Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
16 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
October 23, 2013

more

October 23, 2013

Spotlight Youth Theater is a family-oriented organization where the kids and parents are involved in all aspects of the theater experience, from selling the raffle tickets to building the sets. The kids put their hearts and souls into their performances and the quality of the shows reflect it. Every year, new talent arrives at Spotlight, wanting to join the ranks of this wonderful theater. The kids have developed close friendships, self-confidence and their talents in a great environment.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

get them better head sets for the performers!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 22, 2013

more

October 22, 2013

Spotlight Youth Theater has been a wonderful part of our life for years and we've watched the kids grow up and excel in talent through those years. We are constantly amazed at the talent and the consistently good quality of the productions. We'll be there for years to come I'm sure and will watch a whole new generation of kids find the confidence and talent inside themselves.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 22, 2013

more

October 22, 2013

I love the way Spotlight Youth Theatre unites kids, teens and parents who all work together to produce shows for the local community. There aren't many places where parents and their kids can join together to make something beautiful, but at Spotlight they volunteer their time to build sets, make costumes, run the box office and teach the kids how to be in the spotlight. I've seen how the kids blossom and gain confidence from their experiences, and how they bond together with their fellow cast members and the parent volunteers through the process. I've been watching youth theater in the Phoenix West Valley for 5 years, and Spotlight keeps bringing me back, not just for the great shows, but for the spirit that infuses them.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 22, 2013

more

October 22, 2013

I have been to many Spotlight Youth Theater shows and I am always amazed at how much is presented in their shows, youth talent learning their skills, volunteers designing and painting sets, everyone pushing themselves and their abilities to put on very smart and complex shows.

The awards
they have won reflect the success they achieve giving youth a venue to learn and grow, as actors and as individuals.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 21, 2013

more

October 21, 2013

My family has been involved with Spotlight Youth Theatre for the past three years. Our daughter began at the summer camps Spotlight hosts and went on to be in numerous productions. She has become more confident and self-assured due to her experience at Spotlight. She has developed many new friendships and a love of the theatre. Without the support of the Spotlight family this would not have happened.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find the much needed funding they need to continue helping kids experience the theatre.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 18, 2013

more

October 18, 2013

My association with Spotlight Youth Theatre started six years ago when my children auditioned for a performance troupe. Now, some 20 shows, numerous camp events, Disneyland performances and other events I can say that when my children look back on their childhood, Spotlight Youth Theatre will be a key part of their memories. The skills they have learned include confidence, teamwork and dedication. They have grown into mature, responsible kids who want to give back to their community and to embody excellence through the performing arts. Spotlight has given them a safe, secure place to grow and learn, to explore who they are as people and as artists. As a parent, I can think of no higher praise than this is where I want my kids to be. In the Spotlight. As a lover of theater, I can honestly say the productions at Spotlight are top notch. The talent of the kids, the dedication of the volunteers, all roll into one magnificent ball of theatrical glory. I don't hesitate in recommending Spotlight as a great place to spend an evening.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

A bigger theater and more resources. Having a second stage, even a black box one, would allow the theater to explore more original works and plays.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 18, 2013

more

October 18, 2013

Spotlight Youth Theatre produces amazing shows! I have attended shows with my family and we have enjoyed every one of them. The casts of each show have always been very talented and the staff has always been friendly and helpful. It is apparent that Spotlight Youth Theatre is very dedicated to developing the talents of the children and young adults which is reflected in their productions. I would highly recommend to everyone to come see a show here. You won't be disappointed.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 18, 2013

more

October 18, 2013

Spotlight is THE premier place in Arizona for kids to learn about all aspects of theatre in a family oriented atmosphere. I love that kids learn from the ground up - from set building, to set painting, costumes, hair, makeup as well as dancing, singing and acting. My daughter has found her second family. I feel blessed to have found such a wonderful group of people to be associated with. The shows are top notch - the talent that lies within the walls of Spotlight is AMAZING! Every show is outstanding!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find them the funding they need to expand, grow and expose more kids to theatre

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 6, 2013

more

October 6, 2013

Spotlight Youth Theatre is an amazing place that allows and teaches children all aspects of theatre. Children are involved in each stage of the process of all productions. As a teacher, I am all about the kids! If it isn’t about the kids, but about the grown ups...then I am not staying! My educational background and experience with children allow me to see right away whether someplace is really about the kids! Spotlight is truly that place! It isn’t some fancy place, with fancy contributors...but it is fancy in all the right ways. One can see it immediately when Kenny, the artistic director is working with the children. He talks with children, laughs with children, sits on the floor with children and truly empowers them to be better human beings. He is a true believer in the process, which then allows a great product to follow. Kenny and the amazing staff at Spotlight allow this to happen on a daily basis. Kenny and others involved are creative, vibrant and most importantly they love and respect all children. They understand them, they allow them to be kids, they instill discipline and hardwork...and they do it all with a comfort that makes every child feel important. This isn’t easy to do and yet they do it with only minimal private donations and ticket sales. They work hard for the kids and it shows in their amazing productions. The most important thing I see as an educator and as a parent, is that, Spotlight Youth Theatre has JOY! They love what they are doing and they pass it on to all who walk through their doors. Their joy is greater than their pocketbooks which in my eyes means success. Every time I have donated to Spotlight, I see real gratitude and thanks. Every penny is deeply appreciated and put immediately towards the children, which I find extremely important when making donations to non profits.

As a family, with 3 children involved in theatre, we have been involved in over 48 productions throughout the valley at various theatres...and I have to say Spotlight is truly about the kids. When we are involved in their productions, we drive 45 minutes to an hour to get there because the magic that happens there is more than just the amazing productions...it is about the other life skills that will make my children and others successful adults. The benefits of theatre to society are numerous. As children feel confident, they become leaders in their community. Leaders serve the greater community in various ways and Spotlight Youth Theatre is a great springboard. As children develop a deeper understanding of personal issues and a broader worldview through theatre, they will become the empathetic grown ups of tomorrow. Their chance to lead, develop, and create, will follow them well into adulthood and the workplace for years to come. It is truly an amazing place

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would change their physical space to a location that had a bigger stage and rehearsal spaces so that more children could experience the magic.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 5, 2013

more

October 5, 2013

My children grew up in this theater and it changed all of our lives. It has been a blessing to be part of this family environment, with award winning directors that teach them the skills to succeed in musical theater and at the same time, teach them teamwork, dedication and hard work. The Artistic Director treats the kids like his own, giving them a home away from home, a safe place to go to. Anyone who sees a show here comes out amazed, they can't believe the talent and always come back for more.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers