Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
19 Reviews
12345
| 1 2 | Next
Write A Review
November 12, 2012

more

November 12, 2012

Our daughter has just finished her first fall tennis sessions. She absolutely enjoyed this experience. Her comments were that she felt accepted and the instructors were really nice and fun. Thank you for offering this great opportunity to her. She has found a group that has encouraged her to feel great about excercise and about her abilities!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 12, 2012

more

November 12, 2012

Awesome organization. I have been fortunate to be allowed to be a volunteer for this organization in some form or another for over 12 years. From a first time helper, to a ball person, umpire, sponsor, unified partner, and a coach. As long as I am able I will continue to give my time, money and heart to be around this great group of volunteers, and athletes. I've had, family members, friends and teammates volunter also. You get so much more back than you give. Keep up the great work!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 12, 2012

more

November 12, 2012

My daughter has been fortunate to participate in Special Pops Tennis. Sharing their passion for tennis - the volunteers who work with the athletes have provided a "bridge" the helps children and adults with disabilities connect with each other as well as make friends in the community. All ability levels are encouraged - everyone feels successful. My daughter has autism - and participating in Special Pops Tennis has been the best experience of her life. She has made friends - an enormous accomplishment for her!! Her world has been "expanded" - she has played in tournaments here in Atlanta as well as in South Carolina, Virginia, Texas, Massachusetts, Alabama - and she has made friends in all those places!! My husband and I take great pleasure in watching all the athletes and help in any way that we can.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 12, 2012

more

November 12, 2012

As a mom of an athlete and a site manger, I just want to say thank you for both sides of the coin. Thank you for the patience with my daughter. It took her 5 years to make to Fall Tournament - 2012. Thank you also for allowing me to be a part of the "greatest" organization (i.e. family) in the world. Planning and execution of competition can be difficult but we pull it off each tme. Kudos to Jim, Jeanie, Paula, Martha, Vicki, Bill and the rest of the Special Pops Tennis organization. EMitchell

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 12, 2012

more

November 12, 2012

I had heard several good things about Special Pops Tennis through a few tennis team mates of mine that volunteer. I have been wanting to share my love for tennis, so I thought Special Pops would be a good place to start. The night after my first volunteer practice, I called my team mate to let her know what a fun and rewarding time I had just had. Since then, I look forward to the weekly practice and seeing all the athletes come with smiles on their faces. Special Pops Tennis is an amazing organization teaching many adults and children to enjoy tennis. The energy, the postitive attitudes, the organization of the practices and tournaments, and especially the group of board members that run this have very much impressed me. I am so happy to be a part of this organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 12, 2012

more

November 12, 2012

I have worked as an umpire, coach during practice sessions, unified partner and chaperone and every time I see the happiness on the athletes face, it reminds me of how great of an organization Special Pops truly is. It provides the athletes with an opportunity to get out, get some excercise, spend time with others and enjoy a sport that is something they can enjoy for years to come. I am so happy to of gotten involved and look forward to future opportunities to spend time with Special Pops.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 12, 2012

more

November 12, 2012

I remember my first session as a volunteer site coordinator. I had a few athletes attend. One of these athletes was a young girl that has down syndrome. Her mom indicated that she did not think her daughter would be able to hit the ball but that she had heard about the program and wanted to try. I informed her that with the appropriate equipment and modifications that she would likely be hitting by the end of the session. This little girl's dad is a tennis player as well. SO, by the end of the session, sure enough, she was able to hit a tennis ball- several tennis balls. The first thing she said to her mom when she got off of the court was- "now I can go play tennis with daddy." I teared up with great tears of happiness. What a great day that was. Now we have well over 30 athletes that come to this site.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 8, 2012

more

November 8, 2012

Special Pops is an outstanding organization. It provides an adaptive tennis program and opportunities for those people with intellectual disabilities. The athletes have a chance to compete with their peers in a safe and fun atmosphere. We love Special Pops!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 7, 2012

more

November 7, 2012

Enriching the lives of children and adults with intellectual disabilities through the lifetime sport of tennis is the mission of Atlanta, GA-based nonprofit Special Populations Tennis Program, Inc. (“Special Pops Tennis”). A 501 (c)(3) organization formed in 2005 by a group of tennis enthusiasts with a passion for giving back, this group provides an adaptive tennis program that takes people with intellectual disabilities from beginner to tournament level players. Their motto is “The game we teach is tennis, but the lessons learned are real life.” Through teaching and competitive play, social interaction and education, volunteers serve as coaches, partners, umpires, chaperones and mentors, striving to build not only tennis skills, but also life skills. Programs include weekly tennis instruction, nutrition education, USTA-sanctioned league play, and match-play competition. A tennis player for years, I have been involved with this group since it began. When I retired, it became my full time “job” and I can honestly say that it is the most fun and rewarding tennis experience that I have had. I receive far more than I give every time I step on the court with these special players.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers