Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
43 Reviews
1234.744195
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
August 14, 2014

more


2 previous reviews - show all
August 11, 2013

We have many fond memories of the people we met and our volunteer times at Spirit Acres. We moved many years ago and stay in touch by email and phone as well as continue to support the rescue financi... more

August 14, 2014

We are past volunteers, adopted three horses and are thankful that Kat continues to provide homes to neglected, abused and abandoned horses. She has a great love for horses and not only provides a home for as many of our four legged friends at her place as possible, but also actively works with others who do the same. There are so few like her that provide this valuable service to the animals and community. The need is great and it's tremendous that there are people like Kat in this world to help.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 11, 2013

We have many fond memories of the people we met and our volunteer times at Spirit Acres. We moved many years ago and stay in touch by email and phone as well as continue to support the rescue financially. Despite our distance from Spirit Acres we still feel we are part of the Spirit Acres "family" and share in Kat's efforts to help the many needy and deserving horses in her area. We love watching our adopted horses happily grazing out in the field and remember that they could only be with us now since Kat provided them with a opportunity at Spirit Acres. We have many friends here with a variety of adopted pets and it's great to know that people all over the country, like Kat at Spirit Acres, are helping out in the cause to take care of abandoned and neglected animals.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 18, 2012

My wife and I were volunteers at Spirit Acres for two years. We learned about Kat and her efforts from a friend who invited us out to see the facility. Our "visit" turned into two years of learning, fun, challenges and a new adventure of living and caring for horses. In addition, I was recovering from an illness and found the association with the horses and friends we met at Spirit as very therapeutic. We have since moved with our adopted horses from Spirit Acres who became an integral part of our new home. We have found similar rescues in our new area and are thankful to Kat's efforts and others throughout the country who help out our abandoned and neglected four legged friends. We have also found that many of our friends also adopt abandoned horses, dogs, cats and a menagerie of critters who need new homes. We continue to support financially Kat and similar efforts locally as they count on not only our time, but dollars to keep their efforts going.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 18, 2014

more

June 18, 2014

Kat Matrician of Spirit Acres, is a well-kept secret in Montgomery, TX. She keeps up with the rescue and farm that is home to more than 50 horses, a pot belly pig, cats and dogs, that she has rescued over the years. It is her mission to find these animals good homes after she tends to their injuries and abuse that they suffered previously. Kat manages to keep everything going on the farm, but desperately needs more support from the community and horse lovers everywhere.
Please donate a bale of hay or an hour of your time to ensure the safety of these animals.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get the word out for college students, veterinary interns, and at-risk children to enhance their knowledge while providing valuable services to the rescue. It is a win-win opportunity!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 17, 2014

more


1 previous review
July 22, 2013

I have taken pictures of Kats place and critters a few times. The love that she shows for her whinnies shines through. more

June 17, 2014

Spirit Acres is home to 60 horses who, with the efforts of Kat Matrician owner of Spirit Acres and caregiver of her four legged friends, were rescued from homes where they were neglected and/or abused. Some of the owners were going to put their horses down but Kat said "NO!" Her love for the whinnies shines through every day.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get more people to help Kat.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 22, 2013

I have taken pictures of Kats place and critters a few times. The love that she shows for her whinnies shines through.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 13, 2013

more

August 13, 2013

When I found out about Spirit Acres I went to visit as soon as I could. I can't express how impressed I was with Kat Matrician and her devotion to the horses in her care. She tends to each one as if it was her only horse. She knows every medical issue that they have and she has rescued 50+ horses. I only wish she had the all donations she needs to address everything on her to-do list. And I also wish she had more volunteers to help her carry the load which is a heavy one. She is an example to us all in her love and compassion to these beautiful creatures.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Increase public awareness of the rescue. Kat does the very best she can on limited funds.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 10, 2013

more

August 10, 2013

Kat is one of the most kindhearted, loving, and caring women I have ever met. The horses in her care are truly blessed! The Farm/Sanctuary is the only one of its kind in the surrounding area, and it is of great benefit to horses in need.

I continue to donate financially (in general and in
sponsorship of one of the horses) to this worthy charity because I've seen firsthand the hard work, the great love, the compassion and respect for the horses that is what this farm/sanctuary is about. I cannot say enough good things about Kat and the Farm/Sanctuary and the wonderful work they do. The well-being of the horses is the priority, and Kat works tirelessly to make that happen. Spirit Acres Farm Equine Rescue and Sanctuary would greatly appreciate any support you wish to provide, including volunteers to help care for the horses. Blessings to Kat and the Farm, from another Kat :-)

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

There are no changes I would make to the organization itself; but I would wish to live closer so I could donate my time as well.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 8, 2013

more

August 8, 2013

I only wish I could donate more to this wonderful horse sanctuary. Kat gives her time and love to these horses that have been abused and neglected. Thank God for such a fine person, we could use so many more people like her.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Like for Spirit Farms to be able to expand and help more horses in need.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 28, 2013

more


1 previous review
October 3, 2012

Spirit Acres was there for me when i moved and no longer was able to keep or care for a couple of my horses. I have recently visited Spirit Acres and once again found the facility and individuals inv... more

June 28, 2013

I had a need for a place to take a horse when i was moving and needed out of the horse business a few years ago. My daughter found Spirit Acres's website and i personally talked to Ms. Matrician and she offered to take my horse in and attempt to have the horse adopted. As it turned out, the horse got very sick before the transfer and died at the vet clinic before the horse was moved. I checked Ms. Matricians facility at the time and became a contributor to the excellent work she was doing. I have since visited the farm on a couple of occasions and have grown to appreciate all the hard work and passion for what she does in caring for these horses. Many times it becomes very difficult to find the resources to fund this work and as i said, i continue to be a contributor to this very worthy charity. My contributions are a very minor part in the success of this project. Without Ms. Matricians and other volunteers hard work and ongoing thankless effort, this worthwhile project could not exist and many horses would not continue to live.
I highly recommend this charity and suggest any and all horse lovers, or not, to help with this project to care for these abandoned horses.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 3, 2012

Spirit Acres was there for me when i moved and no longer was able to keep or care for a couple of my horses. I have recently visited Spirit Acres and once again found the facility and individuals involved, especially Kat Matrician, to be involved in a real labor of love that few people would be able to provide for these animals on a 24/7 basis. I will continue to support this humane effort by this group to provide shelter, care and moral support for these previously abandoned animals. They are an exceptional organization.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 30, 2012

more

November 30, 2012

I volunteered at Spirit Acres for 5 years (2007 through 2011). Although I no longer get to the farm to volunteer, I continue to support the rescue with monthly donations. While volunteering, I rarely felt like I was at a rescue beause the farm had a sense of peacefulness to it. Yes, there was always work to be done, but it was the noble horses that gave the rescue its sense of meaning and beauty. The owner, Kat, is a special person. I have no doubt that she speaks and understands the langage of horses. And having been a horse women her whole life gives her the strength, knowledge and insight to care for the horses that come through the gates to spirit acres. I hope that anyone reading this ,or any of the other reviews, who has thought about getting involved with horses will visit spirit acres website and find a way to be a part of a rescued horses new life. It was becuse of the sponsorship program that spirit acres offered, I was able to sponsor a rescued horse (the horse of my dreams) and adopted him soon after.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 2, 2012

more

November 2, 2012

SpiritAcres is a place that serves as a haven for horses in need. It is run by Kat, who has the heart and determination and resoursefulness to accomplish this great task. I have been there myself and have toured the place with Kat. I've seen the horses and have met some volunteers. SpiritAcres is definately a place that our area needs. Texans have horses...that's a fact. However, some people obtain this great animal without the understanding and knowlege needed for the responsibility. Unfortunately, often times, horses are abandoned, mistreated, starved, even purposely severely abused. In those cases, if the horse is blessed, it is rescued and can go to SpiritAcres. This is an endeavor that I support, though not nearly enough, with enthusiasm.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 2, 2013

more


1 previous review
November 2, 2012

I have done photography sessions at Spirit Acres. Kat gave me the names of all the horses, and dogs, that I photographed. And she knew their names without hesitating. She also gave me the stories b... more

August 2, 2013

Even a blind man could see the love Kat has for the animals at Spirit Acres. I've visited numerous times to take pictures and just visit the animals. Kat is one of the most amazing people I've ever met. She genuinely cares about the animals who are lucky enough to find their way to her sanctuary.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 2, 2012

I have done photography sessions at Spirit Acres. Kat gave me the names of all the horses, and dogs, that I photographed. And she knew their names without hesitating. She also gave me the stories behind each horse, telling the horrors that they had gone through. After taking many pictures, I grabbed a brush and went out into the pasture to groom some of the horses. They were all well fed and appeared to be over coming their mistreatment they had endured before being rescued by Kat. She is doing a tremendous job with the horses and is very careful when placing them in forever homes. Each one holds a special place in her heart, just as she holds a special place in theirs.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help in barns and on farm, groom horses, work in office and on projects of many types. Volunteer