Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
27 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
October 16, 2014

more

October 16, 2014

I've been truly lucky and blessed to have 3 of my 4 children participate in multiple productions at SYT. Kenny Grossman truly loves what he does at this family run theatre, and it shows. He does it all while providing an exciting, safe, fun, educational and rewarding experience for kids and parents alike. Children are a top priority at SYT, and it truly and quickly becomes a place kids want to be a part of. Kids and parents become part of an extended family at SYT that lasts for years to come. You and your children won't be disappointed in the experiences or productions that SYT produces. They have a variety of classes, shows, plays and musical groups to be a part of or attend. Their shows are top notch, and most if not all productions win multiple awards annually. Check them out. Whether you are just attending a show or have a child performing in a show at SYT, you won't be disappointed.
October 16, 2014

more

October 16, 2014

I will remember this day forever...my daughter at the age of six came home from school with a Spotlight Youth Theatre summer camp flyer of "High School Musical" merely seven years ago. This popular movie just came out and was the biggest production that everyone wanted to be part of at the time. We immediately signed her up and she fell in love with Spotlight. A new set of friends were formed and grow more with each production she is cast. Theatre is a place where kids can express themselves in all avenues of life. With each production, her confidence has grown and she enjoys giving back by participating in set building, painting, and fundraising. Many directors have played an important part of my daughter's life, and we thank each one of you who have given guidance and direction to help her grow as an actor. She lives and breathes theater and is quite bored when not in a show. Theatre is not inexpensive activity as one might think. Lots of training and lessons in acting, vocal and dance go along with attending summer and broadway camps to enhance our child's learning. Spotlight is our home away from home and we feel blessed to be part of this family!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 9, 2014

more

October 9, 2014

Spotlight Youth Theatre is a very special and magical place. Three years ago I enrolled my 7 year old in Summer Camp because she was extremely shy and suffering from severe social anxiety. I was really worried about my daughter and ready to send her to a professional therapist for help. A former student of mine suggested Spotlight. The first day of camp was tear filled as we dropped her off and I was worried about my decision to send her to camp. When we picked her up she was happy and had made friends and had fun. One session turned into two sessions that summer. Later that year she auditioned for her first play and performed in it. Since then she has attended 4 more sessions of camp, been in 6 more shows, is part of the performance group, and attended many workshops. She has come out of her shell and calls Spotlight her home. It is her happy place. She is a different child than the one I dropped off that summer. The Artistic Director of this theatre has a gift for bringing out the special unique talent in each child and creating a loving and supportive environment. Since then my entire family has become a part of the Spotlight Family. My older daughter is involved in their performance group Pitches and Tones and has participated in plays and musicals. My husband and myself have spent time working on sets. It is a welcoming and supportive family. The productions are first rate and the theatre is not afraid to deal with controversial material that has social impact like last year's production of The Laramie Project. I love this magical place as much as my daughters love it.
October 9, 2014

more

October 9, 2014

“ The fear of public speaking ranks as the number one fear and greatest impediment to achieving one’s full potential. To be comfortable speaking in public and taking every opportunity presented, imagine life’s possibilities.” ---Forbes

That my 12 year-old is
fearless, bold and confident before groups of people has me excited for her prospects in life.

That she is those things I attribute to her Spotlight experience.

Where productions serve the children, not the other way around.

Where every performer gets “star treatment.”

Where drama is limited to the stage.

Where social issues get introduced.
Community service reinforced.

Where joyful noise and spirits fill the building.
At 9 pm. On a Tuesday. After 4 hours of rehearsal.

Where being the most awarded performance theater of any kind in the state of Arizona speaks to how safe, inspired, fully self-expressed and nurtured these kids truly are.

Simply put, it is one of the best, most rewarding parental decisions I have ever made to entrust my child’s growth & development to Spotlight’s guidance and care.
October 9, 2014

more

October 9, 2014

My daughter and our family have been involved with Spotlight Youth Theater for 3 years!! The theater is run by a very professional staff and they produce some of the best Youth Theater Shows in the valley!! The families that are part of Spotlight are amazing and my daughter has learned so much and truly loves being part of Spotlight!!
October 4, 2014

more


1 previous review
October 5, 2013

My children grew up in this theater and it changed all of our lives. It has been a blessing to be part of this family environment, with award winning directors that teach them the skills to succeed in... more

October 4, 2014

My children grew up at this theater. The Director is top notch artistically, and also creates a family centered, learning environment for the kids. My children grew tremendously as a result of what they learned while performing at this award winning theater. It was their home away from home and they have developed lasting friendships and important life skills. While it is a youth theater, the shows are of a professional level. Everyone that experiences a show at Spotlight is always blown away.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 5, 2013

My children grew up in this theater and it changed all of our lives. It has been a blessing to be part of this family environment, with award winning directors that teach them the skills to succeed in musical theater and at the same time, teach them teamwork, dedication and hard work. The Artistic Director treats the kids like his own, giving them a home away from home, a safe place to go to. Anyone who sees a show here comes out amazed, they can't believe the talent and always come back for more.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 26, 2014

more

September 26, 2014

I have two children that started at Spotlight through summer camp. They loved it so much they begged to join Confetti, one of Spotlight's three performance troupes and they have just finished their first show. I am beyond impressed with the quality of this theatre. The Artistic Director Kenny is amazing with the kids and has a true talent of helping them to become the best they can be. He values the well-being of the children over the show or the theatre. Spotlight puts on high quality productions on an often shoestring budget and the kids are always fantastic. My children have grown so much in confidence, communication skills, maturity, and poise, not to mention the acting, singing, and dancing skills they are learning. We all feel very blessed to have become a part of the Spotlight family and look forward to many more years there.
September 22, 2014

more

September 22, 2014

My daughter started with Spotlight about 4 years ago through attending a summer camp. She was hooked from then on! She has grown by leaps and bounds in terms of confidence, leadership, teamwork, knowledge of theatre and so much more. Kenny is amazing with kids of all ages. I would not trade the last 4 years for anything. And I'm glad she has many more to participate at Spotlight.
August 8, 2014

more

August 8, 2014

Spotlight Youth Theatre ignited my love for the arts when I was 13 years old. They provided me with a whole new home and family where I could be myself. I can't thank Spotlight enough for kick starting my life, and helping me find who I am. I love this place with all my heart.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 7, 2014

more

August 7, 2014

I have had the pleasure to volunteer at this venue and I love the way they treat the kids with respect and patience! Class Act Theatre who put on professional shows.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers