Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
37 Reviews
1234.918925
Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
August 7, 2013

more

August 7, 2013

Kat is a very knowledgeable lady with dedication. The spirit of the horse rescue one to be supported wholeheartedly. needs public donation/ funding to expand and develop. a worthwhile cause

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

ask influential folk in the area to take the purpose seriously and support Kat's work

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 18, 2014

more

June 18, 2014

Kat Matrician of Spirit Acres, is a well-kept secret in Montgomery, TX. She keeps up with the rescue and farm that is home to more than 50 horses, a pot belly pig, cats and dogs, that she has rescued over the years. It is her mission to find these animals good homes after she tends to their injuries and abuse that they suffered previously. Kat manages to keep everything going on the farm, but desperately needs more support from the community and horse lovers everywhere.
Please donate a bale of hay or an hour of your time to ensure the safety of these animals.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get the word out for college students, veterinary interns, and at-risk children to enhance their knowledge while providing valuable services to the rescue. It is a win-win opportunity!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 17, 2014

more


1 previous review
July 22, 2013

I have taken pictures of Kats place and critters a few times. The love that she shows for her whinnies shines through. more

June 17, 2014

Spirit Acres is home to 60 horses who, with the efforts of Kat Matrician owner of Spirit Acres and caregiver of her four legged friends, were rescued from homes where they were neglected and/or abused. Some of the owners were going to put their horses down but Kat said "NO!" Her love for the whinnies shines through every day.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get more people to help Kat.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 22, 2013

I have taken pictures of Kats place and critters a few times. The love that she shows for her whinnies shines through.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 19, 2013

more

September 19, 2013

Please keep Spirit Acres as your top rated non-profit organization. Spirit Acres is the best rescue there is and the people who volunteer there are amazing. The horses are so gentle and caring, and the rescue is a safe place for animals as well as humans. TIme with the horses, caring for them, tending to their needs, just an awesome experience.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Absolutely nothing.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 19, 2013

more

September 19, 2013

Finding out about Spirit Acres was the best thing that ever happened to me. Just being on the land around all these horses is beautiful. The large horses and the minis are exquisite animals that get all the love and care they need at the rescue. I highly recommend this non profit to everyone. Just go there and see the beauty for yourself, because you will be amazed.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

NOTHING

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 19, 2013

more

September 19, 2013

Spirit Acres is the best horse rescue and sanctuary in Texas and throughout the USA. The horses are very well taken care of, get all the feed, hay, alfalfa and meds they need on a daily basis. The atmosphere is very relaxing, and this allows the horses to be relaxed. I enjoy volunteering there. Spirit Acres ROCKS!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Do nothing. It needs NO changes.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 19, 2013

more

September 19, 2013

Spirit Acres is an amazing place, and is a magical place too. Just being there around the horses and tending to their needs is a wonderful feeling. These horses get love and attention on a daily basis, and are treated like kings and queens as they should be. Sit back and watch the horses trot or gallup throughout the farm is true beauty. Spirit Acres brings these abused and neglected horses back to life again once they come to the rescue. Love, love, love all that Spirit Acres does for these horses.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

do nothing, it is perfect!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 13, 2013

more

August 13, 2013

When I found out about Spirit Acres I went to visit as soon as I could. I can't express how impressed I was with Kat Matrician and her devotion to the horses in her care. She tends to each one as if it was her only horse. She knows every medical issue that they have and she has rescued 50+ horses. I only wish she had the all donations she needs to address everything on her to-do list. And I also wish she had more volunteers to help her carry the load which is a heavy one. She is an example to us all in her love and compassion to these beautiful creatures.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Increase public awareness of the rescue. Kat does the very best she can on limited funds.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 11, 2013

more


1 previous review
November 18, 2012

My wife and I were volunteers at Spirit Acres for two years. We learned about Kat and her efforts from a friend who invited us out to see the facility. Our "visit" turned into two years of learning,... more

August 11, 2013

We have many fond memories of the people we met and our volunteer times at Spirit Acres. We moved many years ago and stay in touch by email and phone as well as continue to support the rescue financially. Despite our distance from Spirit Acres we still feel we are part of the Spirit Acres "family" and share in Kat's efforts to help the many needy and deserving horses in her area. We love watching our adopted horses happily grazing out in the field and remember that they could only be with us now since Kat provided them with a opportunity at Spirit Acres. We have many friends here with a variety of adopted pets and it's great to know that people all over the country, like Kat at Spirit Acres, are helping out in the cause to take care of abandoned and neglected animals.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 18, 2012

My wife and I were volunteers at Spirit Acres for two years. We learned about Kat and her efforts from a friend who invited us out to see the facility. Our "visit" turned into two years of learning, fun, challenges and a new adventure of living and caring for horses. In addition, I was recovering from an illness and found the association with the horses and friends we met at Spirit as very therapeutic. We have since moved with our adopted horses from Spirit Acres who became an integral part of our new home. We have found similar rescues in our new area and are thankful to Kat's efforts and others throughout the country who help out our abandoned and neglected four legged friends. We have also found that many of our friends also adopt abandoned horses, dogs, cats and a menagerie of critters who need new homes. We continue to support financially Kat and similar efforts locally as they count on not only our time, but dollars to keep their efforts going.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 10, 2013

more

August 10, 2013

Kat is one of the most kindhearted, loving, and caring women I have ever met. The horses in her care are truly blessed! The Farm/Sanctuary is the only one of its kind in the surrounding area, and it is of great benefit to horses in need.

I continue to donate financially (in general and in
sponsorship of one of the horses) to this worthy charity because I've seen firsthand the hard work, the great love, the compassion and respect for the horses that is what this farm/sanctuary is about. I cannot say enough good things about Kat and the Farm/Sanctuary and the wonderful work they do. The well-being of the horses is the priority, and Kat works tirelessly to make that happen. Spirit Acres Farm Equine Rescue and Sanctuary would greatly appreciate any support you wish to provide, including volunteers to help care for the horses. Blessings to Kat and the Farm, from another Kat :-)

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

There are no changes I would make to the organization itself; but I would wish to live closer so I could donate my time as well.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help with hands on work . cleaning, grooming assisting others in the daily chores and needs with horses.Preparing the feed needs, helping with the injured and the nwell. Giving time and attention to horses. Repairing and mantenance all over the farm. Mowing and weeding fields. Office Needs a pSpecia;l Person,, event planning and fundraising?? Working with Youth in various needs they have to address, A DD, ADHD, lot of tutorial and support has to be shared. Volunteer