Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
44 Reviews
1234.818185
Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review
October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

I lost my father in Afghanistan back in 2003 when I was just 10 years old. Special Ops has taken care of me 100% by paying for my college. They have gone above and beyond just paying for my college by providing me with gifts and genuine empathy. I couldn't of gone to college without this organization helping me and now I am in my fourth year :)

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

I had a very close friend and teammate back in the early part of my military life that was KIA. His family had this organization to lean on with their loss. I know the past leadership was great and look forward to the future teams commitment to the same. I have been in several of SOWF events and hope to do more. I have also meet several of the board members and they have the same blessing to help others. Steve McCleary is as good as they come and hope he will stay as long as he can. All the people involved that I have met are very professional. Greg Hataway

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

I personally was injured in combat in Oct of 2009, the SOWF was the first entities to come to my families side and help in numerous ways that we can honestly never repay. It is truly an honor to be helped and to help write this review for the SOWF. My wife and I in our time of need, especially when I was not supposed to make it through, can't thank them enough. They were able to make things happen that only a truly capable non-profit can only do and that others could not. They come to the aid of so many of my brothers and sisters in arms, and continue to do so every minute! Again, it's thanks to an organization like the SOWF that I can be happy and here today with my family. I truly believe that the SOWF is so strong and capable, because it was founded and run by people who know the standard in special operations, which is "Always exceed the standard, meeting the standard is not good enough, lives depend on it." Thank you again SOWF, my family and I are eternally thankful!

Respectfully,

TSgt Robert Gutierrez Jr
Combat Controller

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

I am a supporter of this organization for the good works they do. Special Operators do the tpooughest jobs in the toughest places and do not talk about their work. They are the "Quiet Professionals". The SOWF helps to take care of families of these folks and adds to our credo of never leaving a man behind.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

Being involved with the Special Operations Warrior Foundation for the ten years I have has been one of the most rewarding experiences I have known. They are consummate professionals and have graciously supported or efforts through out. You would be hard pressed to find a better run organization and all with extremely low overhead, just as a charity should operate. Their dedication to providing support to the children of Americas fallen Special Operations Personnel is commendable and without compare. Knowing that support is in place for the men and women down range as they put their lives in harms way doing very complicated jobs protecting our Country...well it is difficult to find words for that. I'll start with these, Thank you!
Lance Hollars

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

Last year, our fourth close friend headed to Afghanistan for the first time, while another returned for his third tour of duty. Our teens wanted to help, in addition to standing by their friends, the men's children. Researching on charity watchdog Charity Navigator, they found the top rated Special Operations Warrior Foundation, & chose to have our family join them as donors in honor of a young man from their high school, Heath Robinson, a Seal who died in battle, leaving a young family behind.

SOWF spends shockingly little on administration & are rightly recognized as being in the top 1% of all organizations reviewed by Charity Navigator. They provide 3 critical services. 1) Seriously wounded Special Ops members - from any branch of the military - can have their family by their side when they are hospitalized out of country. 2) The children of Spec Ops soldiers killed protecting us will have scholarships for higher education. 3) That the surviving spouse & children will have a supportive community after the loss of husband & father (& with that the additional loss of the military community that had been home).

My daughter said, "These families exhibit character & commitment that we say we want to see in Americans, it is important that we say to them, 'We've got your backs."

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Increase their visibility via no cost media to a public seeking an honorable, reliable & effective means to support members of the military & their families. (Some of the most visible charities for supporting wounded warriors spend a high percentage of their donations on administration rather than service.)

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

The Special Operations Warrior Foundation changed my life.
Along with it making it financially possible for me to go to college... All of the people involved have been like a second family to me!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

I have volunteered with this group many times and the leadership is amazing. This group helps out so many people of fallen military members and they don't waste a dime. Special Operations is a family on and off-duty, both in life and in death. They never forget who has sacrificed for the country and do what they can to help those people and families out.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

With out this foundation I would not of been able to attend college they have been like a second family to me and my family.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Do nothing it is an amazing organization

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

Many of the children of my fallen comrades, from Desert One through the ongoing Global War on Terror, have been given scholarships through this wonderful, caring foundation. As a former Special Operator with five children, it was always comforting to know that, if something happened to me, my children would be counseled and educated, even in the absence of my spouse. This was a huge load off the shoulders of we who were sent into harm's way, often at great risk. It gave us one less big thing to worry about. One of my close friends was killed in Somalia, leaving three little girls behind. The SOWF has seen to the education of all of them - one of whom, now a school teacher, is married to the son of another fallen teammate who was killed in the Gulf War (the son is now an Army helicopter pilot.) The superb staff and leadership of the SOWF responds immediately to the news of any SOF member who is severely wounded or killed in the line of duty. Hundreds of children have been counseled when needed, and awarded full college scholarships through the SOWF, making them productive citizens. No child of a Special Operations Forces member who has been killed has been allowed to "fall through the cracks."

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

export its effectiveness and efficiency to ALL of our armed forces, by having Congress and the Defense Department follow the example of the way in which the Special Operations Warrior Foundation operates and cares for the children of our fallen warriors.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers