Over 1.8 million nonprofits and charities for donors, volunteers and funders

Claim This Nonprofit

More Info

Add to Favorites

Share this Nonprofit

Donate

Nonprofit Overview

Causes: Animal Protection & Welfare, Animal Services, Animals

Mission: Our goal with www.specialhorses.org is to provide fundraising opportunities, marketing assistance, educational opportunities, and community outreach for registered 501(c)3 not-for-profit groups involved with equine rescue, rehabilitation, retirement, therapeutic riding and hippotherapy.

Programs: The Special Horses, Inc. Emergency Fund is a program developed to to help non-profit equine rescues be better prepared when faced with natural disasters or in cases of extreme need.  Our goal is to have one equine sling available in each state along with full kits of emergency supplies that will be stored with participating Veterinarians.  Through our network, when a group is in need, they can contact us or the veterinarian in their state and borrow the sling or an emergency kit at no charge to them.

Community Stories

11 Stories from Volunteers, Donors & Supporters

Stephanie265

Donor

Rating: 5

From what I have seen with the posts on Facebook I can tell that this organization is a very loving, carrying and would go out of it's way to save and protect these loving horses and I am so happy and blessed to be invited and part of this group. I truly love all animals and I am happy that there is an organization that feels the exact same way.

Pat_81

Donor

Rating: 5

Honest, dedicated and supportive of horses rescues! I have donated numerous art works to help with their mission to supply funds to needy horse rescue groups. I trust them completely to make certain the monies go to the group and not a scam.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

Special Horses 09/02/2016

Pat, thank you so much. Our goal is to be as financially transparent as possible! We also thank you for your generosity!

June E.

Donor

Rating: 5

Excellent and the money really goes to the horse rescues. Thank you Special Horses!

Comments ( 1 )

profile

Special Horses 05/06/2016

Thank you, June! And yes, we are committed to financial transparency!

Nina E.

Donor

Rating: 5

I own a rescued OTTB and I have an affinity to help horses - especially those who have come from circumstances similar to my mare. I appreciate Special Horses as they serve multiple charitable organizations for horses in need/at risk. This makes it easier for the donor to help while knowing that the money is going where it is most needed. I also appreciate the auction format that Special Horses so successfully uses as it makes it possible for me to donate an item of value when I may not be able to make a similar monetary contribution. I have also won items from the auction(s) and I have always been pleased with my purchase and the fact that I helped fund the needs of another equine. Special Horses has social media presence, and uses it to bring awareness to all the issues that horses at risk may have, including emergency situations, where funds may need to be raised quickly. As a seller on eBay, I am able to donate a percentage of the cost of items that I sell - to Special Horses - I like having this option as a donor, too! If I could afford to adopt a second rescue horse, I would be more likely to consider the equines of the organizations that Special Horses assists.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

Special Horses 05/06/2016

NIna, thank you, and thank you for all your generous help as well!

Previous Stories
2

Donor

Rating: 5

The non-profit organizations - that Special Horses, LLC, embraces, promotes and financially supports - are dear to my heart. The experience has always been positive and FUN; I know the money goes where its supposed to go. I know that it helps. And, in my travels, I seek out items that I feel may be attractive as donations for future auctions. It is my way of giving back to the horses that have given us so much and now are in need. I do it for my mare (a rescued thoroughbred), and all her friends who are not so fortunate and who may be at risk. It's a noble cause.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

Special Horses 04/07/2016

We are so grateful for your generosity in helping Special Horses help so many equines in need!

hopelavender

Donor

Rating: 5

I have worked with Special Horses fundraising for a large horse seizure in Virginia. We fund raised for hay for the rescues that took in the starved, neglected horses.
With the help of the donors and some that offered products whose purchase went to the funding needed;we were able to donate money for much needed hay for the care of the horses from this large seizure. Special Horses is great to work with; and committed to their cause. Easy to deal with and open and up front. I would recommend this organization without hesitation

Comments ( 1 )

profile

Special Horses 04/07/2016

We are grateful to have such wonderful assistance to enable us to reach out to more equine rescues, especially in situations of such dire need.

1 Ginny O.

Donor

Rating: 5

Honest, dedicated and supportive of horses and rescues in need!

Comments ( 1 )

profile

Special Horses 04/07/2016

Thank you so much, Ginny!

2 Plpl

Donor

Rating: 5

Special Horses raises money for equines in need. This non profit is a Champion for horses.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

Special Horses 04/07/2016

Thank you so much!

3 Holly72

Donor

Rating: 5

Special Horses and it's founder, Wendi Neckameyer are extremely dedicated to saving horses. When Special Horses aren't fundraising, they are networking the horses who are in need of homes, donations, and gathering signatures for petitions to change the laws regarding horse welfare. This foundation can always be counted on for the latest horse news and provides addresses for each state's representative. This is a fantastic foundation for horses, and follows all the rules pertaining to being a 501c3. Special Horses, in my opinion, is one of the most conscientiously run foundations I have been involved with.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

Special Horses 04/07/2016

We are grateful and honored by your comments!

2

Donor

Rating: 5

Special Horses does great work. I can donate to them and be assured that they have verified that the various organizations they support are legitimate 501-c-3 operations, and that my donations are not wasted on providing an income for the fund-raisers rather than going to the organizations and equines in need.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

Special Horses 04/07/2016

Thank you so much for the comments!

4 Pamela100

Donor

Rating: 5

I donate and participate in the Special Horses fundraisers. They do great work raising money for equine rescues, retirement, rehab and rehoming at-risk equine. I have never had a problem with any of my donations and all dealings have always confirmed me of their commitment to the equine and their honesty in dealing with all issues especially their fundraisers. I will continue to be one of their donors as I can.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

Special Horses 04/07/2016

Thank you so much for your continued support!