Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
7 Reviews
12345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
April 18, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

April 18, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

While attending a family reunion last July, I learned that there was a beautiful mare that was abandoned on an adjoining farm. She was underweight, had tangles in her mane and tail and her hooves were severly overgrown due to neglect. I do not have the know-how, land or $$$ to keep a horse, have never owned a horse, although I would dearly love to have one someday. It was fate that I came across the webpage for Speak Up For Horses. They sounded like the perfect rescue for my "Angel" who desperately needed to be rescued, so I got up my courage and called Shelly at Speak Up For Horses. She quietly listened as I explained to her about the plight of "Angel", a beautiful, loving and friendly mare, and how quickly she needed to be transported to begin her long road to recovery.

Angel was soon transported to SUFH and was quickly attended to by Shelly, the vet and farrier. Angel captured the hearts of anyone who was lucky enough to see her. Blood work was done, hooves were trimmed, nutritional needs were met, and she received lots of love and kind words from everyone. I was impressed by the clean, bright and airy barn and the kindness of Shelly, the vet, the farrier and all the volunteers. Despite all the love, attention and medical care, it was determined that Angel had severe founder, lamintis and was in severe pain due to some other complications with her feet and that the most humane thing to do would be to help her cross over Rainbow Bridge. It tore our hearts out to lose Angel, and anyone who met her was crushed by the sad news that she had to be put down. Many tears have been shed in Angels memory.

It was one of the most difficult days of my life to see this beautiful horse euthanized, but Shelly and Dr. Glaza were so compassionate and loving with her and they explained every step of this extremely sad process to me. On the way home that night, with tears streaming down my face, I decided to turn a negative into a positive in Angels memory. I now volunteer at the barn, know and love each horse, and look so forward to my visits to the barn. It has changed my life forever.

Over the past 8 months I have learned so much from Shelly about the care of horses, have seen her passion, love and dedication to each and every horse in her care, and how each horses' needs are met in the best way possible. Shelly would walk to the edges of the earth to make sure all of the horses are taken care of and that they are happy and healthy.

I am so glad that I found Speak Up For Horses for Angel........and for myself! I anxiously look forward to every weekend that I go to the barn and see my "babies" as they now recognize me and look forward to being petted, loved and cared for. This has been an incredible journey for me and I look forward to many, many years of volunteering at Speak Up For Horses.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 5, 2013

more

February 5, 2013

Speak Up For Horses is one of the very few rescues i totally support in every way. They are committed to rescuing horses in danger or need and dedicated to providing them with the best environment and care they need for recovery. Their goal for each horse is to find a new home and new owner who is the perfect match for that horse. They will keep every horse and train and rehabilitate that horse until they are ready for adoption. Speak Up For Horses is dedicated to educating everyone about the horrors and cruelty involved in horse slaughter....not just the ultimate pain and fear at the end of the journey...but....the inhumane way many horses are transported there. They offer a free seminar for law enforcement agencies that teaches them how to recognize cruelty and neglect in horses. Many agencies are not familiar with livestock and are not able to identify what is really neglect until they are trained to do so. Speak Up For Horses will provide this training for anyone that asks for it. I would not hesitate to speak up for this rescue anywhere...anytime. Speak Up For Horses truly understands what rescue means....providing a safe environment....meeting nutritional requirements....providing medical and farrier care as needed...and a good quality of life for each and every horse they take responsibility for.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 2, 2011

more

Review from Guidestar
December 2, 2011

Speak Up For Horses is the only non-profit organization I know of that is 100% commited towards rescuing and helping horses in any situation, background, or history. As a volunteer, I witnessed their compassion and dedication firsthand and was very touched by their hard work and effort to better the lives of hundreds of horses.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 29, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
November 29, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

My name is Bonnie Vandergrift, I live in Canterbury, Ct and adopted a 6 month old colt from Speak up for Horses 2 years ago. When I got him he was being called 'Peanut', I chose the name Cheyenne for him and he readily answers to it and when I call him he comes running to me, he was pretty wild and afraid of everything for a good 6 months, but then one day he came over and allowed me to pet him, it's been nothing but good. He appreciates everything that is done for him and to me is loving and seems to be my shadow most of the time. Needless to say I can only imagine what may have happened to him if Shelly hadn't taken these horses in! I feel so very lucky to have been able to adopt him, I only wish I could take in another one, but don't have enough pasture for another horse. The only problem at all when I adopted Cheyenne was the weather, seemed every time we thought we'd be able to pick him up the snow would pile up way too much to be safe to drive from Ky to Ct. Finally in March he got here, if I could figure out how to do it, I'd send in pictures taken the day he arrived and then 6 mos later, and again at 18 mos. He is now a bit over 2 and beautiful. I'm so grateful for people like Shelly, who have the land and use it to help our most majestic animals, who helped to make this country what it is. Cheyenne's ancestors helped many hundreds of years ago and now I was able, with Speak up for Horses help, to help this young fellow. Any help that anyone could give toward feed, medical, etc would be so appreciated, it is so rewarding to be able to do anything you can. You will never regret helping in any way you can! Bonnie Vandergrift

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

November 28, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 28, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

I had some wormer that I wasn't going to use so I went looking for someone to donate it to. I wanted someone or a rescue that I could believe in and I wanted to be able to visit the place I chose. I did a web search and Speak Up for Horses was one of the sites that came up. I called and spoke to Shelly and she said that she would appreciate the wormer. During our conversation she mentioned she used the same vet practice I did. I called my vet and inquired about the organization and why I wanted to know. They gave a very high recommendation and for my vet to do that is not something to take lightly. I went to the location where the horses were kept and was given a tour of the facility. I was very impressed with the cleanliness, organization of the facility, and the way the horses responded to Shelly. She knew each horse by name and was careful to let me know which ones were still fearful of strange people. I was impressed at the dedication and love that where given to the horses. This is a wonderful rescue! The horses are given what they need in order to have a better chance at being adopted in a happy forever home. This is a rescue where each horse is an individual and treated as such. Lucky is the horse that gets rescued by Speak Up For Horses.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Seeing the committment this rescue is making to take care and find homes for these unwanted/abused animals. They educate and speak to groups about the horses in a large variety of areas from how to start a rescue to feedingand keeping horses healthy. They also educate people on teaching (training) their horses safely and without pain.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

not change anything.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

What specific problem, purpose, priority, or project prompted your gift?

The wormer was within 6 months of being out of date and I had started feeding my horses wormer pellets.

Why did you make your donation at this time?

Rescues need all the help they can get and I thought it would help to cut expenses a little. It was a PASS IT FORWARD time.

What would you tell others about this organization?

Absolutely!

November 28, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
November 28, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

Speak Up For Horses has been a driving force for helping the many horses in the community. The people in the organization devote many hours to helping the horses that others have forgotten about. Without these people many horses would have no hope of finding loving homes. I have personally seen the people in Speak Up For Horses work with animals that some thought were unable to rehabilitate and through hard, dedicated work brought the animals to a point where they were able to be placed in loving homes.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Seeing the commitment to keeping the horses healthy and seeing horses at one time that were afraid of human contact become accepting of their presence.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I don't think I would make a change.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 15, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
November 15, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

Speak Up for Horses is a fantastic rescue and works to educate and prevent horse abuse, slaughter and transport, encourage responsible horse care and raise funds for its own operations by the use of its dedicated volunteers. They are dedicated to humane treatment and to caring for those innocent and voiceless equines who have been abandoned or treated inhumanely.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers