Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
53 Reviews
1234.792455
Write A Review
October 1, 2014

more


1 previous review
November 14, 2012

Kat and Spirit Acre Farms is awesome! Abandoned and neglected horses find a loving, caring home there...Kat works extremely hard to help these horses get healthy, put on weight, and find new homes. Ho... more

October 1, 2014

Spirit Acres is a place that offers safe harbor for animals that have been cast off by their owners and in most cases would have been sent to slaughter or put down. The county this rescue is in has a HUGE horse population and only ONE rescue to service the needs of the neglected. It is IMPOSSIBLE for someone to think or say anything other than good things about a place that is trying to help innocent animals who have been cast off by others. These animals needs are met on a daily basis and they are loved by the people there.

Kat is a wonderful person, very knowlegeable and dedicated to these horses.
November 14, 2012

Kat and Spirit Acre Farms is awesome! Abandoned and neglected horses find a loving, caring home there...Kat works extremely hard to help these horses get healthy, put on weight, and find new homes. Horses do so much for us- they deserve our support!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 4, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 4, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Spirit Acres is a place that offers safe harbor for animals that have been cast off by their owners and in most cases would have been sent to slaughter or put down. The county this rescue is in has a HUGE horse population and only ONE rescue to service the needs of the neglected. It is IMPOSSIBLE for someone to think or say anything other than good things about a place that is trying to help innocent animals who have been cast off by others. These animals needs are met on a daily basis and they are loved by the people there.
September 2, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

September 2, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

Kat is a wounderful person for doing more than anyone could expect the horses are fat and happy cared for with love the person that wrote these horrible things must be the guy that wants to take Her land. He lives in front and made it almost impossible for her to get needy horses to her place he should be ashamed and what goes around comes around
August 14, 2014

more


2 previous reviews - show all
August 11, 2013

We have many fond memories of the people we met and our volunteer times at Spirit Acres. We moved many years ago and stay in touch by email and phone as well as continue to support the rescue financi... more

August 14, 2014

We are past volunteers, adopted three horses and are thankful that Kat continues to provide homes to neglected, abused and abandoned horses. She has a great love for horses and not only provides a home for as many of our four legged friends at her place as possible, but also actively works with others who do the same. There are so few like her that provide this valuable service to the animals and community. The need is great and it's tremendous that there are people like Kat in this world to help.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 11, 2013

We have many fond memories of the people we met and our volunteer times at Spirit Acres. We moved many years ago and stay in touch by email and phone as well as continue to support the rescue financially. Despite our distance from Spirit Acres we still feel we are part of the Spirit Acres "family" and share in Kat's efforts to help the many needy and deserving horses in her area. We love watching our adopted horses happily grazing out in the field and remember that they could only be with us now since Kat provided them with a opportunity at Spirit Acres. We have many friends here with a variety of adopted pets and it's great to know that people all over the country, like Kat at Spirit Acres, are helping out in the cause to take care of abandoned and neglected animals.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 18, 2012

My wife and I were volunteers at Spirit Acres for two years. We learned about Kat and her efforts from a friend who invited us out to see the facility. Our "visit" turned into two years of learning, fun, challenges and a new adventure of living and caring for horses. In addition, I was recovering from an illness and found the association with the horses and friends we met at Spirit as very therapeutic. We have since moved with our adopted horses from Spirit Acres who became an integral part of our new home. We have found similar rescues in our new area and are thankful to Kat's efforts and others throughout the country who help out our abandoned and neglected four legged friends. We have also found that many of our friends also adopt abandoned horses, dogs, cats and a menagerie of critters who need new homes. We continue to support financially Kat and similar efforts locally as they count on not only our time, but dollars to keep their efforts going.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 8, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 8, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

The facilities and animals are in poor condition. Many horses are brought in and VERY few Ever leave! She is a horse hoarder, not a rescue. The only reason you would want to help is because the horses are Not taken care of.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Badly

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

Will you recommend this organization to others?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 3, 2014

more

August 3, 2014

It is not what it seems: The 418th District Court Montgomery County TX recorded an Agreed Final Judgment (Cause No. 08-05-05150-CV) Apr. 07, 2010 against Spirit Acres prohibiting it from continuing status quo: https://gov.propertyinfo.com/tx-montgomery/

A bad situation!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Shut it down! Conditions are deplorable

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 18, 2014

more

June 18, 2014

Kat Matrician of Spirit Acres, is a well-kept secret in Montgomery, TX. She keeps up with the rescue and farm that is home to more than 50 horses, a pot belly pig, cats and dogs, that she has rescued over the years. It is her mission to find these animals good homes after she tends to their injuries and abuse that they suffered previously. Kat manages to keep everything going on the farm, but desperately needs more support from the community and horse lovers everywhere.
Please donate a bale of hay or an hour of your time to ensure the safety of these animals.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get the word out for college students, veterinary interns, and at-risk children to enhance their knowledge while providing valuable services to the rescue. It is a win-win opportunity!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 17, 2014

more


1 previous review
July 22, 2013

I have taken pictures of Kats place and critters a few times. The love that she shows for her whinnies shines through. more

June 17, 2014

Spirit Acres is home to 60 horses who, with the efforts of Kat Matrician owner of Spirit Acres and caregiver of her four legged friends, were rescued from homes where they were neglected and/or abused. Some of the owners were going to put their horses down but Kat said "NO!" Her love for the whinnies shines through every day.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get more people to help Kat.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 22, 2013

I have taken pictures of Kats place and critters a few times. The love that she shows for her whinnies shines through.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 19, 2013

more

September 19, 2013

Please keep Spirit Acres as your top rated non-profit organization. Spirit Acres is the best rescue there is and the people who volunteer there are amazing. The horses are so gentle and caring, and the rescue is a safe place for animals as well as humans. TIme with the horses, caring for them, tending to their needs, just an awesome experience.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Absolutely nothing.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 19, 2013

more

September 19, 2013

Finding out about Spirit Acres was the best thing that ever happened to me. Just being on the land around all these horses is beautiful. The large horses and the minis are exquisite animals that get all the love and care they need at the rescue. I highly recommend this non profit to everyone. Just go there and see the beauty for yourself, because you will be amazed.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

NOTHING

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help in barns and on farm, groom horses, work in office and on projects of many types. Volunteer