Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
44 Reviews
1234.818185
Previous | Next
Write A Review
October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

I am a supporter of this organization for the good works they do. Special Operators do the tpooughest jobs in the toughest places and do not talk about their work. They are the "Quiet Professionals". The SOWF helps to take care of families of these folks and adds to our credo of never leaving a man behind.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

SOWF goes above and beyond to take care of each and every recipient. I believe their efforts far exceed their mission/vision and they continue to change lives in a paramount way.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Expand their mission to spread their already-great service and efforts.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

I've been involved with many charitable organizations over the course of my professional career and SOWF stands out in its commitment to the population it serves. With its small staff working closely together they have been able to swiftly act to meet the ever changing needs of their families. As a nonprofit they excel at their work while keeping overhead expenses to a minimum. Well deserved 5 star rating.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 28, 2013

more

October 28, 2013

I am a Veteran active in many charities, always searching to support only the best.SOWF performs their mission every day for over thirty years second to none. They take care of needs in an efficient and timely matter that nobody else does. We never leave anyone behind and these folks live that. Major (ret) Terry Sheehan louisvillesheehan@yahoo.com for any questions.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I wish they had more money to advertise their mission and raise even more money as the need is mind blowing. The Federal government cannot possibly handle the needs of these young warriors and their families, especially in the case when a soldier never comes home.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 16, 2012

more

October 16, 2012

This charity is lean, with a single office and a staff of 11. Yet it manages to provide substantial monetary and emotional support to our nation's special operations forces deployed around the world; and their families. They ensure the children of fallen spec ops personnel receive funds for college and for living expenses while they are in school, so students can focus strictly on college or vocational/technical school. We have a 98% graduation rate among our scholarship recipients, in part because of the expenses being covered and in part because many of these kids who have lost a parent, learn at a young age that the scholarship will be there for them in the future. It's a guarantee. The foundation's relationship with the surviving spouse and children begins shortly after their special operator is lost in operations or training, Kids receive birthday cards and Christmas cards; outings are organized for the kids and retreats for the spouses. Academic and grief counseling are also readily available. For the wounded, the SOWF sends $3k overnight cash grants to the families of hospitalized SOF personnel so their loved ones can get to their bedsides right away. It's a great cause, the personnel and the families are so appreciative, and 95 cents of each dollar donated goes directly to these programs. That speaks volumes.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 15, 2012

more

October 15, 2012

SOWF is simply one of the FINEST charity organizations I have ever worked with. I have known numerous kids that were helped by their organization. I couldn't ask for them to be any better.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What is unique about this organization?

It has such great long term benefits. Nothing can ever replace a parent but setting these kids up for success in life is paramount. I can't think of a better way to thank America's greatest warriors that gave all than to take care of their families.

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers