Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
24 Reviews
12345
| 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
November 16, 2012

more

November 16, 2012

Southwinds is a perfect model of what well run nonprofit organizations can achieve. I have worked with, participated in events with, and volunteered for Southwinds on numerous occasions over the past 5 years. Each time I work with this group, I see shining examples of their commitment to helping the people they serve. I've seen the generous nature of board members and friends contributing to the organization, and I've seen the care in which staff members provide to their clients. I am grateful for what I have seen and learned in my time at Southwinds, and excited about continuing and expanding our relationship in the future.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 15, 2012

more

November 15, 2012

Southwinds is a 'Place to Call Home' for 50 individuals who otherewise may have been institutionalized and would not have the quality of life they experience now. They provide safe, comfortable homes an enalbes each resident to personalize their own individual room . Each home is staffed 24/7 with caring individuals who do an excellant job of taking care of the individual residents' needs, appointments, dailiy activities and also see that the house is clean and comfortable. I am proud to serve on the board but more so I am very grateful for the care my sister is given as one of Southwindsresidents. Thank you all!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 15, 2012

more

November 15, 2012

For the past 28 years Southwinds, Inc. has been providing residential home care services and developmental training for adults with intellectual and developmental disabilities. As it has evolved, they have recognized the needs of an aging population and continue to enhance, expand and improve facilities. Southwinds current programs to build and modify tailored home-like specialized residences for challenged men and women, while remaining integrated into the community is a credit to their fore site. They currently manage fourteen such facilities and will expand to the extent that funding becomes available. The staff is dedicated to the elder care programs and conduct numerous fund raising activities each year to support existing programs and new facilities. In my experience with nonprofit's Southwinds ranks as one of the best. Jerry Smith, Upper St. Clair, PA

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

Southwinds is blessed with great staff and management all focused on serving 50 tremendous residents. It is an honor to assist Southwinds' Executive Director, Stacey Kabula and the rest of the dedicated Team in fulfilling the Agency's mission.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

Southwinds, Inc. is a very unique Organization which allows its Residents to enjoy "normal living" together with a handful of other Residents with similar limitations in a supervised and safe environment. The houses are like yours and mine and are located next to yours and mine which is the beauty of this Organization. This living atmosphere hand in hand with other key components of Southwinds Mission provides for the Residents (in some cases) to enjoy activities and interests such as attending sporting events, going to Church, crafts and other hobbies, or even going to the local store. From what I have witnessed over the years, however, is this probably would not be possible for the Residents without the team of Management and Staff at Southwinds. Much of the success of the Organization can undoubtedly be attributed to its dedicated Management and Staff, and the energy, passion and care they display daily for the Residents and each ones well being.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

Southwinds, Inc. is a tremendous asset to the Pittsburgh region. They do a wonderful job helping adults with developmental challenges develop life skills. The individuals at Southwinds and their families consider Southwinds their home – they are there on a very long-term basis. This is reflected in the fact that during Southwinds’ 25+ year history, the average age of the individuals they care for has increased from 36 to 60. Staff are professional, dedicated and truly caring. The fact that the Executive Director has been with Southwinds since 1984 also speaks volumes about the compassion prevalent throughout the organization.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

I want to recognize the dedicated employees of Southwinds. They provide love and care day in and day out to developmentally disabled adults. These are special people that have the gift of patience and kindness. Not just anyone has the qualities necessary to be part of Southwinds. They are a rare breed of person that provides selfless service in sometimes what is a difficult job.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

Southwinds is a wonderful organization! They are one big family! I got involved with the organization when my wife started working their five years ago. I look forward to helping out at their special events because it gives me a chance to talk all of the wonderful adults with intellectual and developmental disabilities that they serve!! It is very rewarding experience for me!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 13, 2012

more

November 13, 2012

Southwinds has been providing homes to adults with mental disabilities for over 27 years. Because of our strong board and excellent management, we're well positioned to continue serving well into the future.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 13, 2012

more

November 13, 2012

Southwinds provides a unique service helping developmentally challenged adults live is a homelike environment receiving the care and respect we would wish for one of our own family menbers.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers