Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
11 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
April 30, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

April 30, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

I support this foundation because it saves the environment, promotes healthy lifestyles, reduces our carbon footprint (no more local than in your own yard!) and helps the poor cut their food bills. I think if everyone in developing countries had the SFG knowledge, they would be empowered to help themselves and their community forever. Takes much less water than a regular row garden - that's a big plus. I think SFG is a way of life and would recommend this foundation and the SFG gardening methods to anyone.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 29, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

April 29, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

Square Foot Gardening saves the environment because it uses no fertilizer or pesticides. That means no fertilizer runoff into the rivers & oceans. Fertilizer runoff causes red tides, fish kills and dead zones. Pesticides kill helpful insects & pollinators (bees, ladybugs & butterflies) as well as pests.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 29, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

April 29, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

As a result of reading and studying the SFG method, I have turned my front yard and back yard into a space that produces 40% of my family's vegetables and fruit between May and October. The reason: I am an avid supporter of eating locale and organic, and I can't get any more local and organic that what I grown myself. I also teach college at Bellevue College, located in (oddly enough) Bellevue, Washington. I have the privelege of being the student garden counselor there. I use SFG methods to help students make easy to care for and productive gardens, thereby spreading the message of how to help reduce the world's food crisis--one young person at a time. Like Heifer International, the SFG system enables people to feed themselves and teaches self-respect and integrity through being self-sufficient. It also teaches peace. After an afternoon in the sun tending plants, I'm not in the mood to go grab an AK-47 and engage in the wrong kind of political activism. Perhaps it's a nurturing female-thing, but I think that if we humans were more connected to the earth that feeds us and the animals that sustain us, and we learned to have some self-restraint in our wants and desires, this world could become something more closely resembling the beautiful allegory called the Garden of Eden. Mel Bartholomew and the SFG foundation are leading the charge towards this vision of a better future.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 27, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

April 27, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I am an avid gardener and live in eastern NC. I also have rheumatoid arthritis. This method of gardening enables me to continue to do what I love and continue to be productive by gardening. The traditional method of "row planting" was just too labor intensive and causes the RA to flare up which is painful. Square Foot Gardening is not as labor intensive as traditional methods, uses less resources and water! A raised bed is used so there are no weeding chores. A LOT of vegetables are produced in a small space using this method. We have had drought here for the past two summers, but using the Square Food Gardening method of planting, I was still able to have a bountiful harvest. I would highly recommend this method to anyone needing to grow in small spaces and most especially for those like myself with physical limitations or those with limited means.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 26, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

April 26, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I love Square Foot Gardening Foundation because I feel they are doing wonderful work around the world. Their goal is to end world hunger by teaching people how to garden. It is a very great thing, not the old-fashioned way of gardening in a row. This type of gardening is in square foot or square meter boxes, with grids on top. The advantages over the old row method are many, such as it saves way more space than the old way. You can grow just as much as a great big row garden in a tiny space. It saves water too, which is important since there is a water crisis, especially in developing countries. It saves time, NO WEEDS since you use all compost in a special blend. It is great for poor people with limited land and resources! But also good for anyone because the food is the most nutritious. I support SFGF because I believe it can help save lives and the environment with organic and easy-to-do methods.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Assemble garden boxes for our humanitarian projects