Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
53 Reviews
1234.792455
Write A Review
November 16, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
March 15, 2011

I discovered Spirit Acres Inc. when I was given "time with horses" as a Christmas present. I've been volunteering there every week for almost 3 months, and have found it one of the most rewarding and... more

November 16, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

I first volunteered with Spirit Acres in 2010 when I lived in the Conroe, TX area. I saw first-hand the quality way the horses were cared for. There are few options for unwanted or abused horses in that area, and Spirit Acres is relied heavily upon by law enforcement who rescue abused animals. I now live in Alaska, but continue to support the farm financially because I believe in the work Kat and the volunteers are doing. it's a worthwhile organization doing a great deal to help horses in difficult situations. We need Spirit Acres Farm Equine Rescue and Sanctuary.
March 15, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

I discovered Spirit Acres Inc. when I was given "time with horses" as a Christmas present. I've been volunteering there every week for almost 3 months, and have found it one of the most rewarding and satisfying opportunities that I've ever done.

After talking to me about what kind of
work I most wanted to do with the horses, Kat Matrician, the main leader at Spirit Acres, worked with me to find the right fit for my volunteer work. She's taught me bundles of information about handling horses, has been encouraging about my work, as well as been supportive as I've struggled to balance volunteer work and family responsibilities.

Rescue work requires careful balancing of needs and resources. In every aspect of the work at Spirit Acres, Inc. I see honest and careful work. Money, feed, and other supplies are used wisely and shared as fairly as possible among the horses.

Rescue of abused, hurt or abandoned horses is a surprisingly big need, and not just anyone is capable of doing the job. The work at Spirit Acres fills a big need for law enforcement officials and others in charge of making sure local animals are treated well.

I'm grateful for the friendship and compassion I've seen handed out freely at Spirit Acres, Inc. I highly recommend both monetary donations to the work and volunteer time to help these wonderful horses who need a second chance.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I'm learning hands-on experience on what it takes to care for and nurture a horse (a life-long dream I have yet to fulfill). I'm also helping with the fund-raising aspects of the non-profit work, and learning a lot in that area as well.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Provide them with more donations. Operating on a shoe-string budget is extremely hard, but they keep at the work.

November 6, 2014

more


1 previous review
August 10, 2013

Kat is one of the most kindhearted, loving, and caring women I have ever met. The horses in her care are truly blessed! The Farm/Sanctuary is the only one of its kind in the surrounding area, and it i... more

November 6, 2014

I have been and continue to be a donor for Spirit Acres because of the devotion to equine rescue and rehabilitation that Kat and volunteers exhibit. The work they do is vital and important to the equines who are in their care. Donations are always needed, and are greatly appreciated. This is a very worthy non-profit to donate to (whether goods, time, funds or otherwise).
August 10, 2013

Kat is one of the most kindhearted, loving, and caring women I have ever met. The horses in her care are truly blessed! The Farm/Sanctuary is the only one of its kind in the surrounding area, and it is of great benefit to horses in need.

I continue to donate financially (in general and in
sponsorship of one of the horses) to this worthy charity because I've seen firsthand the hard work, the great love, the compassion and respect for the horses that is what this farm/sanctuary is about. I cannot say enough good things about Kat and the Farm/Sanctuary and the wonderful work they do. The well-being of the horses is the priority, and Kat works tirelessly to make that happen. Spirit Acres Farm Equine Rescue and Sanctuary would greatly appreciate any support you wish to provide, including volunteers to help care for the horses. Blessings to Kat and the Farm, from another Kat :-)

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

There are no changes I would make to the organization itself; but I would wish to live closer so I could donate my time as well.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2014

more

October 31, 2014

I have been volunteered at Spirit Acres since 2006. There is a variety of different horses that call S.A home. You have the ones that are what would be considered as adoptable, then some that may need some T.L.C , some who are sick and need extra care, and even some who need something as simple as food, or friendship. No matter the needs , Kat makes sure all are met. This is a wonderful place to volunteer, a great place to learn, Kat's always told me theres never a stupid question. Even though this is a horse rescue many of gods other creatures find there way to S.A., and again Kats on the hunt to find homes. Spirit acres is the best place there is, and Kat theres no one like her i swear theres wings under that workshirt.
October 31, 2014

more

October 31, 2014

Spirit acre is the best around. Best I've seen, kathy has nothing but love for all animals.
October 31, 2014

more

October 31, 2014

Many lovely animals there need your help. Good place to adopt.
October 31, 2014

more

October 31, 2014

Spirit acres is one of the best around, you wont find another like it. Kathy is one of a kind,a dyimg breed
October 31, 2014

more

October 31, 2014

I have known Kathy for 29 years. What she does for animals is phenomenal. She puts her animals before friends and family. She is true to the heart about what she does. Spirit acres horse rescue is one of the best around, that I have come in contact with. I have volunteered there when possible for the pasr 27 years.
October 31, 2014

more

October 31, 2014

I started volunteering a couple of weeks ago and I have to say that Kat and everyone else I have met through here have been the nicest people and they truly care about the animals that they help! It is very nice to know that there is people out there who care enough about horses and other animals to do so much! It has been a wonderful time!
October 31, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 31, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I first met Kat at the Arabian Nationals in 1998 and have kept up with her and her endeavors ever since. Her dedication to the horse is not only an inspiration to me but I greatly admire her dedication to the rescue cause as well. She consistently puts the welfare of the animal even over her own well being and greatly involves the community with outreaches and volunteer opportunities. I truly would have a hard time envisioning a world without either Spirit Acres Farm or Kat! A few years ago, we rescued a horse which literally consumed our lives until she was turned around physically as well as emotionally. To do it on a larger scale definitely takes a wonderful woman with a compassionate vision. Spirit Acres Farm definitely has my vote.
October 31, 2014

more

October 31, 2014

I am a fulltime volunteer at Spirit Acers I have been working here since Febuary . Miss Kat has taught me a lot about horses that I didn't know. the horses are well fed and taken care of . If it wasn,t for spirit acers these horses would have died of starvation or abuse by the people that owned them. I enjoy working with Miss Kat in take care of and loving these beautiful animals.
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help in barns and on farm, groom horses, work in office and on projects of many types. Volunteer