Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
45 Reviews
1234.822225
Write A Review
October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

I personally was injured in combat in Oct of 2009, the SOWF was the first entities to come to my families side and help in numerous ways that we can honestly never repay. It is truly an honor to be helped and to help write this review for the SOWF. My wife and I in our time of need, especially when I was not supposed to make it through, can't thank them enough. They were able to make things happen that only a truly capable non-profit can only do and that others could not. They come to the aid of so many of my brothers and sisters in arms, and continue to do so every minute! Again, it's thanks to an organization like the SOWF that I can be happy and here today with my family. I truly believe that the SOWF is so strong and capable, because it was founded and run by people who know the standard in special operations, which is "Always exceed the standard, meeting the standard is not good enough, lives depend on it." Thank you again SOWF, my family and I are eternally thankful!

Respectfully,

TSgt Robert Gutierrez Jr
Combat Controller

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 29, 2013

more

October 29, 2013

I learned about this organization after learning about and meeting Keni Thomas who served as a Task Force Ranger in the Battle of Mogadishu, Somalia in 1993. This is a wonderful organization that cares for the families of our fallen soldiers. Many of the children would never have the chance to go to college without the hard work and dedication of these outstanding people. There are many things this organization does and I know God blesses them all each and every day.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

There is not 1 thing that I would change! They give their all every single day!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 28, 2013

more

October 28, 2013

I just found out about this organization through my nephew who is an Army Ranger. It is incredible that there are organizations like this that take care of the families of the men and women killed in service to our country. Then I saw the movie, Captain Philipps" and was stunned by what those Navy SEALs can do. Thank God for foundations like SOWF.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 28, 2013

more

October 28, 2013

This organization helps the children of fallen Special Operations Military by sending them to college. They depend on volunteerism. I understand 100% of donations go to this cause.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get famous public figures to volunteer to help spread the word for them.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 28, 2013

more

October 28, 2013

This charity provides substantial scholarships to the children of the fallen special operations community. They also stepped up during the recent Government shut down to provide funeral expenses for fallen soldiers since the Death Benefits were not being paid out to families. A Charity where you see the money goes to those in need.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 29, 2013

more

January 29, 2013

I have been researching which "Warrior" charity to contribute to.

I also am appalled at the CEO and Director salaries in six figures for the CEO and Director of the Special Operations Warrior Foundation. I am surprised at your high rating given to this charity and they feature
an
administrative overhead of 5 per cent on their front page.

An Admiral on the board of directors has hired his daughter to work there as a Business Relations Manager and this is not nepotism and therefore not also misuse of funds?

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 6, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 6, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I cannot support charities whose CEO or Executive Director is making a 6 figure salary. I am appalled with the fact that the CEO of this charity is being paid over $200,000.00 a year and they have another director at over $100,000.00. I would far rather that my hard earned money to towards benefiting a service person, not lining the pockets of some executive. Shame on you.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Fire the board.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

How did you learn about this organization?

We are researching organizations to find a charity to donate a portion of our profits to. We are a small startup and are owned by a disabled veteran and want to give back, we just don't want our money going to pay an overpaid exec.

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers