Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
43 Reviews
1234.744195
| 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
September 19, 2013

more

September 19, 2013

Finding out about Spirit Acres was the best thing that ever happened to me. Just being on the land around all these horses is beautiful. The large horses and the minis are exquisite animals that get all the love and care they need at the rescue. I highly recommend this non profit to everyone. Just go there and see the beauty for yourself, because you will be amazed.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

NOTHING

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 19, 2013

more

September 19, 2013

Spirit Acres is the best horse rescue and sanctuary in Texas and throughout the USA. The horses are very well taken care of, get all the feed, hay, alfalfa and meds they need on a daily basis. The atmosphere is very relaxing, and this allows the horses to be relaxed. I enjoy volunteering there. Spirit Acres ROCKS!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Do nothing. It needs NO changes.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 19, 2013

more

September 19, 2013

Spirit Acres is an amazing place, and is a magical place too. Just being there around the horses and tending to their needs is a wonderful feeling. These horses get love and attention on a daily basis, and are treated like kings and queens as they should be. Sit back and watch the horses trot or gallup throughout the farm is true beauty. Spirit Acres brings these abused and neglected horses back to life again once they come to the rescue. Love, love, love all that Spirit Acres does for these horses.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

do nothing, it is perfect!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 13, 2013

more

August 13, 2013

When I found out about Spirit Acres I went to visit as soon as I could. I can't express how impressed I was with Kat Matrician and her devotion to the horses in her care. She tends to each one as if it was her only horse. She knows every medical issue that they have and she has rescued 50+ horses. I only wish she had the all donations she needs to address everything on her to-do list. And I also wish she had more volunteers to help her carry the load which is a heavy one. She is an example to us all in her love and compassion to these beautiful creatures.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Increase public awareness of the rescue. Kat does the very best she can on limited funds.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 10, 2013

more

August 10, 2013

Kat is one of the most kindhearted, loving, and caring women I have ever met. The horses in her care are truly blessed! The Farm/Sanctuary is the only one of its kind in the surrounding area, and it is of great benefit to horses in need.

I continue to donate financially (in general and in
sponsorship of one of the horses) to this worthy charity because I've seen firsthand the hard work, the great love, the compassion and respect for the horses that is what this farm/sanctuary is about. I cannot say enough good things about Kat and the Farm/Sanctuary and the wonderful work they do. The well-being of the horses is the priority, and Kat works tirelessly to make that happen. Spirit Acres Farm Equine Rescue and Sanctuary would greatly appreciate any support you wish to provide, including volunteers to help care for the horses. Blessings to Kat and the Farm, from another Kat :-)

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

There are no changes I would make to the organization itself; but I would wish to live closer so I could donate my time as well.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 8, 2013

more

August 8, 2013

I only wish I could donate more to this wonderful horse sanctuary. Kat gives her time and love to these horses that have been abused and neglected. Thank God for such a fine person, we could use so many more people like her.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Like for Spirit Farms to be able to expand and help more horses in need.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 2, 2013

more


1 previous review
November 2, 2012

I have done photography sessions at Spirit Acres. Kat gave me the names of all the horses, and dogs, that I photographed. And she knew their names without hesitating. She also gave me the stories b... more

August 2, 2013

Even a blind man could see the love Kat has for the animals at Spirit Acres. I've visited numerous times to take pictures and just visit the animals. Kat is one of the most amazing people I've ever met. She genuinely cares about the animals who are lucky enough to find their way to her sanctuary.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 2, 2012

I have done photography sessions at Spirit Acres. Kat gave me the names of all the horses, and dogs, that I photographed. And she knew their names without hesitating. She also gave me the stories behind each horse, telling the horrors that they had gone through. After taking many pictures, I grabbed a brush and went out into the pasture to groom some of the horses. They were all well fed and appeared to be over coming their mistreatment they had endured before being rescued by Kat. She is doing a tremendous job with the horses and is very careful when placing them in forever homes. Each one holds a special place in her heart, just as she holds a special place in theirs.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 30, 2013

more

July 30, 2013

I've worked at the rescue. Kat is one of the most personable and carring people I've ever met.
I love working there as well, she makes me feel at home, and the connection beteewn her and the animals is more like a momma to her child. I look forward to the next time I can volunteer at the
rescue.
I hope Spirit Acres continues to provide a safe haven for these beautiful, majestic creatures!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get more volunteers

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 30, 2013

more

July 30, 2013

Spirit Acres is an amazing place of healing and peace. Kat is incredible with the animals and the connection is obvious. I have learned sooooo much from her in the time I have spent there. This is a rescue that deserve help and assistance so it can expand to help more and more horses in need in it's area!!!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 22, 2013

more


1 previous review
November 10, 2011

Words alone cannot express my gratitude for Kat and the work she does with Spirit Acres Farm Equine Rescue and Sanctuary. Kat really goes the extra mile when the need arises. I shall be forever indebt... more

July 22, 2013

I can't say enough good about Kat and Spirit Acres and the good work she and volunteers do in taking care of the animals rescued. Her passion and dedication in caring for needy equines is without question. I think the best way to describe the work Kat and the volunteers do for the equine population is to equate that work to the work Mother Theresa provided for humans. In addition to helping equines that she rescues and/or are donated to Spirit Acres, Kat also provides assistance to individuals and their equines. My little mini donkey, Sam, is alive and well today because Kat cared enough to return my call, listen to my concerns for little Sam, and introduced me to the best veterinarians at Brazos Valley Equine Hospital who saved little Sam's life. I am forever grateful to Kat and the veterinarians and support staff at Brazos Valley Equine Hospital for saving little Sam's life. Had Kat not returned my call and introduced me to the veterinarians at Brazos Valley Equine Hospital little Sam probably would not be with me and his buddy CiCi today. Thank you Kat for all that you do to help both equines and their caregivers.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

No changes

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 10, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

Words alone cannot express my gratitude for Kat and the work she does with Spirit Acres Farm Equine Rescue and Sanctuary. Kat really goes the extra mile when the need arises. I shall be forever indebted to Kat and the veterinarians and staff at Brazos Valley Equine Hospital in Navasota for saving the life of my little miniature donkey, Sam.

Sam and his buddy CiCi are both rescue donkeys who came to share their lives with me, my elderly mare, and her daughter in 2003. Sam and CiCi have been wonderful companions to each of us throughout the years. I don't know who originally rescued Sam and CiCi but I am so glad they did.

Back to my gratitude for Kat. I first met Kat over the phone in December 2008. My little miniature donkey, Sam, was dying and needed immediate medical attention greater than what was available locally. I did not know where to take Sam for the care that he needed. I further knew I did not have the financial resources to take him to the State University Equine Hospital. Sensing the seriousness of the situation Kat reached out to her veterinarians at Brazos Valley Equine Hospital who agreed to see Sam. On the day of Sam's appointment, Kat met me at the hospital. After examination and testing it was determined Sam needed immediate surgery to remove a bladder stone. Brazos Valley worked with me financially and preformed the surgery. Sam and his buddy CiCi stayed at the equine hospital until Sam was ready to come home. Sam had a wonderful recovery and three years later continues to romp and play with his buddy CiCi and bring smiles to everyone who meets them.

By the Grace of God and the caring kindness of Kat and the veterinarians and staff at the Brazos Valley Equine Hospital and their willingness to help, little Sam who had but days to live in December 2008 continues to be a very happy, healthy, little donkey in November 2011.

I will never be able to thank Kat or the veterinarians and staff at the Brazos Valley Equine Hospital enough for saving Sam's precious life.

Since 2008 I have had occasion to visit Spirit Acres Farm Equine Rescue and Sanctuary on different occasions. Words cannot even begin to explain the wonderful work that is being done there by Kat and dedicated volunteers to save the lives of so many horses and donkeys.

As you can see from my story, Kat doesn't limit her assistance just to the equines she personally rescues, but in diverse ways, assists other equines in need.

Spirit Acres Farm Equine Rescue and Sanctuary, like most rescues, needs help to provide for the care, shelter, bedding, hay, grain, veterinary assistance and supplies, farrier, transportation, and other needs. If you can help, through financial assistance, providing feed, services, or volunteering, I am certain you would find your time and money would be well invested.

With Greatest Appreciation
Patricia, Sam, CiCi, and ScooterBelle

Photos

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

How did you learn about this organization?

Through Kim Schotola's animal healing organization, The Lightfoot Way.

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help in barns and on farm, groom horses, work in office and on projects of many types. Volunteer