Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
21 Reviews
1234.809525
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
December 11, 2013

more

December 11, 2013

It has been almost two months since I was in Panama helping Spay Panama and it is still something I think about everyday. From the moment I landed in Panama I felt that my decision to volunteer with Spay Panama was the right one. Spay Panama far exceeded any prior expectations that I made before my arrival. Just at the beginning of my career as a student of Veterinary Medicine, I feel as if the knowledge that I have gained from my experience in Panama will help me become a more valuable Veterinarian. The most important thing that I took away from volunteering at Spay Panama is this...Although we are all unique and different in our own individual ways, there is a common bond and goal that we all strive to obtain. It is within this moment in time that I realized how similar that we all truly are. Thank you to the Spay Panama team for giving me the experience of a lifetime!! It is something I will carry with me for the rest of my life!!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 8, 2013

more

August 8, 2013

I did not know what to expect from Spay Panama because the organization is relatively new and none of my colleagues have ever volunteered for Spay Panama before. However, it exceeded my expectations. The director of the program, the veterinarians, and other staff members are very kind and extremely accommodating. They make sure that you are well taken care of during your time of stay in Panama. Working in the clinic as well as the blitz can be physically exhausting, however, knowing that you have made a difference to decrease the animal population in low income areas is rewarding. The veterinarians make sure that you learn something, whether it be surgery, medicine, or client communication-related. After long days of hard work, the staff at Spay Panama make sure that you can explore the country and truly experience the wonderful culture.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

During the blitz, implement at least 10-15 minutes of break in between.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 13, 2013

more

July 13, 2013

I had a great volunteer experience at Spay Panama. I am a pre-vet student and was given an opportunity to perform tasks that I have never done before. I worked in both pre and post op giving injections, tattooing and clipping the animal’s ear, shaving and cleaning the incision area, and cleaning their ears. I was very impressed by how well organized everything was. Everyone was very welcoming and always there to help with any questions I had. It was an awesome experience to be able to help so many animals in need. I took pride in being able to give these animals treatments like dewormers, vitamins, ear cleanings, and flea spray that they may never be able to get again. I recommend this program to anyone who would like to gain more experience not just in the veterinary field but also a great cultural experience.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 25, 2013

more

June 25, 2013

I had been aware of Spay Panama for several years though a very good friend who is a Board member, but it was not until January 2013 that I really got involved after going to a spay blitz event out in Las Tablas and Tonosi. With that experience I had no doubts THIS was the organization I wanted to dedicate my time with. You would have to know me better, but I am very critical of how mony is spent and how time is utilized - BOTh are such critical resources. Spay Panama surpassed even my very TOUGH standards. I can not imagine finding any organization that is more efficient in terms of time and money. The bonus is the vets and volunteers are the best people you will find anywhere on Earth. I have found my forever friends and family. In 6 short months I have traveled the country doing blitzes, I now write their newsletter, am the new coordinator of special events and FUNdraising and am writting a children's book. about Spay Panama. My past experience is with animal rescue groups in Ohio and Key West and I bring their fabulous ideas along with me! Successful FUNdraising events take time and planning to get up in running. Watch for our events in the future - THESE will be events EVERYone will want to be a part of!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

How do you change perfect?

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 9, 2012

more

September 9, 2012

spay Panama is the only high volume high quality group in Panama. Once a month, spay panama has a blitz- they spay neuter at a location around panama. We had the opportunity to participate in one of these blitz. For 2 days, we went to San Manguelito where we sterilized 421 pets total. The organization, professionalism, and dedicate to their mission is remarkable and admirable. I left the blitz saying everyone worked so hard today, I hope I was able to help out in anyway possible. This group is absolutely amazing!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 9, 2012

