Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
25 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
November 16, 2012

more

November 16, 2012

My daughter has been riding with Spirit Horse for several years now. The progress she has made is wonderful. She went from being terrified of the horses to wanting to trot. She is very happy when she realizes we are here. Stephanie is her instructor. She is great with Kaitlin. All of the staff are very friendly and helpfu. Spirit Horse is an incredible organization that deserves all the help it can get. Thanks so much. Kaitlin follows directions better here than at home. That's one way I know how much good this place is doing for her. Anything that helps Kaitlin listen better helps her overall progress.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 16, 2012

more

November 16, 2012

We LOVE Spirit Horse! My daughter has gone with her Life Skills class for years. It's the highlight of her week! The volunteers and employees are absolutely wonderful, too! My daughter has DS so it's great for to help her with her gravitational insecurities, low muscle tone issues and OT. I love that she not only rides the horses but that she cares for them with brushing, saddling, etc...Spirit Horse is wonderful!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 16, 2012

more

November 16, 2012

My son is high functioning autistic. SpiritHorse has been VERY instrumental in my son's development. The staff are very friendly, compassionate, and helpful. This center is truly a blessing.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 16, 2012

more

November 16, 2012

My daughter is 5 and was diagnosed with dystonic quadriplegic cerebral palsy. Her severe motor challenges do not allow her independent mobility and yet with the help and guidance of the angels working at Spirit Horse. She gets on a horse and rides once a week. At first we could not make it up the drive of the property without her getting apprehensive and upset. Four rides later she was brushing her horse and feeding him a carrot with a smile. We're now at 8 rides and my daughter is showing improved strength in her trunk and neck. There is more to riding for my girl than just what physical gains she may recieve. There is a indescribable spirit about the people and the property that brings a healing not only to the rider but to everyone watching and enjoying the ride. As a parent it brings me real joy to know that there are people so giving of their time and knowledge that they would help my child and in turn help me and my husband. We are eternally grateful for the peace Spirit Horse has gifted us with.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 15, 2012

more

November 15, 2012

My name is Faye . I was diagnosed with Multiple Sclerosis in 1994. Gradually my mobility worsened to the point that I have to use scooter. I suffered sever spasticity and lack of balance. When I learned about Spirit horse and met with Mr. Fletcher, it was like a dream coming true. I was totally amazed with his down to earth , giving and caring character. I don't have the financial situation to pay for these type of treatments but they never asked me for anything. When I think or talk about Spirit Horse my heart is full of love, joy and appreciation for all the caring that the instructors provide for riders with different types of disabilities under Mr. Fletcher's strict guidance and leadership. I have not seen such dedicated and loving people who would do whatever they can to help someone like me sit on the horse and have the therapy. After two years of horse therapy my balance has improved tremendously, Lower back pain, Muscle spasms and spasticity has decreased according to doctor's evaluation. Spirit Horse is just a Blessing for mel

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 15, 2012

more

November 15, 2012

My daughter has been diagnosed with RAD or Reactive Attachment Disorder. Because of her losses of relationships early on she struggles to initiate and maintain relationships. Losses of relationships often leave kids feeling out of control as well. A counselor told us about Equine Therapy and we contacted Spirit Horse. Our daughter has been involved now for a year and has made remarkable improvements in initiating friendships with classmates and bonding with our family. This time with her equine friend allows her to have a sense of control which helps her to relax and self regulate. We didn't pursue Spirit Horse to help her with low self esteem but that has improved as well as she has learned and become confident in a new skill. We are thankful for Spirit Horse.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 15, 2012

more

November 15, 2012

My son, Clay, was born 10 weeks premature. He spent six weeks in the NICU before he came home with us, and Clay has dealt with multiple developemental delays. He was diagnosed at 18 months with cerebral palsy. He was not walking at that time. We began horse riding therapy at Spirit Horse shortly after this. Within 3 weeks of therapy Clay was taking steps. Clay continued riding at Spirit Horse until he started second grade. We credit the experiences Clay had at Spirit Horse for increased muscle tone, better balance, confidence, and coordination. Charles Fletcher (the founder) is absolutely wonderful. He has such a big heart for the kids. Great organization!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

November 15, 2012

more

November 15, 2012

Spirithorse is a tremendous blessing to our family. We are so grateful for this magical place.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 15, 2012

more

November 15, 2012

My son has been receiving services from Spirithorse since before he could walk! He has been riding for over 7 years now and we could not speak more highly of this program and the staff and volunteers. My son has created a beautiful bond with his pony and instructor and has blossomed socially in part due to his interaction with the staff and animals. His confidence has been bolstered learning and excelling in a new skill. He is a compassionate child anyway so this has been amazing to watch in his relationship with his pony and helping to care for her. The cognitive aspects of taking steps to get his pony prepped has helped him hugely with memory and following procedures and in encouraging him to take more responsibility in general. The physical aspect of riding a horse helps with his trunk strength and stability as well as positioning his feet and legs more properly. My son walked earlier and sturdier and more independently than his therapists ever thought he would and we are ever so grateful for the part that Spirithorse has played in all of his accomplishments this far. And it's just plain fun! He loves going! And he loves showing off his riding skills which are quite impressive!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 15, 2012

more

November 15, 2012

Our Son Alex is a brain tumor survivor. He was diagnosed at 14 months old. He has been through many years of surgeries, chemo therapy and a bone marrow transplant. Because of his treatment, Alex has significant left sided weakness. Spirit Horse has been a godsend. Every week Alex looks forward to seeing the friendly, supportive staff and loves being able to learn to ride horses. He has gained confidence and becomes stronger all the time in a beautiful, fun, non-clinical setting. Thank you Spirit Horse!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers