Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
53 Reviews
1234.792455
Write A Review
November 16, 2014

more


1 previous review
March 15, 2011

I discovered Spirit Acres Inc. when I was given "time with horses" as a Christmas present. I've been volunteering there every week for almost 3 months, and have found it one of the most rewarding and... more

November 16, 2014

I first volunteered with Spirit Acres in 2010 when I lived in the Conroe, TX area. I saw first-hand the quality way the horses were cared for. There are few options for unwanted or abused horses in that area, and Spirit Acres is relied heavily upon by law enforcement who rescue abused animals. I now live in Alaska, but continue to support the farm financially because I believe in the work Kat and the volunteers are doing. it's a worthwhile organization doing a great deal to help horses in difficult situations. We need Spirit Acres Farm Equine Rescue and Sanctuary.
March 15, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

I discovered Spirit Acres Inc. when I was given "time with horses" as a Christmas present. I've been volunteering there every week for almost 3 months, and have found it one of the most rewarding and satisfying opportunities that I've ever done.

After talking to me about what kind of
work I most wanted to do with the horses, Kat Matrician, the main leader at Spirit Acres, worked with me to find the right fit for my volunteer work. She's taught me bundles of information about handling horses, has been encouraging about my work, as well as been supportive as I've struggled to balance volunteer work and family responsibilities.

Rescue work requires careful balancing of needs and resources. In every aspect of the work at Spirit Acres, Inc. I see honest and careful work. Money, feed, and other supplies are used wisely and shared as fairly as possible among the horses.

Rescue of abused, hurt or abandoned horses is a surprisingly big need, and not just anyone is capable of doing the job. The work at Spirit Acres fills a big need for law enforcement officials and others in charge of making sure local animals are treated well.

I'm grateful for the friendship and compassion I've seen handed out freely at Spirit Acres, Inc. I highly recommend both monetary donations to the work and volunteer time to help these wonderful horses who need a second chance.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I'm learning hands-on experience on what it takes to care for and nurture a horse (a life-long dream I have yet to fulfill). I'm also helping with the fund-raising aspects of the non-profit work, and learning a lot in that area as well.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Provide them with more donations. Operating on a shoe-string budget is extremely hard, but they keep at the work.

October 31, 2014

more

October 31, 2014

I have been volunteered at Spirit Acres since 2006. There is a variety of different horses that call S.A home. You have the ones that are what would be considered as adoptable, then some that may need some T.L.C , some who are sick and need extra care, and even some who need something as simple as food, or friendship. No matter the needs , Kat makes sure all are met. This is a wonderful place to volunteer, a great place to learn, Kat's always told me theres never a stupid question. Even though this is a horse rescue many of gods other creatures find there way to S.A., and again Kats on the hunt to find homes. Spirit acres is the best place there is, and Kat theres no one like her i swear theres wings under that workshirt.
October 31, 2014

more

October 31, 2014

Spirit acre is the best around. Best I've seen, kathy has nothing but love for all animals.
October 31, 2014

more

October 31, 2014

Many lovely animals there need your help. Good place to adopt.
October 31, 2014

more

October 31, 2014

Spirit acres is one of the best around, you wont find another like it. Kathy is one of a kind,a dyimg breed
October 31, 2014

more

October 31, 2014

I have known Kathy for 29 years. What she does for animals is phenomenal. She puts her animals before friends and family. She is true to the heart about what she does. Spirit acres horse rescue is one of the best around, that I have come in contact with. I have volunteered there when possible for the pasr 27 years.
October 31, 2014

more

October 31, 2014

I started volunteering a couple of weeks ago and I have to say that Kat and everyone else I have met through here have been the nicest people and they truly care about the animals that they help! It is very nice to know that there is people out there who care enough about horses and other animals to do so much! It has been a wonderful time!
October 31, 2014

more

October 31, 2014

I am a fulltime volunteer at Spirit Acers I have been working here since Febuary . Miss Kat has taught me a lot about horses that I didn't know. the horses are well fed and taken care of . If it wasn,t for spirit acers these horses would have died of starvation or abuse by the people that owned them. I enjoy working with Miss Kat in take care of and loving these beautiful animals.
October 1, 2014

more


1 previous review
November 14, 2012

Kat and Spirit Acre Farms is awesome! Abandoned and neglected horses find a loving, caring home there...Kat works extremely hard to help these horses get healthy, put on weight, and find new homes. Ho... more

October 1, 2014

Spirit Acres is a place that offers safe harbor for animals that have been cast off by their owners and in most cases would have been sent to slaughter or put down. The county this rescue is in has a HUGE horse population and only ONE rescue to service the needs of the neglected. It is IMPOSSIBLE for someone to think or say anything other than good things about a place that is trying to help innocent animals who have been cast off by others. These animals needs are met on a daily basis and they are loved by the people there.

Kat is a wonderful person, very knowlegeable and dedicated to these horses.
November 14, 2012

Kat and Spirit Acre Farms is awesome! Abandoned and neglected horses find a loving, caring home there...Kat works extremely hard to help these horses get healthy, put on weight, and find new homes. Horses do so much for us- they deserve our support!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 19, 2013

more

September 19, 2013

Please keep Spirit Acres as your top rated non-profit organization. Spirit Acres is the best rescue there is and the people who volunteer there are amazing. The horses are so gentle and caring, and the rescue is a safe place for animals as well as humans. TIme with the horses, caring for them, tending to their needs, just an awesome experience.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Absolutely nothing.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help in barns and on farm, groom horses, work in office and on projects of many types. Volunteer