Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
15 Reviews
1234.85
| 1 2 | Next
Write A Review
June 11, 2012

more

June 11, 2012

My son was diagnosed with autism at age 2. I was told by my son's pediatrician that SARRC was a great parent resource-and she was right! I enrolled in a parent training session and was provided with detailed information to begin interventions at home to help my son. The training was very specific, there was an opportunity for me to engage in interactive sessions with my son with a SARRC consultant nearby to provide suggestions and feedback. I felt that SARRC was on my side, helping me to help my son. After the trainings, the staff was receptive of my phone calls for additional information or assistance. SARRC gave me the information I needed to avoid any delay in providing intervention therapy for my son. He has made tremendous gains in behavior, speech, and eating. Without SARRC, I probably would have wasted precious time in getting my son the help he desperately needed. The autism community is so fortunate to have SARRC as a resource and research center. Jacque Hale Lara, parent

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

June 11, 2012

more

June 11, 2012

Great Organization. Best place for parents to get the education they need to better raise their autistic child.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 7, 2012

more

June 7, 2012

One month before our daughter's third birthday, we heard, "I'm sorry, she has Autism." With many questions and no answers, we turned to SARRC. From our first moment in the door, we found someone who was there to support us, help us, and give us HOPE. Our daughter’s life changed because of SARRC. But her life wasn’t the only one. Our entire family has been blessed by SARRC. They have helped our daughter blossum. Two years ago, she had no way of communicating. She had not spoken ANY words. We never truly knew what she wanted or needed. We had no idea if she was really listening and learning. Since we began at SARRC two years ago, she can now use a talking device and communicate in complete sentences. She has shown us that she knows colors, letters, and numbers, much like other kids her age. We would have never heard her say, "I love Mom." without SARRC. The staff have been nothing short of amazing. They have encouraged, instructed, listened, and cared for us every step of this new journey. They have equipped us with what we need to help our daughter as she grows to be the best that she can be. SARRC has been an answer to our prayers and an avenue to our dreams. Please help SARRC continue to touch the lives of those affected by AUTISM. They have meant the world to us.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 7, 2012

more

June 7, 2012

I had never heard of autism until my son was considered "at risk" for autism at the age of 3. Our first steps was with SARRC. Janet Kirwin, with SARRC talked to me on the phone for what seemed to be an hour. She is a blessing as she lead me in the right directions. My family then took the Jump Start Program at SARRC. We were blessed to meet and talk with Temple Grandin. Over the years, we can still contact Janet for advise and help. From the newsletters to support and knowledge, SARRC really has been one of the best resources we had on this journey. I feel knowledgeable and strong enough to take on the responsibility of being a mom of a special needs child. Yet, I know that this is a journey and I have to keep learning as go. When I get in a pickle, I can contact them, take a class, talk to someone or get direction as to what to do next. Even their website is extremely helpful. I cannot say enough wonderful things about them. Love SARRC!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 26, 2011

more

April 26, 2011

I have two children with autism, and they have both been assisted by SARRC. My older son, who is 8, has been through their Jump Start program, and has been involved in a medical research program, through which we have seen great improvement! They are a highly visible organization in our community and have brought a lot of autism awareness to our community. They also work hard to help transition teenagers into the working world through their vocational programs.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

the both the jump start program and the medical research department. The jump start program is great because it educates the parents on how to treat children with autism through ABA/DTT. I had absolutely no idea what to do when my older child was diagnosed with autism six years ago. SARRC gave my family a lot of support and helped with our questions. We have seen many of the repetitive behaviors of my older child subside due to the medical trial he has participated in.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

offer summer camp and more programs for grade school children. They do go into schools and help the schools and teachers learn about autism, but the focus definitely seems to be on the younger children and transitioning adults.

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Volunteers are the power behind nonprofit organizations like SARRC. From special events to project coordination and mass mailings, SARRC relies on its volunteers to help with a variety of tasks. Volunteer