more

September 9, 2012

I acquired lots of valuable experience during my time at Spay Panama; such as vaccinating, tipping ears, etc, which will help me for my career. Spay Panama is such an incredible organization that helps to neuter/spay dogs and cats from families with low resources. Everything is well organized and I was personally amazed at how quickly and smoothly everything goes. Also, all the people that volunteers is very charming and welcoming and made me feel like I was home. I really enjoyed my time in Panama and will definetely come back in the future to volunteer again. Well done!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 15, 2012

more

July 15, 2012

Spay Panama is a wonderful program. Not only did they work patiently and consistently with myself and the other volunteer from the USA, but they were always trying to show us new skills and better techniques. It is a good program with someone that has minimal experience with the veterinary field, because a lot of the work is pre op and post op. That being said, I got to observe several very interesting surgeries and a couple of necropsies. Overall a wonderful experience, that I would highly recommend for anyone interested in veterinary medicine.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 8, 2012

more

July 8, 2012

I had an excellent experience volunteering! I was surprised at the number of spays/neuters done within the one week I volunteered there. The clinic worked quickly and efficiently. Another great thing was the amount of teamwork involved. The team accomplished so much is such short periods of time thanks to everyone's willingness to help each other, no matter what the task was. As a pre-veterinary student, I enjoyed being able to get so much hands-on experience especially in handling animals before and after surgeries (shaving, tattooing ears, giving injections, etc). It was also great watching many surgeries (not just spays and neuters). I was able to learn so much about veterinary medicine from the doctors and other veterinary students. Also, this was my first time traveling to Panama. I am so happy that I got to do some sightseeing while I volunteered! Great experience for future vets!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 6, 2012

more

May 6, 2012

I am a veterinarian and have been to Panama twice over the past three years to help with sterilizations at the clinic and out of town blitzes. The organization is one of the most efficient that I have ever had the pleasure to work with. I will be returning to help again, hopefully before the end of this year. I would ask everyone reading this to please donate to help this organization. It is rare that an organization uses their money so wisely. 40,000+ sterilizations in 11 years is amazing. I doubt that there are many other groups that could claim the same success rate, certainly not on the shoe string that this organization operates with. They do good work, take very good care of the animals and the president of the organization is tireless in her efforts to bring about a better life for as many dogs and cats as she can. Looking forward to seeing all of the wonderful people in Panama soon.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

the work I have done at their clinic and on weekend blitzes

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

give them an unlimited budge and every dog and cat would be sterilized post haste.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

Possibly better sleeping arrangements on the weekend blitzes. At the last one I was cold and the floor was hard. Then again we are there to work and make a difference in the world, not on vacation. Though I enjoy this work so much it is a vacation to me.

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

I cannot begin to express how much I have enjoyed my experiences with Spay Panama. It is such a well run organization. And I have met other vets from the US and vet students that I hope to see again in the future.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

As if I was really making a difference in the world.

September 5, 2011

more

September 5, 2011

This was my first time travelling to Panama as well as my first time witnessing such an overwhelming stray animal population! Spay/Panama is doing a wonderful job at not only directly targeting the overpopulation problem but also working within the community to raise awareness about the importance of getting owned animals spayed or neutered. It was really interesting to experience different aspects of veterinary medicine within the context of the Panamanian culture. I am extremely grateful to all the wonderful staff and volunteers - they were all incredibly welcoming and very helpful when I asked any questions. I feel like I've gotten much more than a simple volunteer experience because in addition to hands-on work with the animals, I've gained a real appreciation of the challenges faced by veterinarians and animal caregivers/owners/feeders on a day-to-day basis.
I would definitely recommend this program to anyone looking for a positive volunteering experience that involves working with animals and/or that is simply wanting to donate some time to a fantastic cause.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

seeing the large number of spay/neuter surgeries that are performed by Spay/Panama every week! Also, you can learn a lot by talking to the veterinarians, other volunteers or locals that have themselves witnessed a decline in the number of stray animals roaming the streets. They've done over 30,000 sterilization surgeries now but it's an ongoing problem, so volunteers are always welcome

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

love for the volunteering period to be longer than 1 week! :)

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers