Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
214 Reviews
1234.89725
Previous | 1 2 3...8 |
Write A Review
March 17, 2013

more

March 17, 2013

I enrolled in the Speakeasy Storytelling 101 class because I wanted to learn how to better tell my story. Stephanie and Kevin did an amazing job of coaching our class of 12 to storytelling fame! The time they spent with each of us offering feedback and recommendations to continually improve our stories was incredibly valuable and in the end, I was able to go on stage and tell my story to a packed house. I now understand the true art of storytelling and am a better storyteller thanks to this class. I would recommend this to anyone who desires to improve their presentation and storytelling skills.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 3, 2012

more

December 3, 2012

Speakeasy DC was contracted by the National Assembly of State Arts Agencies to design and deliver a four hour session for 50 state arts agency arts education managers as part of the 2012 Professional Development Institute (PDI).

The session goals were: 1. gain an understanding of story
structure and the qualities of a good story, 2. share stories with one another and find potential “story seeds”, and 3. observe the coaching and story development process.

The first two hour session included several activities where managers built on and developed their skills in understanding effective narrative storytelling and how it can be used as a tool to communicate the value of arts education.

A one hour session with four individual managers followed. During the one hour session, four randomly selected arts education managers worked one on one with two Speakeasy DC teaching artists to fine tune their stories to present to the full group the following day.

The session concluded the following day with an hour of storytelling. Each of the four selected managers were asked to tell their refined stories to the group. After each manager presented their story, the teaching artists and managers spoke about the process they went through to refine their storytelling techniques.

The Speakeasy DC session at the PDI was very well received by many of the arts education managers. The participants noted the Speakeasy DC session as a hi-light of the PDI, stating that the teaching artists were very skillful, a pleasure to work with, and had high energy; that the session was not only a creative activity, but meaningful; and that the skills the managers learned in the session were easily transferable to other areas of their work.

Amy at Speakeasy DC was a pleasure to work with. She listened to our needs and thoughts and developed a very thoughtful session that was appreciated by the arts education managers.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 28, 2012

more

November 28, 2012

Nonprofit NoVA hosted an event for nonprofit CEOs and Executive Directors and Amy Saidman was a fantastic speaker on this topic. Often, nonprofit leaders need to tell their own story and their organization's story in a short period of time but in a very compelling way. Amy broke down the parts of a story and used a great sample story from our audience. These busy CEOs were very engaged in the discussion and were eager to learn more after the event. Amy did a great job of putting structure to something that our members have to do every day, and breathing new life into something that can get redundant for those who have been at their jobs for many years. Thanks to Amy and SpeakeasyDC for a great event! We look forward to working together in the future!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 4, 2012

more

September 4, 2012

SpeakeasyDC recently created and performed at our university for a group of approximately 60 first-year students. Amy, the Executive Director, worked with our programming staff to ensure the program would connect directly to the outcomes of the other Welcome Week programming happening around this evening. As clients, we felt our feedback and desires were considered and could see these play out in the event itself. The storytellers the group brought told engaging, funny and poignant stories and spurred conversation from the students on being a new resident in the District. Every student thoroughly enjoyed the event and a few even got up and told their own story!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 27, 2011

more

September 27, 2011

SpeakeasyDC truly added value to Peace Corps’ 50th Anniversary Story Slam event. Amy Saidman, the Director of SpeakeasyDC, was wonderful to work with and her coaching helped our story-tellers to provide entertaining, dynamic and high quality storytelling performances. We are grateful to have had the opportunity to work with SpeakeasyDC!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Storytelling Event

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

n/a

September 23, 2011

more

September 23, 2011

As part of the Peace Corps story slam event, I was connected with Amy to refine my personal story. She was extremely helpful in helping me figure out what made my story compelling, as well as giving me ideas to make my telling of the story a bit more entertaining. We spoke on the phone for about a half hour and throughout the conversation I felt like she asked all the right questions and even better, let me respond and talk out my ideas and experiences.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I'm sorry, I do not understand this question. Life?

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I think it was a great experience. If anything, I'd like to learn more about Speakeasy and have more interaction with them.

February 28, 2011

more

Review from Guidestar
February 28, 2011

A great way to re-acquaint your left and right sides of your brain.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

the increase in time and energy that I devote to creative pursuits. I'm writing, reading, and creating more.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Offer individual feedback on behind-the-mic time as it's happening (during class) rather than at the end.

February 24, 2011

more

February 24, 2011

This is by far one of my most favorite things to do in DC. The art of storytelling is one of importance that I don't think people think too much about. The stories are engaging, thought-provoking, humorous, and heartfelt. It's one of those events that seem to draw different types of crowds that are all there for one thing: to listen to the stories. This is a great organization led by passionate people that you just can't help want to get more involved.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

their monthly shows. I've enjoyed each show I've attended. And their passion of the art of storytelling is always evident.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

do nothing. I think it's already great.

February 23, 2011

more

February 23, 2011

I went to the Valentine's Day show and had a wonderful time. Now I am looking for blind lesbian love.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

went to a show

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

none

February 23, 2011

more

Review from Guidestar
February 23, 2011

The Speakeasy is an INCREDIBLE resource that I was so lucky to have stumbled upon. I am a middle school theatre teacher, and professional theatre performer/director. With a background in playwriting, and 15 years of experience, I was curious what the Storytelling 101 class would really have to 'offer' me that was new/fresh/interesting/compelling. Honestly, my school paid for it, so I went.
I was BLOWN away by several things.
1. The teaching staff (namely Kevin Boggs and Vijay Nathan) was warm, constructive, enthusiastic, and a WEALTH of experience, ideas, and information.
2. The format was packed, well structured, and challenging. This class really forces you to "do the work" and dig in. I found myself challenged mentally, time-wise, emotionally, and creatively. I loved it. The schedule of 5 weeks, including watching a pro performance, rehearsing our performance, and performing our stories, was well crafted and filled to the brink. I hate to waste my time, and the Speakeasy folks respect our time, money, and intelligence.
3. The "community". I found (without knowing I was looking for) a tribe. I found people from all walks of life comign together once a week for a few hours to share stories, make mistakes, and listen and support one another. I was excited and inspired by my classmates, I looked forward with great anticipation to each class, and I was truly, honestly, deeply moved by their performances. The "result"- sharing a well crafted, personal, and honest story with others was touching enough- but the process to get there- watching the story and the storyteller grow and arrive at art- was astounding.
4. The resources! They offer fantastic handouts that I was able to adjust to fit the needs of my students. The opportunity for one-on-one coaching just seems too generous- even in a class, the faculty really make you feel as though they are personally, deeply committed to your success.
Overall the class, the experience, and the artists have motivated me to continue to attend performances, take additional classes, make personal connections, and find my stories. What a gift this has been.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

...my classroom, my theatre world, and my interpersonal relationships with other DC folks!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

...offer more sections? Truly- I don't believe I'd change anything about the class. The organization could offer more open mics, just because I enjoy them so much! More seating, since they always pack the house!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

How did you find this group?

Email

What, if any, change in your life has this group encouraged?

To "do the work". To find the time for self-exploration. To meet other DC people and share & celebrate. To be brave, bold, and fearless. To get back onstage!

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Previous | 1 2 3...8 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers