Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
9 Reviews
1234.888895
Write A Review
September 6, 2013

more

September 6, 2013

We think Spirit Key is an excellent example of what non government agencies can do to help solve some our issues in society. They take the time and make the effort to make real change. Spirit Key will help men and other people that a lot of people in our society think are "throw-aways". They mentor and house and educate veterans, homeless and ex-offenders to regain their self-confidence and get back into the "game of life", in which they become productive viable citizens and they do it with "love", not judgement. We need more organizations like Spirit Key.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Help them find more donors to assist with their operating costs.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 18, 2013

more

October 18, 2013

I have been involved with Spirit Key since 2008-2009, when I visited a board meeting. I was touched by the work that Allen Rice and Jim Elliott were doing without a physical property. In early 2009, Spirit Key was able to secure property with some financial help. I have been a supporter of Spirit Key's efforts since 2009. The program started with one resident in 2009 to over 30 in 2013. Men struggling to return to society are welcomed with open arms, open heart, and the spirit of God. Men transform their lives with the Bible studies, a church service every Sunday, work assignments on the property, counseling, support, and job assistance help from a local job ministry. I am honored to be involved and support the efforts of Spirit Key.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 18, 2013

more

October 18, 2013

Spirit Key makes a positive difference in the lives of its clients (those who have been incarcerated), their families, and saves the state millions of dollars by reducing the number of inmates who return to prison. This spiritually based 501.3C is souly committed to improve the lives of our clients by providing housing, community, opportunities to learn job skills, and to get jobs in a faith based environment. The program usually takes about six months to complete and the client is ready to move out with a job and the ability to become a productive member of society. Allen Rice, the director and minister, is passionate and focused on helping each person grow spiritually, learn to cope with their problems, and hone their life skills. His dedication is the heart of the ministry and the biggest reason for Spirit Key's success. Words alone cannot describe the good works that happen there. I invite you to come by, meet Allen, and see for yourself. Don't have much time? How about joining Spirit Key for Sunday Worship at 11:00 AM.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 18, 2013

more

October 18, 2013

I have been working with Spirit Key since January 2013. It is my first experience in getting to know former inmates. What has most impressed me about the men at Spirit Key is the lack of blame of others for the situation that resulted in their prison sentences. Without the burden of blame, it has been easier than I expected to develop relationships with these men and I look forward to my visits. We eat together, worship together and have small groups at least twice a month. It is a real joy to see men going to college or finding work. And most importantly they are developing a faith walk.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Help them find a more sustainable source of income.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 17, 2013

more

October 17, 2013

I have come to know Allen and Spirit Key through the work that they do with the Homeless and with recently released Offenders from TDCJ. These guys have the heart of Jesus in helping the "least and the lost" and Allen in an incredible steward of the resources he receives. Nothing ever goes to waste here. Every nickle goes to the program.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Tell the story of this great organization to many more people. They need all the help they can get.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 17, 2013

more

October 17, 2013

I have been volunteering with Spirit Key now for about 6 months. I found out about Spirit Key through Jim Austin who was my roommate at a Kairos Prison Ministry weekend in Huntsville. Jim asked me to come visit one Tuesday night and see what a good thing was going on there. I was hooked! I have attended regularly on the Tuesday Kairos sytle prayer and share events. Allen, Jan and the rest of the team there are really making a difference in these men's lives. Most have never been given a chance to prove they are worth anything, Allen gives them that chance to do so by enabling and encouraging each man to work at something they have a passion for. For many of these men, they would have no other place to turn.

I am always humbled by the amount of passion the men have for Christian fellowship. Some of us volunteers have even come together and sponsored some of these men for Journey to Damascus and Walk to Emmaus weekends and they have flourished!

Great things going on at Spirit Key in advancing the lives of each man to reach the potential of turning their lives around.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 17, 2013

more

October 17, 2013

I have been a resident at Spirit Key for the last four months and I can truthfully say that this place has changed my life,and I see how other peoples lives are changing for the better every day. The christ-centered ministry,and the support of the ministry is a very positive influence on us all.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 6, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 6, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have worked with Allen, Jan and Little Allen on their radio program Restorative Justice. I have donated some books to their library and have more books in my garage waiting to come out to them. This is a great ministry caring for Ex-offenders, the homeless and others. Truly an example of how Christians in the body of Christ can a should carry out ministry to people in need. Let's make sure and partner with them bringing the Gospel of people who need it. Brian Runge, 100.7 FM The Word KKHT.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 6, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 6, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I first heard about Spirit Key on the radio. Spirit Key is a faith based transitional work center that teaches work ethics along with christian principles. I have seen Spirit Key go to the utmost to help shape and care for men's lives. Spirit Key provides food and shelter to the homeless, depressed, tired, and just plain old knot heads who have no where else to go. Spirit Key has been my family and mentor, teaching me to always have faith and God will provide.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers