Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
49 Reviews
1234.918375
Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review
June 26, 2013

more

June 26, 2013

We are the Great-Grandparents of a little Great-Granddaughter who was diagnosed with a rare childhood cancer at 11 months old. Thanks to the love and support of the Sparrow Club and a wonderful family dynamic our little girl is now tumor-free and ready to turn 2 years old in early August. Seeing all the events, fundraisers, etc. sponsored by the Sparrow Club from our home in Florida made us feel much more connected to the process happening in Oregon. We'll be forever grateful for the spirit of the Sparrow Club.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 25, 2013

more

June 25, 2013

Sparrow Clubs USA has provided a wonderful support system for one of my best friends and her family in a time when they really needed it. Cancer affects all of us at some point, but I never would have expected it to affect Olivia, especially not right before her first birthday. The amount Rita, Olivia and Jakey & all their family have gone through this year is completely amazing, and not something you would ever wish on anyone. But I have to say that in a time where things were bad, I felt comfort knowing that this family had been taken in, supported and lifted up by an amazing group of students whose focus was to help.

In our world today it's so easy to get caught up in all the negative, all the violence, all the mainstream news that is just so overly negative, but this organization and these students who choose to participate are real heroes, they should be the news stories we see, stories showing that compassion for one another is still around. They give families in need a support system to lean on, and the monetary assistance they provide through their fundraisers is obviously a big help, but this is about so much more than money. It's about seeing someone and wanting to make a difference, no matter how big or small. Sparrow Clubs USA is a life changing organization and I hope that more schools around the country take on this program because it is truly amazing. Thank you to the Aloha Warriors for taking Rita, O and Jake in...I don't think you all will ever be thanked enough or know exactly how much of a difference and how many lives you touch through your hard work and dedication, your efforts reach far beyond the individual families that you take in each year!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 25, 2013

more

June 25, 2013

Sparrow Club has given a family very close to me opportunities they did not have. It has been amazing to see just how above and beyond people with Sparrow Club have gone for Olivia and her family. This organization truly is a blessing. Many times the actions and kindness of others towards Olivia and her family have brought tears to my eyes. So glad they were able to give such a special family an amazing gift of love and generosity.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 25, 2013

more

June 25, 2013

My niece, who was diagnosed with cancer at the age of 1, lives 2,500 miles away from me. Her father (my brother) is active duty army and stationed just as far away. She was adopted as a sparrow from Aloha High School and I can barely put into words how much that means to me and the rest of my family. It is heart breaking to be so far away and be able to do so little for her and her mother through treatment. The sparrow program has been there for support financially and emotionally with things that we could not do so far away. They have included her older brother in all of their activities showering both kids with love and kindness through this horrible time. I am forever grateful to the sparrow club and all the kids that have volunteered for being a light to my family while there was so little I could do.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 25, 2013

more

June 25, 2013

As a single mother of two, one diagnosed with cancer before the age of 1, Sparrow Clubs USA has been beyond a life changing event for my family. No mother ever thinks about or wants to hear the word cancer. It is devastating. But the one thing that lifted my two children and myself up during the longest year of our lives was the kindness, support and generosity that Sparrow Clubs brought into our lives. I am now able to attend college, be a mom, work part-time, AND continue to be with my daughter for her medical because Sparrow and all involved are wonderful and terrific. Sparrow Clubs USA is a fabulous way for communities, small or big, to come together for one selfless purpose. It has made me a better person and has taught me that the good in the world prevails! Thank you to Sparrow Clubs USA!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

1997

June 6, 2013

more

June 6, 2013

Let me just start off by saying any person who is involved with Sparrow will be inspired and love every minute they spend with this organization. It's so cool to be able to spend time serving someone who is probably less fortunate then yourself. I go to Aloha High School and we have been adopting a Sparrow (child who is sick with a medical condition). The thing that's so unique about Sparrow is that it affects every type of student at our school. I've seen kids that don't have a passion for learning and don't like school decide to volunteer for Sparrow and become super passionate about it. I would suggest all schools to begin doing this program and for anyone to get involved by volunteering or getting a group you are a part of involved. You won't be let down by Sparrow!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get more people involved!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 5, 2013

more

June 5, 2013

CJ Eytel
Sparrow Clubs USA has impacted me more than any other organization I have volunteered for. Watching a school and a community come together has motivated me to give back as much as possible. I would recommend this volunteer opportunity to anyone because it is one of the most humbling
experience a person can go through. I have been involved with Sparrow for four years now and it is one thing that every year I look forward to starting. I am from a very blue collar community so being able to raise money through service and other student led events has been a blast. This year we tried out some new events like an online fundraiser and men's volleyball. We raised as an entire community over 18,000 dollars for a little girl and her family. To know that we were able to give them that large amount of money just shows that a little effort and some hard work can take a community a long way.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 21, 2013

more

May 21, 2013

Sparrow Clubs is an awesome organizations where kids can come together within their school and community to raise money for a child whos been through a lot and whos family might need help. It really opens up everyones eye to all the blessings they have by realize there are some people out there that are not as fortunate. This year Aloha and the community had so many wonderful opportunities like "beautify aloha" a 5k run and even a sparrow dance. Helping out the community was easily the best part of all the involvement because I really got to feel like i was helping out this years sparrow but also betting the community. The dance was another great way to raise money by getting a group of friends together and bump some fun music. Working with sparrow clubs the last few years has been a great experience and so eye opening, i really love all that sparrow clubs do and how they simultaneously bring schools closer together. Im very proud of Aloha for raising ruffly 18,500 for Baby Olivia!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 13, 2013

more

May 13, 2013

Sparrow is an opportunity to give back to someone within your community who is fighting for a chance. This year Aloha adopted a little girl named Olivia who has Rhabdomyosarcoma, a rare childhood cancer. As a school we put on a dance, race, run, and other fun activities to raise money. We were the most successful we have ever been, and raised of $18,000 for Olivia and her family. Sparrow has taught me how to give back and to be thankful. I have had the opportunity to work hands on with Sparrow for the past three years. I love this organization and I love having the opportunity to help. The most impacting moment was having the opportunity to sit down and talk to Olivia and her family. It was such a wonderful experience and I have forever been changed by it.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 13, 2013

more

May 13, 2013

In the Sparrow Club at my high school we adopted a sparrow and raised 18,000 for her. It was amazing because we were suppose to be the school with less money compare with other schools but we have a really big heart. In our community we care bout each other, so when people heard the story about our sparrow they donated. It was a team effort and there were lots of people involved in raising money and volunteering time to make sparrow successful. It thought me that a little kindness can make a lot of difference in someone's life. It felt good helping out because I was part of something big and I would recommend this to any and everyone.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers