Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
13 Reviews
12.61538345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
March 14, 2014
18 people found this review helpful

more

March 14, 2014
18 people found this review helpful

According to the BBB, this organization does not meets its Standards for Charity Accountability.

http://www.bbb.org/charity-reviews/national/american-indian/st-josephs-indian-school-and-missions-in-chamberlain-sd-675/all

I've given to them in the past, and figure they probably
help some kids, but according to the its consolidated audited financial statements for the fiscal year ended June 30, 2012, the organization spent $30,278,951 or 57% of its total expenses ($53,021,662) on program service activities. So only about 30% of the income actually went to help the program/kids.
November 13, 2013
15 people found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
April 15, 2012

I did some research and found that South Dakota has 7 of the 10 poorest counties in the US! ( http://www.onjinjinkta.com/native/reservationindex.html ) Note: Since they're a religious organiz... more

November 13, 2013
15 people found this review helpful

I keep checking on the validity of this organization and know that they are a 501c3
http://www.stjo.org/site/PageServer?pagename=about_501c3

.....but since they're 'religious' they don't have to report their administrative costs.
http://www.guidestar.org/organizations/46-0235912/st-josephs-indian-school.aspx#recommendations WHY should they be exempt????????

It just sounds suspicious. They are completely outside of some of the best practices for 'savvy donors':
http://www.charitynavigator.org/index.cfm?bay=content.view&cpid=419

According to 'The Non-Profit Times', "The average American believes that a charity should spend no more than 23 percent on overhead but that charities actually spend 36.9 cents on the dollar."
http://www.thenonprofittimes.com/news-articles/survey-charities-should-spend-23-on-overhead/

If they don't report anything, how do we know how they use the donations???

I want to check out any charities, before I blindly donate to them. (e.g. Better Business Bureau?)
http://interact.stltoday.com/pr/non-profits/PR111113112115009

It is VITAL to support our Native American population. I just want my donations to go where they are most effective......

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Report how your donations are spent and what the administrative costs are, so we can be sure the there are not any 'fat cats' at the top of your organization who are the main beneficiaries of my donation.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unlikely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 15, 2012
12 people found this review helpful

I did some research and found that South Dakota has 7 of the 10 poorest counties in the US! ( http://www.onjinjinkta.com/native/reservationindex.html ) Note: Since they're a religious organization (St Joseph's) they're not evaluated by 'Charity Navigator' ( http://www.charitynavigator.org/index.cfm?keyword_list=st+joseph%27s+indian+school&Submit2=GO&bay=search.results ) I carefully select what organizations I donate to and feel that this one deserves my contribution.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 20, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

April 20, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

This charity rocks!! They deal with poor kids and that's great

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers