Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
11 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
April 30, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

April 30, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

I've been teaching Square Foot Gardening for the last four years to children at the Rahway, New Jersey YMCA. The gardening techniques are easy to understand and simple to implement and completely natural and organic. Our Square Foot Gardening program for the Y continues to strengthen and is poised to become a prototype for other Y's to duplicate. Sincerely, Bob Markey-Certified Square Foot Gardening Instructor.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 30, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

April 30, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

I support this foundation because it saves the environment, promotes healthy lifestyles, reduces our carbon footprint (no more local than in your own yard!) and helps the poor cut their food bills. I think if everyone in developing countries had the SFG knowledge, they would be empowered to help themselves and their community forever. Takes much less water than a regular row garden - that's a big plus. I think SFG is a way of life and would recommend this foundation and the SFG gardening methods to anyone.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 30, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

April 30, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

Working with the Square Foot Garden Foundation has been phenomenal! They have guided us every step of the way, shared best practices, and helped us harvest. They strongly recommend using your resources- from starting a compost pile to water conservation, and using only the seeds and soil that you need. The method is easy and perfect for all ages!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 29, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

April 29, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

Square Foot Gardening saves the environment because it uses no fertilizer or pesticides. That means no fertilizer runoff into the rivers & oceans. Fertilizer runoff causes red tides, fish kills and dead zones. Pesticides kill helpful insects & pollinators (bees, ladybugs & butterflies) as well as pests.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 29, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

April 29, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

As a result of reading and studying the SFG method, I have turned my front yard and back yard into a space that produces 40% of my family's vegetables and fruit between May and October. The reason: I am an avid supporter of eating locale and organic, and I can't get any more local and organic that what I grown myself. I also teach college at Bellevue College, located in (oddly enough) Bellevue, Washington. I have the privelege of being the student garden counselor there. I use SFG methods to help students make easy to care for and productive gardens, thereby spreading the message of how to help reduce the world's food crisis--one young person at a time. Like Heifer International, the SFG system enables people to feed themselves and teaches self-respect and integrity through being self-sufficient. It also teaches peace. After an afternoon in the sun tending plants, I'm not in the mood to go grab an AK-47 and engage in the wrong kind of political activism. Perhaps it's a nurturing female-thing, but I think that if we humans were more connected to the earth that feeds us and the animals that sustain us, and we learned to have some self-restraint in our wants and desires, this world could become something more closely resembling the beautiful allegory called the Garden of Eden. Mel Bartholomew and the SFG foundation are leading the charge towards this vision of a better future.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 28, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

April 28, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

Through the SFG Foundation I have become a certified SFG instructor. Mel encourages ALL of us to add a a humanitarian component if we decide to start a SFG-related business. He was wise to do this because when we help others, we ourselves become fulfilled. Because of Mel's guidance there is now a demonstration bed at The Samaritan Women in Baltimore. Soon there will be a SFG at Park Elementary School (Brooklyn Park, MD) and in just a few days we are installing the first SFG bed at homeless residences in the Glen Burnie area. I never would have had the skills or confidence to tackle these projects without the help and encouragement of the SFG Foundation.

Photos

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Becoming a SFG instructor and getting the skills needed to help other individuals and non-profits and schools.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Expand the staff.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What is unique about this organization?

They don't just GIVE someone food, they give them the SKILLS to raise their own food. Instead of it being a one-time event, it lasts a lifetime.

April 27, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

April 27, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I am an avid gardener and live in eastern NC. I also have rheumatoid arthritis. This method of gardening enables me to continue to do what I love and continue to be productive by gardening. The traditional method of "row planting" was just too labor intensive and causes the RA to flare up which is painful. Square Foot Gardening is not as labor intensive as traditional methods, uses less resources and water! A raised bed is used so there are no weeding chores. A LOT of vegetables are produced in a small space using this method. We have had drought here for the past two summers, but using the Square Food Gardening method of planting, I was still able to have a bountiful harvest. I would highly recommend this method to anyone needing to grow in small spaces and most especially for those like myself with physical limitations or those with limited means.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 27, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

April 27, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I just moved from a home with a large yard & garden into a small town home. Square foot gardening foundation has been very helpful to me, inspiring me to still garden despite my lack of space to grow. Thank you!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 26, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

April 26, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

As a garden coach I have used the Square Foot Gardening at four houses in two states in the last 20+ and teach as many people as I can about this gardening method. Square Foot Gardening is the easiest way to garden that I know of - save water, less work (almost no weeding), save seeds (no planting extra to thin out later), save space. Even for those who have plenty of area to garden you can grow more variety or just more. Whether you live in a house, apartment, townhouse, or condo you should be able to grow some of your own food. Never gardened before? No problem! You can be growing your own food within weeks. Copies of the book All-New Square Foot Gardening are available almost anywhere. The Square Foot Gardening Foundation's website has information and lists of teachers plus a Forum for asking questions and posting photos of your garden. No matter where you live in the world you CAN grow some food!

Photos

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I have seen non gardeners grow fabulous vegetables and other edibles after learning Square Foot Gardening.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Improve the website

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 26, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

April 26, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

The Square Foot Gardening Foundation provides educational support and opportunity beyond comparison to the world! I have found support from key members at the foundation, and especially from creator and founder Mel Bartholomew in answering general logistical questions, as well as ideas and ways of offering practical support for several community based projects locally that I have spearheaded, such as school gardens, Boy Scout initiatives and non-profit ventures. I so love this fun and easy method of growing vegetables, fruit, flowers and herbs that I was inspired to earn my Square Foot Gardening Instructor Certification! This combines perfectly with my work and passion as a certified health coach, where I truly feel I can inspire individuals, children and families to connect to their food, their community and the land - improving their health, one square foot at a time. It is a pleasure and a privilege to be an ambassador associated with this organization whose mission is to end world hunger. The tools, materials, support and certification program provide empowerment, build confidence and strengthen that "can do attitude" that the world needs more of. I have seen first hand how implementing, introducing and inspiring others to use the SFG method where you simply build a box, fill it with perfect soil, place a grid on top and get green by growing changes and improves peoples lives, their health, their happiness and who they are in the world! I proudly recommend the Square Foot Gardening Foundation.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Assemble garden boxes for our humanitarian projects