Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
15 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
October 31, 2014

more

October 31, 2014

I been volunteering for the SOAR Program and it is a great experience. The kids are improving in their homework and school work. They are nice and fun to be around. When they finish their homework early, they are eager to play math games with each other. The SOAR Program is great....
October 30, 2014

more

October 30, 2014

I have been volunteering with the SOAR program for almost two months now and it has been great. Overall the children are nice and I have seen a tremendous improvement in their school work and their behavior overall. SOAR is doing great work.
October 28, 2014

more

October 28, 2014

I volunteer for SSCDC's SOAR program assisting just over 30 fifth graders with their homework assignments, helping them learn to use Microsoft Word, and showing them research tricks using the Google search engine. Some of the children do not have computers of their own and SOAR provides them their only opportunity to use computers outside of school. I hope to find sources of computers that can be refurbished and given to those in need so they can learn the vital basic use of computers.
October 26, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 26, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have been to the c.h.a.n.g.e. fitness program and i have had such a great time. I had a problem with my leg before i went to this class but now its doing so much better. I look forward to every class. Its a positive place with great instructor. Its great to have this program and we are lucky to have it.
October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

I am a volunteer/donor, the founder of C.H.A.N.G.E. Fitness. I have had the pleasure of being apart of this great, heart felt organization looking to improve the lives of our neighbors. I've worked/run the CHANGE program and love the impact on the participants improved self confidence, stress level and fitness. My favorite experience was a joint program CHANGE offered to the SOAR students; the 5th graders participated in a 6 six week yoga class. None of the students new anything about yoga, at the end of the program it was a proud moment to watch when the yoga instructor named a yoga pose the students with easy new just what to do. Through this program not only did they have access to fitness but also another type of fitness, something they would be less likely to experience. That is what I love about Spring Street CDC we are educating, motivating and bringing opportunity to our community!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find more individual who want to volunteer and help us grow.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 28, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 28, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have been very blessed by this organization. I participated in the Family Success program, we met once a week and discussed how to family relationships. It was a good reminder communicate with your family and understand each others views. It helps families to rebuild a good family structure.

As the maintenance volunteer, I get to see all of the programs and the SOAR tutor program is great. Its like kids get a private teacher, to learn their studies.

The newest program they have is Table of Hope and I find it is good for our community because it gives a place of hope and makes sure people leave with a full belly.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find more funding to help them grow.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 26, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 26, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

After retiring in 2012 after a successful career I wanted to give back. Fortunately I have had the opportunity to volunteer at the Spring Street CDC serving a diverse group of people from various backgrounds. Working with Carmalee Foster (founder of CHANGE"), the best Zumba instructor, teaching fitness, nutrition and overall self confidence regardless of an individuals ability to pay. The SOAR program tutors children after school on Mondays and Thursdays. The most recent addition "Table of Hope" serving the community free dinner Monday through Friday has been a blessing to so many. It has been my fortune to be a part of an organization that helps so many in so many ways.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Continue to add programs to service a diverse community that is in need of help.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 26, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 26, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

The Table of Hope has been a blessing to many. It has been a helping hand / steo up for those that are homeless and struggling to survive. It reminds all that there is a place that care regardless of your social status. All are welcomed and leave with smiles on their faces knowning someone cares.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 24, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 24, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have been going to change fitness for about 6 months. I love the extra motivation Carmellee always gives to us . Emails and daily motivational thoughts . Hours are great . The teachers are great! Worth checking out!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 24, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 24, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I attended the the Anniversary event and had a great time. I signed up for the Zumba classes, and they have been really good. The instructors do a nice job making everyone feel comfortable and a part of the group.

Such a fantastic show of community at C.H.A,N.G.E. !!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Assist at the Table of Hope, serving food or cleaning fellowship hall Volunteer