Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
13 Reviews
12.61538345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
September 8, 2014
4 people found this review helpful

more

September 8, 2014
4 people found this review helpful

I have read some earlier posted reviews and they do not seem accurate.
I help these people and they are great.
The people running the school are kind and very passionate about what they do.
My suggestion is to just call them and ask where your money is going, you may be surprised at how
much they do for these children.

-DC

More feedback...

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

March 24, 2014
27 people found this review helpful

more

March 24, 2014
27 people found this review helpful

I started donating a few years ago because I thought they were doing a good service to the Indian community. I have since then received tons of unsolicitated junk...dream catcher, lousy blankets etc... When I found out that they go all the way to solicitating donations from my family in Europe, I realized that very little of what I donated goes to the cause. I stopped donating about 5 yrs ago but still regularly receive junk from them. I suggest you look them up and.....send your money somewhere else! This organization is definitely not worth receiving donations!
January 23, 2014
25 people found this review helpful

more

January 23, 2014
25 people found this review helpful

We also have received numerous extravagant give packets from St. Joseph's Indian School. Although we made a small donation once long ago, we will not do so again. This last gift packet was the last straw. It included a form "letter" from a child at the school (obviously written by an adult) which blatantly says the child's home and family would not be a safe place to live. Here is the actual wording of the form letter:

"Dear Ms.________, Things are so fun here at St. Joe's. I like the other girls, we giggle at each other all day. I asked my teacher if I could write you and tell you about the school. My name is Stacy. I'm 12. Anyway, I've only been at St. Joe's for a couple of months. I's so warm and safe, not like my house on the reservation. School's awesome. I have lots of things to do and read. I really, really, like the science project I'm doing with Tasha and Tommy. The food is good here. What I enjoy most is the campus home I share with 11 other girls and my houseparents. My bed is so comfortable. I know I don't have anything to worry about when I go to sleep!
"Well I have to go now but I'll pray for you when I pray for my mom, my sister and my uncle. And thanks a lot! Love, Stacy"

I wonder if the children's families know what is being said about them. We find this unconscionable. That, and the lavish gifts intended to solicit by guilt. The money used for these mailings could benefit the Lakota people and their children… and their families deserve more respect than this.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

March 16, 2013
20 people found this review helpful

more

March 16, 2013
20 people found this review helpful

REgardless of whether they are religious or not, if they want more donors they need to be more trnasparent with a 3rd party audit for how much money (percent) goes to the people they are helping.
Old data suggests that they are very self serving with 34-55% going to the people they want to
help. This nobel group needs to make significant improvements.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

No

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 7, 2013
62 people found this review helpful

more

March 7, 2013
62 people found this review helpful

A few days ago, I received an extravagant packet from this organization, including return address stickers, notepads, a dreamcatcher keychain, and more. Never having heard of nor received an solicitations from this organization before, I considered making a donation until I started checking them out. The only info I could find was from the American Institute of Philanthropy (AIP) (http://www.charitywatch.org/articles/not-accountable-not-commandment.html), which had info only from audited statements of 2004. These showed that St. Joseph's Indian School used roughly 34% of its budget on programs that directly benefited those whom it purports to help. Based on this info, AIP awarded them an F rating, noting that the majority of the organization's donations are used for fund-raising.

Armed with this knowledge, my decision to donate or not became quite easy, because I refuse to contribute to any organization that uses such a paltry portion of its donations to actually help people.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

No

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 11, 2013
25 people found this review helpful

more

January 11, 2013
25 people found this review helpful

Less than 55% of this charity's money is returned in services. They do not regularly disclose their financial statements. It is impossible to be removed from their mailing list (after 18 months of asking!).

To me they are clearly a direct marketing machine that primarily feeds the
administrative staff of the charity and not the children they contend to support. Find another place to put your money.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 12, 2012
26 people found this review helpful

more

July 12, 2012
26 people found this review helpful

We have been donating to St. Joe's for about 30 years. The staff is extraordinary...really giving of themselves to make the kids there stronger. We visit a minimum of once a year, most often twice and we feel priviledged to be able to see how well the kids are cared for. They accept very little federal money, so they need all of us to help donate...it does take a village...every little bit helps.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 13, 2013
15 people found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
April 15, 2012

I did some research and found that South Dakota has 7 of the 10 poorest counties in the US! ( http://www.onjinjinkta.com/native/reservationindex.html ) Note: Since they're a religious organiz... more

November 13, 2013
15 people found this review helpful

I keep checking on the validity of this organization and know that they are a 501c3
http://www.stjo.org/site/PageServer?pagename=about_501c3

.....but since they're 'religious' they don't have to report their administrative costs.
http://www.guidestar.org/organizations/46-0235912/st-josephs-indian-school.aspx#recommendations WHY should they be exempt????????

It just sounds suspicious. They are completely outside of some of the best practices for 'savvy donors':
http://www.charitynavigator.org/index.cfm?bay=content.view&cpid=419

According to 'The Non-Profit Times', "The average American believes that a charity should spend no more than 23 percent on overhead but that charities actually spend 36.9 cents on the dollar."
http://www.thenonprofittimes.com/news-articles/survey-charities-should-spend-23-on-overhead/

If they don't report anything, how do we know how they use the donations???

I want to check out any charities, before I blindly donate to them. (e.g. Better Business Bureau?)
http://interact.stltoday.com/pr/non-profits/PR111113112115009

It is VITAL to support our Native American population. I just want my donations to go where they are most effective......

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Report how your donations are spent and what the administrative costs are, so we can be sure the there are not any 'fat cats' at the top of your organization who are the main beneficiaries of my donation.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unlikely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 15, 2012
11 people found this review helpful

I did some research and found that South Dakota has 7 of the 10 poorest counties in the US! ( http://www.onjinjinkta.com/native/reservationindex.html ) Note: Since they're a religious organization (St Joseph's) they're not evaluated by 'Charity Navigator' ( http://www.charitynavigator.org/index.cfm?keyword_list=st+joseph%27s+indian+school&Submit2=GO&bay=search.results ) I carefully select what organizations I donate to and feel that this one deserves my contribution.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 19, 2010
26 people found this review helpful

more

November 19, 2010
26 people found this review helpful

I have been a supporter of St. Joseph's Indian School for 3 years now; I always receive a thank you for my donation, along with updates on the children, and the community. I receive invitations to important functions in SD as well as MD and greetings throughout the year. They really make you feel as though you are truly making a difference for them. USPS has different sized shipping boxes for one price, I frequently send items to SD that are easily purchased at your local value store like individual hygiene items, blankets, sheets, clothes, toys, etc. etc.. I am a thrifty shopper and many have been the times that I have found name brand clearance items; at high end stores to fill a box. If you truly want to feel as though you are making a difference in a child’s life or a community; St. Joseph’s Indian School is the place for you!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Gratefulness, and appreciation; with feedback from the children.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Supply them with enough to counsel more of the community, and Nation.

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers