Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
42 Reviews
1234.904765
Write A Review
October 30, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 30, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I am currently training one of the rescues and from my experience with Diane, I can confidently say she knows what she's doing and does it well! The horses that come in that are emaciated and have been neglected look like new animals after a short time with Diane rehabilitating them. There is such a high need for what she is doing in La Plata County, let's keep it going!!!
October 28, 2014
4 people found this review helpful

more


2 previous reviews - show all
December 2, 2012

I am a 4th year volunteer at Spring Creek Horse Rescue. A motto that describes the Rescue is "Horses First". I have seen horses come to the Rescue skin and bones, with injuries, with shyness from mi... more

October 28, 2014
4 people found this review helpful

Spring Creek Horse Rescue is an amazing place. I have volunteered now for six years, and I have seen ill, injured, old, young, abused and neglected horses enter Spring Creek Horse Rescue, wondering the fate of these soulful creatures. Through the patient, knowledgeable care of Diane, the director, I have seen these sorrowful horses regain their will to live, their unbelievable ability to forgive and trust humans again. In six years, I have seen at least 40 horses adopted to people who love them; a family who adores cute Moxey, a middle age woman who loves her beautiful Vegas, who had serious injuries; a veteran with PTS who adopted T-Rex, big and black, now companions on the trail and in the barn. There are many happy ending stories like this, all because Spring Creek Horse Rescue is there for horses and people.
December 2, 2012

I am a 4th year volunteer at Spring Creek Horse Rescue. A motto that describes the Rescue is "Horses First". I have seen horses come to the Rescue skin and bones, with injuries, with shyness from mistreatment, and I have seen Diane work miracles with them to see well-fed, injury free and trusting of humans. I love working at the Rescue to see and touch these beautiful, soulful animals and it is always an exciting day when one is adopted into a new, caring home. Becca

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 23, 2011

I am on year 3 as a volunteer for Spring Creek Horse Rescue in Colorado.
The horses here receive the care needed to rehabilate, whether it is an underweight problem from neglect, or trust issues from improper handling, or injuries. I have seen over 40 horses adopted since volunteering and how
rewarding it is to see a beautiful and spiritual horse go to a caring home. The Rescue also works with the community by providing instruction on care and also as a place for people with community service hours to work and learn. The director, Diane, I am in awe of; she loves these unfortunate animals and cares from them until trust is again established. Especially kudos to her. The Rescue is always in need of donations for feed and medicine for our charges.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Many, many horses have been adopted out to new caring homes and this is so, so rewarding for the rescue.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

My wish for Spring Creek Rescue is to have a place of its own to call home. It is now on a rental location and the future is uncertain. That is one big wish, so my lessor wish is to have funding for the care of the horses.

October 18, 2013

more

October 18, 2013

My daughter has been volunteering at Spring Creek Horse Rescue since we moved to the area in June. She found a wonderful group of people who have dedicated themselves to caring for horses who might, without Spring Creek Horse Rescue, not have a home where they can be cared for unti lthey are adopted. My daughter has had the opportunity to learn about caring for horses with a variety of problems from physical ailments to fear of humans. As the animals are cared for, she has been able to watch them learn to trust people and heal.
Spring Creek Horse Rescue provides many horses with the care they previously have not had. It is a place where the animals are put first. Without Spring Creek Horse Rescue many of the horses that go on to be adopted may not have otherwise survived. Now many thrive with the dedicated care that Spring Creek Horse Rescue provides.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 17, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
October 22, 2012

Spring Creek Horse Rescue cares deeply for each animal that becomes a resident, whether it is long term or short term. Each horse is treated as an individual, with special attention to their needs. Th... more

October 17, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Spring Creek Horse Rescue has provided care for countless animals since 1976, almost 40 years. All horses are treated as individuals with specific care and feeding for each. Her wealth of knowledge has brought seemingly incurable animals back from the brink. Diane provides everything she can for the horses, going without many things for herself. She does not take a salary although she is allowed one, believing instead that the horses come first. I have seen amazing changes in many of the horses firsthand, and I learn something every time I am there. I have volunteered for over a year and in that time have seen many instances of horses learning to trust for the first time. Diane truly loves every horse there and wants the best for all of them.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would move them to a larger property so they could become self sustaining, through the possibility of boarding other horses, storing hay, providing training and any other means of having an income.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 22, 2012

Spring Creek Horse Rescue cares deeply for each animal that becomes a resident, whether it is long term or short term. Each horse is treated as an individual, with special attention to their needs. Their feed is adjusted to their age, health issues and neglect caused by previous owners. At Spring Creek, they are loved simply because they exist, even though they may not have been treated well enough in the past to return that love. Every pen is cleaned every day, which to me shows acknowledgement of the horse's dignity. I personally have seen horses go from virtual walking skeletons to healthy good looking animals. The past is evident in their eyes and their actions, and the slow gain of trust between Spring Creek and the individual horses is a wonderful thing to see. It happens because they know they are being cared for.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 6, 2013

more

October 6, 2013

I learned about Spring Creek Horse Rescue when I first moved to the Durango, Colorado area in 2009. I was having a problem with some 30 horses running free around the ranch I live on with no apparent owners. So I called Spring Creek Horse Rescue straight from the phone book. They were in the next town so what could be better? I chatted a bit with the owner/operator of SPHR and after learning what a "Brand Inspector" was, not the kind of "Brands" I was used to living in New York City, the extremely knowledgable and helpful woman I had been speaking with; Diane McCracken offered to come out to the ranch to help me with my problem. As it turned out it was neighbors with horses who found a hole in our fence and evidently liked what we were growing on our ranch a little better than at their place.

I learned so much working with Diane about the problems of horses being dumped on peoples ranches when their rightful owners couldn't afford vet bills or to feed them any longer. The issues of The BLM wild mustangs; how people will buy groups of horses at local auctions only to turn around and ship them, pregnant mares and little colts included to be slaughtered in Mexico or Canada or in illegal slaughterhouses here in the United States.

We need more organizations like Spring Creek Horse Rescue with people like Diane running them. These animals are such natural healers themselves, that Horse Therapy is now being recognized by the medical community. Doctors, psychologists have been getting great results from prescribing for their patients therapy time with horses. Spring Creek needs to continue to do the good work they do 24/7 year after year. Helping horses to help people.

Thank you for the opportunity to let me write this review.

Sharon A. Brady

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 4, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 4, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I met Diane over 3 years ago, the work she does for the horses is amazing.... She is concerned about their welfare for LIFE..... Her dedication is like no other!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 14, 2013

more

September 14, 2013

Diane IS Spring Creek Horse Rescue. She is 100% dedicated to the animals in her care. She will go without so they can have food and the medicine they need. The animals under Spring Creeks care are LUCKY!!!
If you drop by anytime, Diane and maybe a volunteer, will be out working. The place is
always clean, water is always full. This is not your take em in and collect the donations operation. This is a true and solid rescue. She is Horse rescue but has taken in a dog or two when it was needed!
Spring Creek Horse rescue is the real deal and should be noticed as a GREAT NonProfit!!!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get more funding for her and a larger facility is much needed!!!! She has been looking for a property to move to but it has to meet the acreage and cost needs.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 7, 2013

more

September 7, 2013

I met Diane, 2 yrs ago I have a love for longears (donkeys), Diane has helped me out in finding homes for donkeys I have came across, that are in need of good homes. She has a huge heart an will do what ever she can to help a horse in need! She works hard an keeps the rescue clean of manure, an animals are well fed a groomed at all times. We both anti manure build up, we laugh about it, you won't find any manure in a pen at Spring Creek! She is passionate an devoted in her rescue efforts. She's a hard working gal dawn till way past dark. Great gal!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get Diane more help!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 7, 2013

more

September 7, 2013

I love this organization! Diane and her volunteers make a huge difference in each and every one of the Spring Creek horses! There is lots of LOVE and DEDICATION towards all of the fuzzy 4 legged angels! They come to Spring Creek, get the best care, and leave the horse rescue beautiful, healthy, happy horses! Thank goodness for Spring Creek Horse Rescue and all the good they do, and most of all the Four Corners is a better place because of Diane and Spring Creek Horse Rescue!!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

My sister Sue Armstrong volunteers at Spring Creek Horse Rescue and because of distance I can only help by donating. I always get a thank you and updates of the current horses. My sister is very experienced with horses (as am I) and knows a good rescue when she sees one. This is the only horse rescue in CO! This is basically a one-woman operation, with volunteers of course.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers