Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
37 Reviews
1234.918925
Previous | Next
Write A Review
August 7, 2013

more

August 7, 2013

Kat is a very knowledgeable lady with dedication. The spirit of the horse rescue one to be supported wholeheartedly. needs public donation/ funding to expand and develop. a worthwhile cause

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

ask influential folk in the area to take the purpose seriously and support Kat's work

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 2, 2013

more


1 previous review
November 2, 2012

I have done photography sessions at Spirit Acres. Kat gave me the names of all the horses, and dogs, that I photographed. And she knew their names without hesitating. She also gave me the stories b... more

August 2, 2013

Even a blind man could see the love Kat has for the animals at Spirit Acres. I've visited numerous times to take pictures and just visit the animals. Kat is one of the most amazing people I've ever met. She genuinely cares about the animals who are lucky enough to find their way to her sanctuary.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 2, 2012

I have done photography sessions at Spirit Acres. Kat gave me the names of all the horses, and dogs, that I photographed. And she knew their names without hesitating. She also gave me the stories behind each horse, telling the horrors that they had gone through. After taking many pictures, I grabbed a brush and went out into the pasture to groom some of the horses. They were all well fed and appeared to be over coming their mistreatment they had endured before being rescued by Kat. She is doing a tremendous job with the horses and is very careful when placing them in forever homes. Each one holds a special place in her heart, just as she holds a special place in theirs.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 30, 2013

more

July 30, 2013

Spirit Acres is an amazing place of healing and peace. Kat is incredible with the animals and the connection is obvious. I have learned sooooo much from her in the time I have spent there. This is a rescue that deserve help and assistance so it can expand to help more and more horses in need in it's area!!!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 22, 2013

more


1 previous review
November 10, 2011

Words alone cannot express my gratitude for Kat and the work she does with Spirit Acres Farm Equine Rescue and Sanctuary. Kat really goes the extra mile when the need arises. I shall be forever indebt... more

July 22, 2013

I can't say enough good about Kat and Spirit Acres and the good work she and volunteers do in taking care of the animals rescued. Her passion and dedication in caring for needy equines is without question. I think the best way to describe the work Kat and the volunteers do for the equine population is to equate that work to the work Mother Theresa provided for humans. In addition to helping equines that she rescues and/or are donated to Spirit Acres, Kat also provides assistance to individuals and their equines. My little mini donkey, Sam, is alive and well today because Kat cared enough to return my call, listen to my concerns for little Sam, and introduced me to the best veterinarians at Brazos Valley Equine Hospital who saved little Sam's life. I am forever grateful to Kat and the veterinarians and support staff at Brazos Valley Equine Hospital for saving little Sam's life. Had Kat not returned my call and introduced me to the veterinarians at Brazos Valley Equine Hospital little Sam probably would not be with me and his buddy CiCi today. Thank you Kat for all that you do to help both equines and their caregivers.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

No changes

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 10, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

Words alone cannot express my gratitude for Kat and the work she does with Spirit Acres Farm Equine Rescue and Sanctuary. Kat really goes the extra mile when the need arises. I shall be forever indebted to Kat and the veterinarians and staff at Brazos Valley Equine Hospital in Navasota for saving the life of my little miniature donkey, Sam.

Sam and his buddy CiCi are both rescue donkeys who came to share their lives with me, my elderly mare, and her daughter in 2003. Sam and CiCi have been wonderful companions to each of us throughout the years. I don't know who originally rescued Sam and CiCi but I am so glad they did.

Back to my gratitude for Kat. I first met Kat over the phone in December 2008. My little miniature donkey, Sam, was dying and needed immediate medical attention greater than what was available locally. I did not know where to take Sam for the care that he needed. I further knew I did not have the financial resources to take him to the State University Equine Hospital. Sensing the seriousness of the situation Kat reached out to her veterinarians at Brazos Valley Equine Hospital who agreed to see Sam. On the day of Sam's appointment, Kat met me at the hospital. After examination and testing it was determined Sam needed immediate surgery to remove a bladder stone. Brazos Valley worked with me financially and preformed the surgery. Sam and his buddy CiCi stayed at the equine hospital until Sam was ready to come home. Sam had a wonderful recovery and three years later continues to romp and play with his buddy CiCi and bring smiles to everyone who meets them.

By the Grace of God and the caring kindness of Kat and the veterinarians and staff at the Brazos Valley Equine Hospital and their willingness to help, little Sam who had but days to live in December 2008 continues to be a very happy, healthy, little donkey in November 2011.

I will never be able to thank Kat or the veterinarians and staff at the Brazos Valley Equine Hospital enough for saving Sam's precious life.

Since 2008 I have had occasion to visit Spirit Acres Farm Equine Rescue and Sanctuary on different occasions. Words cannot even begin to explain the wonderful work that is being done there by Kat and dedicated volunteers to save the lives of so many horses and donkeys.

As you can see from my story, Kat doesn't limit her assistance just to the equines she personally rescues, but in diverse ways, assists other equines in need.

Spirit Acres Farm Equine Rescue and Sanctuary, like most rescues, needs help to provide for the care, shelter, bedding, hay, grain, veterinary assistance and supplies, farrier, transportation, and other needs. If you can help, through financial assistance, providing feed, services, or volunteering, I am certain you would find your time and money would be well invested.

With Greatest Appreciation
Patricia, Sam, CiCi, and ScooterBelle

Photos

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

How did you learn about this organization?

Through Kim Schotola's animal healing organization, The Lightfoot Way.

December 31, 2012

more

December 31, 2012

Although I have not yet been to the Sanctuary, I have donated money for a couple of years now. Kat and I have developed an online friendship because she always responds when I make a contribution. It takes much time and physical stamina to care for large animals so I've no doubt that the time she spends typing a short note to me could be used out at the barn or in the pasture. Her dedication to all aspects of running the Sanctuary is what impresses me and motivates me to continue contributing funds. I recently had an opportunity to meet her in person, and she is just as kind-hearted in person as I've found her to be with her emails. May Spirit Acres and all of its volunteers be blessed for the valuable service they provide!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help with hands on work . cleaning, grooming assisting others in the daily chores and needs with horses.Preparing the feed needs, helping with the injured and the nwell. Giving time and attention to horses. Repairing and mantenance all over the farm. Mowing and weeding fields. Office Needs a pSpecia;l Person,, event planning and fundraising?? Working with Youth in various needs they have to address, A DD, ADHD, lot of tutorial and support has to be shared. Volunteer