Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
44 Reviews
1234.818185
Previous | Next
Write A Review
October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

Last year, our fourth close friend headed to Afghanistan for the first time, while another returned for his third tour of duty. Our teens wanted to help, in addition to standing by their friends, the men's children. Researching on charity watchdog Charity Navigator, they found the top rated Special Operations Warrior Foundation, & chose to have our family join them as donors in honor of a young man from their high school, Heath Robinson, a Seal who died in battle, leaving a young family behind.

SOWF spends shockingly little on administration & are rightly recognized as being in the top 1% of all organizations reviewed by Charity Navigator. They provide 3 critical services. 1) Seriously wounded Special Ops members - from any branch of the military - can have their family by their side when they are hospitalized out of country. 2) The children of Spec Ops soldiers killed protecting us will have scholarships for higher education. 3) That the surviving spouse & children will have a supportive community after the loss of husband & father (& with that the additional loss of the military community that had been home).

My daughter said, "These families exhibit character & commitment that we say we want to see in Americans, it is important that we say to them, 'We've got your backs."

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Increase their visibility via no cost media to a public seeking an honorable, reliable & effective means to support members of the military & their families. (Some of the most visible charities for supporting wounded warriors spend a high percentage of their donations on administration rather than service.)

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

Many of the children of my fallen comrades, from Desert One through the ongoing Global War on Terror, have been given scholarships through this wonderful, caring foundation. As a former Special Operator with five children, it was always comforting to know that, if something happened to me, my children would be counseled and educated, even in the absence of my spouse. This was a huge load off the shoulders of we who were sent into harm's way, often at great risk. It gave us one less big thing to worry about. One of my close friends was killed in Somalia, leaving three little girls behind. The SOWF has seen to the education of all of them - one of whom, now a school teacher, is married to the son of another fallen teammate who was killed in the Gulf War (the son is now an Army helicopter pilot.) The superb staff and leadership of the SOWF responds immediately to the news of any SOF member who is severely wounded or killed in the line of duty. Hundreds of children have been counseled when needed, and awarded full college scholarships through the SOWF, making them productive citizens. No child of a Special Operations Forces member who has been killed has been allowed to "fall through the cracks."

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

export its effectiveness and efficiency to ALL of our armed forces, by having Congress and the Defense Department follow the example of the way in which the Special Operations Warrior Foundation operates and cares for the children of our fallen warriors.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 28, 2013

more

October 28, 2013

I have been giving to this Nonprofit for years. It was established by a commander of an old unit I served in when I served the Special Operation Community. They take less then 5% in overhead, what you donate helps the family's of fallen warriors. Many young people have attended college due to this operation! I have received letters of thanks every time I donate and on a few occasions they have sent me a magazine highlighting the family's that have been helped and where the money actually goes. The operation is smartly run and even allows you to pay for the credit card/debit processing fees when you donate if you wish to help their bottom line and send more to the intended recipients! Last I heard over 200 children had graduated college with assistance since this fund was established! Thousands have been helped and they also assist families get to Bethesda to care for wounded warriors as well. Great outfit all around. I recommend you visit http://www.specialops.org/ their homepage and learn more. If I recall correctly many folks donate their time and are not paid. These guys and gals show what TRUE charity is about!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I only wish they could advertise more, but they spend money wisely and are a true non-profit!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 28, 2013

more

October 28, 2013

I first learned of SOWF when I read Michael Durant's book about the Battle of Mogadishu (aka Black Hawk Down), where he mentioned them. I did my research and found that they were a top-rated charity with the vast majority of donations going to the children of fallen Special Operators in the form of college scholarships. Over the years I've seen a bunch of kids whose fathers were killed in Mogadishu being given the opportunity to attend university through scholarships granted by SOWF and every one was very grateful for it. This is a very well run organization and the publications they issue to donors once or twice a year are very well done and let donors see first hand the children that are being helped, along with some background on their fallen parent. Our Special Forces have been very active in Iraq, Afghanistan, and elsewhere in the world and the families of those who have given their lives in the service of our country deserve our support. SOWF is the best charity I know of that helps these families.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 28, 2013

more

October 28, 2013

I have been donating to this organization since it's founding and will continue to support SOWF.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 28, 2013

more

October 28, 2013

We have men and women who die for us. The least we can do is help their children. This foundation gives each child of a special operations personnel who is killed in the line of duty a scholarship for college - and the family gets educational and financial counseling. I am always feel good when I send a check because I know there is very little overhead and the survivors are truly receiving the money.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 28, 2013

more

October 28, 2013

As a 9/11 first responder , I feel the debt we owe the amazing men and women who righted the wrong is immeasurable . The SOWF helps the families of those who have fallen to keep us safe . I cannot thank them enough for the amazing help they give these wonderful families .

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None necessary

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 30, 2013

more

January 30, 2013

I was recently at a fundraising event for the SOWF and I am so happy that I was able to learn about this wonderful organization. One of the college scholarship recipients talked about how the foundation changed her life -- not only from the college tuition -- but by having the staff become part of her extended family. She received frequent phone calls inviting her and her mother to upcoming events, and receiving birthday cards (which she kept every card she has received). There was not a dry eye in the room as she described how she lost her father, but gained another kind of family member.

It was easy to see the impact of this foundation's good work. I was also impressed by the fact that it is so well-run. Charity Navigator rated them as a four-star charity because of their financial efficiency. That is very important as well. Thank goodness there are organizations like SOWF to take care of the families of fallen heroes.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 11, 2012

When I donate to a charity I do not want a gift in return. I know Special Operations Warrior Foundation is a fiscal responsible charity, maybe small by many standards but very efficient. Thank you!!!

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers