop out.]
- Misti, who is in charge of "donor relations" seems very well informed and very easy to work with. By the way, the times I have spoken with her, I had to go through a couple transfers (I called). I think that equals old phone equipment that hasn't been replaced just because it was old.
- They are there for the children, first. That said, what they have been doing has changed over time. They used to be like regular schools with one meal a day; then they started breakfast; I think they added something at the end of the day too - all because they were finding out that the children were going hungry and failing to thrive.
- I've seen in their mailings: In Fall into winter they watch for children dressed in appropriately for the weather and ask, "Where's is your coat? If the child gives an answer like "I don't know" or something, they know to be prepared to provide one: They learned that the children had no coats(or had outgrown theirs) and started a program for that. That are just SO MANY needs that the Indian children had that other children don't.
- Their services outside of education to the children(and adults) have expanded over time. IT's taken time.
- Long ago, Curtis had written to me that they never turn anyone away that comes to them for help-that was 10 years or so. But improve a structure for a person(That's what it sounds like the Northern Cheyenne Nation is asking for) That I'm not sure is within their scope.
- An estimated 92 percent of students are Native American. About 50 percent are Catholic. Tuition for all of them is free. I'm guessing that some of their stuff have children and go to school there.
- Curtis Yarlott, the executive director of 20 years, said this year the school awarded $250,000 in scholarships to 55 students - some of them older graduates who have decided to pursue a higher degree. [From the article above.] They aren't really that big of a school. That is BIG CHUNK in scholarship money.
- Per a mailing: Last year, they were trying to raise money to replace their old water pump, which was on it's last legs. It looked like it had been in been in need to replacement for a very long time (Major rust)and had finally given out. Why couldn't they have taken the money from their ample savings. I'm sure that some of it DID come from the savings. You don't leave 800 people (staff and kids) without running water, when you have a minimum of 30 kids staying the night all week. Replacements like that don't just happen. I think sometimes one needs to hold money aside.
- Curtis Yarlott, the executive director of 20 years, said this year the school awarded $250,000 in scholarships to 55 students - some of them older graduates who have decided to pursue a higher degree. From the article above.
-The online article states: the priest Hoffman, said: The old chiefs befriended me and they said, 'We need it[the school] for the children'.....Who knows what the truth is? I DO see, that the couple(who gave their opinion) below says they saw what they should of. Programs, food, and positive energy. Power/Heating costs, especially during the winter, can really add up. They've increased in side. I've gotten numerous acrylic blankets, that have changed in design. I was going to give to them anyhow, but with this encouragement, I gave more.

I believe I made a difference. They send a newsletter quarterly highlighting one student in particular and with various articles about what has been happening/going on. Curtis has his column and talks about the state of things.
It's funny, I don't usually recommend ANY charity to ANYONE. I just don't; maybe I need to start.
I have recently suddenly retired early, after a disability, but otherwise if money were no object I think my heart would lead me to still be giving to them. Maybe I wouldn't increase anymore in amount, $25, $35 and if I was well off, $75, but I would still give.

Anyone else who has taken the time to read through all this, Thank You for making the time. This is what happens when you are involved ( giving ) to a place for 10,12+ years. And I'm a caring type; I get all involved, like they are "my own".

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 11, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

December 11, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I am very distressed to here of these alligations,having been a loyal donor for many years.I am withholding any futher donations until futher imformation is available,tje real victims here are of course the children and I am so saddened that I have had to make this decision.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unlikely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unlikely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 26, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

more

November 26, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

This school has helped to make great strides in giving the vulnerable Native American children on reservations a chance to get out of the clutches of abuse and poverty. They use their money wisely and they always keep in contact with their donors as to how the money is used and to show appreciation. I strongly recommend donating to this school.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers