Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
11 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

I am a volunteer/donor, the founder of C.H.A.N.G.E. Fitness. I have had the pleasure of being apart of this great, heart felt organization looking to improve the lives of our neighbors. I've worked/run the CHANGE program and love the impact on the participants improved self confidence, stress level and fitness. My favorite experience was a joint program CHANGE offered to the SOAR students; the 5th graders participated in a 6 six week yoga class. None of the students new anything about yoga, at the end of the program it was a proud moment to watch when the yoga instructor named a yoga pose the students with easy new just what to do. Through this program not only did they have access to fitness but also another type of fitness, something they would be less likely to experience. That is what I love about Spring Street CDC we are educating, motivating and bringing opportunity to our community!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find more individual who want to volunteer and help us grow.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 28, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 28, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have been very blessed by this organization. I participated in the Family Success program, we met once a week and discussed how to family relationships. It was a good reminder communicate with your family and understand each others views. It helps families to rebuild a good family structure.

As the maintenance volunteer, I get to see all of the programs and the SOAR tutor program is great. Its like kids get a private teacher, to learn their studies.

The newest program they have is Table of Hope and I find it is good for our community because it gives a place of hope and makes sure people leave with a full belly.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find more funding to help them grow.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 26, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 26, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

After retiring in 2012 after a successful career I wanted to give back. Fortunately I have had the opportunity to volunteer at the Spring Street CDC serving a diverse group of people from various backgrounds. Working with Carmalee Foster (founder of CHANGE"), the best Zumba instructor, teaching fitness, nutrition and overall self confidence regardless of an individuals ability to pay. The SOAR program tutors children after school on Mondays and Thursdays. The most recent addition "Table of Hope" serving the community free dinner Monday through Friday has been a blessing to so many. It has been my fortune to be a part of an organization that helps so many in so many ways.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Continue to add programs to service a diverse community that is in need of help.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 26, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 26, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

The Table of Hope has been a blessing to many. It has been a helping hand / steo up for those that are homeless and struggling to survive. It reminds all that there is a place that care regardless of your social status. All are welcomed and leave with smiles on their faces knowning someone cares.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 24, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 24, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have been going to change fitness for about 6 months. I love the extra motivation Carmellee always gives to us . Emails and daily motivational thoughts . Hours are great . The teachers are great! Worth checking out!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 24, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 24, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I attended the the Anniversary event and had a great time. I signed up for the Zumba classes, and they have been really good. The instructors do a nice job making everyone feel comfortable and a part of the group.

Such a fantastic show of community at C.H.A,N.G.E. !!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 24, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 24, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I attended the Anniversary as a vendor and I enjoyed every second of it. Having never attended a class I was worried that I would not have a chance to socialize with the attendees of the event. However, I was welcomed personally by Carmalee Foster and made to feel welcome. While watching the group fitness in action I immediately realized why this program is such a success. The enthusiasm and excitement from the Zumba participants was contagious. Also, the confidence that the program instilled in everyone that danced along was obvious. This program and others like it are so significant in bringing people together and creating a true community.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 23, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 23, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Spring Street Community Development Corporation has an array of serves for the community. I have participated several times in the CH..A.N.G.E Fittness Gym. Zumba is always great and every has toning and one on one instruction! When ever I get the chance I go to enjoy the music and dancing, but the exercise helps the most!

They have most recently opened their Table of Hope program, which I had the opportunity to be give a Friday night mean for my children and I! No cooking that night. They we nice, respectful and wanted your belly full before you left! Wonderful experience! Oh FYI they serve dinner Monday through Friday from 6pm until 7pm! Just in time for dinner :-) I'll be going again :-)

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Would tell people to go and see what I've experienced and they'll go again :-)

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 23, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 23, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Carmalee brings together Community and Fitness in a way that is fun, healthy and energizing.
The end result: life changing!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 23, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 23, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

i bought a Groupon to C.H.A.N.G.E. Fitness largely to check out Zumba classes. What I found was Zumba classes that not only were fun and energized but an organization run by the enthusiastic and fun Carmalee Foster whose mission is to offer fitness and nutrition classes to those who want to make a positive change in their life - no matter what their income status. Great music, a great cause, very nice people and a mission that I can wholeheartedly support.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Assist at the Table of Hope, serving food or cleaning fellowship hall Volunteer