Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
21 Reviews
1234.76195
Write A Review
October 29, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
October 29, 2014

The Symphony shines in our community. I have been a patron, concert goer and volunteer over the past 14 years and have watched this organization evolve into a top notch organization. The concerts during the 2014-15 season were amazing. The board, the staff and the Symphony Society are as one, aligned in working to meet goals and create opportunities for all of the residents to be able to take advantage of this class organization.

The conductor candidates were quire impressed with our musicians. Often in non-profit organizations some board members are not very engaged. That is not the case with the Symphony's board. Several years ago the Symphony board worked to create a very clear and aggressive strategic plan. All the committees (governance, education, development, finance and marketing) have identified and prioritized the items in that plan and are addressing and completing a very large number of those. This strategic plan was not put in a drawer!

Attendance at the classics concerts increased by 21% this past season, a true indication of the audience's take on the qualify of the music.

The financial environment for the arts has been tight. Nevertheless, the symphony carefully managed expenses and the overall budget, resulting in a positive net profit for the 2103-15 season with forecasts of continued positive net income for the upcoming years, while still being able to expand programs for the audiences and students in the area.

If you have not attended a concert, this is the time to do so.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 19, 2014

more

August 19, 2014

This organization does not function in a legitimate fashion.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

purge the entire board and the concertmaster, hire a staff who has actual experience in the arts industry, abide by union guidelines

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Badly

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

Will you recommend this organization to others?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 2, 2012

more

August 2, 2012

Read the the reviews. I am an artist . I am a stand up comedian. I just wanted to pass on a little info. Check out a web site called Reward25.com. It helps non profits and charity with no cost to the organization. It can raise awareness and also can help get well deserved contributions simply by filling out surveys for companies. Its free to sign up. Good luck.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unsure

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 14, 2012

more

June 14, 2012

The current recession has been especially diffucult on arts organizations, and fully professional symphony orchestras are a luxury item to many donors and subscribers. Since a community's culture is dramatically enhanced by professional arts organizations, we have chosen to increase our support of the Southwest Florida Symphony Orchestra over the last several years. Our charitable budget demands that we support organizations which add substantial value to the community, and we feel that the Symphony does just that. We attend almost all concerts and frequently bring guests, who are inevitably impressed with the high professional quality of this orchestra. Unfortunately, the Symphony does not receive much credit for the extensive educational programs it offers to youth in the community, but the committment to education is especially important as arts in the schools are shrunk each fiscal year.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 13, 2012

more

June 13, 2012

Music is food for the soul and when I moved here twelve years ago from a greater metropolis up north, I wondered if I had to listen to the radio or CDs for this. I found the Southwest Florida Symphony is fulfilling my need and more. Joining the Society is a learning and fulfilling experience which expands our education. How fortunate to we live in a community which has such musicians to satisfy our need of quality and relaxation.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 12, 2012

more

June 12, 2012

The South West Florida Symphony brings music into local schools when the arts are no longer a great priority for them. Their youth programs in the form of competitions and symphony presentations have given me the opportunity to become a advocate for music in the schools during these bad economic times.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 12, 2012

more

June 12, 2012

The SW Florida symphony orchestra is a great asset to the community of Lee County and beyond. We are attending concerts for a long time and feel thrilled that the quality of the musicians and conductors over time has greatly grown. As the Arts seem to be neglected more in our electronic society, we need the life experience of musicians of top professional quality and their willingnes to teach in schools and introduce the classical music to the young generations. Our SW FL Symphony has done so for all the time we can remember. Looking forward to the next season!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 11, 2012

more

June 11, 2012

When I moved to Fort Myers 16 years ago, I wondered what there was in the way of fun and culture here. Our new neighborhood consisted of all new residents who were wondering the same thing. A month or so later, a choir member in my parish told me about the symphony chorus which I immediately joined - and to which I still belong, now called the Symphonic Chorale. We have been on concert tours in Europe and in Barbados and were received with such enthusiasm. In the meantime, I learned more about the Symphony Orchestra and the volunteer activities involved. There were plenty available - and there are still plenty available. Many of my friends in Fort Myers belong to the Symphony Society, a fund-raising arm of the Symphony. We arrange popular social activities for fundraisers. A number of us also host muscians who have enriched our lives over the years. At any given concert, from the moment the baton is raised to the finale, the audience is in for a real treat. What is there to do in Fort Myers? Check out the Southwest Florida Symphony! It's a cultural gem in our town.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 11, 2012

more

June 11, 2012

This is a fabulous asset to our community which we have supported since the 80's. Their fundraisers are fun and the variety of music performances offers something for everyone. Visitors to the area are always amazed at the quality of this professional orchestra.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 11, 2012

more

June 11, 2012

Over the past eleven years we have attended performances of the Southwest Florida Symphony Orchestra, it has grown in its professional presentation and its reach in our community. We have enjoyed the range of its performances, as well as outstanding talents of its professional musicians. Its efforts to reach students in our schools is admirable, as their SFSO experience is often the only exposure to music and instruments they will have. This year's "Cupcake Concerts" with small ensembles presenting at libraries and community centers (free), was a terrific experience for our young people and they were thrilled to actually touch many symphony instruments.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers