Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
16 Reviews
1234.56255
Write A Review
June 18, 2012

more

June 18, 2012

We love SARRC. We have been served by the most capable, enthusiastic and dedicated staff which which we've ever been exposed. The caliber of professionals at SARRC are without parallel. Our sons both go to the community school and we couldn't be more pleased with the program. We have seen tremendous gains in the behaviors and affect of both our children. This is truly one special organization!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 16, 2012

more

June 16, 2012

Really enjoyed your community works program! Wish we could do it year-around and not have to take turns on the waiting list.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 12, 2012

more

June 12, 2012

My son was diagnosed with high functioning autism. I didn't really know what that meant and was having a very difficult time understanding what autism is. My family signed up for the Jump Start program and it has been a tremendous help! I am starting to understand my son and am better able to work with him and have more patience with him. Also, I have learned how to deal with his behaviors and celebrate the progress that he is making. I am grateful to SAARC for helping me have hope and see that my son can have success. The staff have been so helpful. They are great listeners and work well with the kids. I would highly recommend SAARC to anyone facing the challenge of having a child with autism.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 12, 2012

more

June 12, 2012

I was horrified to learn the challenges my son was going to have because of the diagnosis we had received. It was a nightmare. I was scared and didn't know what was coming. To educate myself I was glad to find SARRC, meeting the families and staff was the best thing that happened to my family. I met people who said they knew what I was going through because they had been there and they were going to help my family. I received practical teachings and strategies, they engaged me in real conversations about the conditions and I had heart to heart conversations with moms like me who had walked down the road that I was in. I left the building with something in my hands, a tool that I could use at home confident that I was going to make it through another day. Today, my son's progress is amazing, my confidence has grown and my life is much happier. My entire family has grown much stronger through this experience and it was all but that one phone call I made to SARRC that took us through this road.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 11, 2012

more

June 11, 2012

Phenomenal facility, extremely educated and well versed staff and a truly loving and supporting environment.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

the infancy of my son's autism diagnosis.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Educated and encourage them to give more information on bio-medical fields of autism. I felt SARRC really did not give any information to me regarding bio-medical treatments for autism and actually did NOT encourage me to delve into bio-medical treatments AT ALL for my son. The staff ONLY pushed behavioral therapy as treatment for autism.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

How did you find this group?

through suggestions from friends, doctors and other mother's of children with autism.

What, if any, change in your life has this group encouraged?

The Jumpstart Program TRULY helped give me a strong foundation of information on autism and many of the important topics that pertain to it. The staff was extremely well educated on PRT and autism and ABA therapy. I was really impressed (and I'm not easily impressed)!

June 11, 2012

more

June 11, 2012

My son was diagnosed with autism at age 2. I was told by my son's pediatrician that SARRC was a great parent resource-and she was right! I enrolled in a parent training session and was provided with detailed information to begin interventions at home to help my son. The training was very specific, there was an opportunity for me to engage in interactive sessions with my son with a SARRC consultant nearby to provide suggestions and feedback. I felt that SARRC was on my side, helping me to help my son. After the trainings, the staff was receptive of my phone calls for additional information or assistance. SARRC gave me the information I needed to avoid any delay in providing intervention therapy for my son. He has made tremendous gains in behavior, speech, and eating. Without SARRC, I probably would have wasted precious time in getting my son the help he desperately needed. The autism community is so fortunate to have SARRC as a resource and research center. Jacque Hale Lara, parent

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

June 11, 2012

more

June 11, 2012

Great Organization. Best place for parents to get the education they need to better raise their autistic child.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 7, 2012

more

June 7, 2012

One month before our daughter's third birthday, we heard, "I'm sorry, she has Autism." With many questions and no answers, we turned to SARRC. From our first moment in the door, we found someone who was there to support us, help us, and give us HOPE. Our daughter’s life changed because of SARRC. But her life wasn’t the only one. Our entire family has been blessed by SARRC. They have helped our daughter blossum. Two years ago, she had no way of communicating. She had not spoken ANY words. We never truly knew what she wanted or needed. We had no idea if she was really listening and learning. Since we began at SARRC two years ago, she can now use a talking device and communicate in complete sentences. She has shown us that she knows colors, letters, and numbers, much like other kids her age. We would have never heard her say, "I love Mom." without SARRC. The staff have been nothing short of amazing. They have encouraged, instructed, listened, and cared for us every step of this new journey. They have equipped us with what we need to help our daughter as she grows to be the best that she can be. SARRC has been an answer to our prayers and an avenue to our dreams. Please help SARRC continue to touch the lives of those affected by AUTISM. They have meant the world to us.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 7, 2012

more

June 7, 2012

I had never heard of autism until my son was considered "at risk" for autism at the age of 3. Our first steps was with SARRC. Janet Kirwin, with SARRC talked to me on the phone for what seemed to be an hour. She is a blessing as she lead me in the right directions. My family then took the Jump Start Program at SARRC. We were blessed to meet and talk with Temple Grandin. Over the years, we can still contact Janet for advise and help. From the newsletters to support and knowledge, SARRC really has been one of the best resources we had on this journey. I feel knowledgeable and strong enough to take on the responsibility of being a mom of a special needs child. Yet, I know that this is a journey and I have to keep learning as go. When I get in a pickle, I can contact them, take a class, talk to someone or get direction as to what to do next. Even their website is extremely helpful. I cannot say enough wonderful things about them. Love SARRC!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 26, 2011

more

April 26, 2011

I have two children with autism, and they have both been assisted by SARRC. My older son, who is 8, has been through their Jump Start program, and has been involved in a medical research program, through which we have seen great improvement! They are a highly visible organization in our community and have brought a lot of autism awareness to our community. They also work hard to help transition teenagers into the working world through their vocational programs.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

the both the jump start program and the medical research department. The jump start program is great because it educates the parents on how to treat children with autism through ABA/DTT. I had absolutely no idea what to do when my older child was diagnosed with autism six years ago. SARRC gave my family a lot of support and helped with our questions. We have seen many of the repetitive behaviors of my older child subside due to the medical trial he has participated in.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

offer summer camp and more programs for grade school children. They do go into schools and help the schools and teachers learn about autism, but the focus definitely seems to be on the younger children and transitioning adults.

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Volunteers are the power behind nonprofit organizations like SARRC. From special events to project coordination and mass mailings, SARRC relies on its volunteers to help with a variety of tasks. Volunteer