Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
45 Reviews
1234.822225
Write A Review
October 31, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 31, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I lost my father in Afghanistan back in 2003 when I was just 10 years old. Special Ops has taken care of me 100% by paying for my college. They have gone above and beyond just paying for my college by providing me with gifts and genuine empathy. I couldn't of gone to college without this organization helping me and now I am in my fourth year :)

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

The Special Operations Warrior Foundation changed my life.
Along with it making it financially possible for me to go to college... All of the people involved have been like a second family to me!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

With out this foundation I would not of been able to attend college they have been like a second family to me and my family.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Do nothing it is an amazing organization

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

My son's father SFC Michael j. Tully was killed in Iraq. The SOWF has been by my side supporting us in every way they possibly can. My son, now graduated from high school is attending college in PA, enrolled in the engineering program, thanks to the SOWF we have had no out of pocket expenses, and he was able to go on to college. They check on my son's needs and keep in contact with our family to help in any way needed. Our deepest thanks goes out to this extraordinary organization!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Wouldn't change a thing

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

The SOWF provided me with an education that has lead me to the career I currently have without worrying about student loans. After my father was killed in a training accident in 1994, my mother became a single parent to two daughters. Having the security, compassion, and support of the SOWF my sister and I were able to carry out our futures the way our father would have wanted as well as taking a burden off our mother. My family and I could not be more grateful!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2013

more

October 29, 2013

I do not have the words to express the gratitude I have for everyone that is involved with SOWF. My kids have a group of peers just like them. It may not sound like much but it is the world to them. It is hard losing your father and not having people understand what you are going through. The WOLF camp made my kids feel less like outsiders and gave them something I could not give them, friends that under stand. On top of the friends the camp offered life skills that will help them with their future. Everyone at SOWF is there for the kids and to me that is the best that you can get. They are always looking for way to help my kids weather it is help to get to college or just a home computer. I am so grateful to them and everything that they do!!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing!! They are the best at what they do.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2013

more

October 29, 2013

I was wounded in a helicopter crash while overseas. The SOWF stepped in and provided funding for my family when the military didn't pay me, due to an issue with orders. I will always be grateful to this organization for everything that they did for me.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 29, 2013

more

October 29, 2013

I lost my son Staff SGT. Joseph Curreri ODA 155 on October 26, 2007. I was clearly devastated and had no idea how to go on with my life. My son wanted to become a US HIstory professor and teach the next generation about our great country. My family and I decided to start a scholarship in his name that would benefit Special Operations Warrior Foundation, an organization Joe knew abut and believed in. I am a college counselor and I support the work SOWF does so well. Little did we know that Special Operations staff would consider us family. They have helped us through the grief and healing process every step of the way. Whenever I feel down, I know I can call on anyone in their office and find comfort. I love the work they do for children who want to go to college but have lost a Special Operations parent in training or combat. My family and I try to sponsor fundraisers each year to keep the scholarship going-each year Special Operations staff tries to attend our events to support us. This organization is so professional and helps so many people, especially the children of the fallen; their outreach is invaluable!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

cannot think of any

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 28, 2013

more

October 28, 2013

The Special Operations Warrior Foundation has been a part of my family since November 2000. At that time, they essentially wrapped their arms around my family after a tragic loss, and they have been around every since then. In the past few years, the SOWF has become an even greater part of our lives as my daughter comes closer to graduation from high school and entrance into college. This summer we were able to meet the members of the SOWF while in Tampa and we were very impressed with the professional but family oriented group of people working there. They have been and remain focused on my daughter's future, almost, if not more than I am! This is a wonderful organization that deserves the highest if honors for their service, sacrifice, and commitment to the children of our fallen warriors!
Anita Hollis

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 28, 2013

more

October 28, 2013

I have worked with SOWF to assist and meet the needs of Special Operations Families for a few years. Recently, I found out after the fact that SOWF stepped up to assist my family in the most gracious of ways during our difficult time. SOWF often does this in both small and significant ways and mostly under the radar and without alot of publicity. During the gov't shutdown where our political leaders failed to prepare accordingly for the families of our fallen, it was the SOWF who stepped up before other organizations to ensure families were taken care of and it was not a loan but a grant/gift. Again, they did not get all the news coverage that other organizations received. Bless this phenomenal organization and those who supporting them.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

more publicity

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers