Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
16 Reviews
1234.56255
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
October 12, 2014

more

October 12, 2014

Some Hackers use this site to screen your card before they totally steal everything from your account.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 21, 2012

more

June 21, 2012

My husband and I had retired in 2006 and were planning a move from Northern California to the California Central Coast to be nearer our daughter and new son-in-law, Danny. Our plans changed very quickly when our son-in-law was offered and accepted a position with the Southwest Autism Research and Resource Center in Phoenix. Our daughter was born here in Phoenix while my husband was stationed at Luke Air Force Base. It had never occurred to us that we would again be living in the Valley of the Sun but here we are. As a member of Soroptimist International for over 30 years and having been involved in many and varied community service projects, I needed something to do and decided it was time for me to become involved. On Tuesdays and Thursdays my grandson, Grady and I go to SARRC together. You will find me at the front desk on those days. I have been volunteering at SARRC for two years now and have enjoyed every day. The staff and volunteers are very dedicated to SARRC and it is a pleasure to work with them. The MOST rewarding part of any day I spend at SARRC is the interaction with the children, both typical and those in the spectrum. The growth of each and every child is nothing short of amazing.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 18, 2012

more

June 18, 2012

We love SARRC. We have been served by the most capable, enthusiastic and dedicated staff which which we've ever been exposed. The caliber of professionals at SARRC are without parallel. Our sons both go to the community school and we couldn't be more pleased with the program. We have seen tremendous gains in the behaviors and affect of both our children. This is truly one special organization!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 16, 2012

more

June 16, 2012

Really enjoyed your community works program! Wish we could do it year-around and not have to take turns on the waiting list.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 12, 2012

more

June 12, 2012

I have an autistic granddaughter that I have adopted and raised since the age of 7 months. Southwest Autism Research and Resource Center was not around when she was first diagnosed with autism. When I first started taking her to SARRC, it was amazing the things that I discovered that they were doing for the children. She quit talking when she was 15 months of age. It took almost 4 years for her to become verbal again, allbeit just one word. There came a time that SARRC began Life Skills classes with her. They teach the children to make simple meals, how to wash clothes; teach hygiene and so many other things that allow a child like mine to be able to live somewhat independently. The other thing that my child has learned is socialization. There is a monthly "Monday Night Out" at the Life Skills Building. They have dinner, interact with the staff and each other. My child loves going there. She has found it easier to interact with others that are like her. She also has mild mental retardation, so there will be other things that she will not be able to do and will have to have a guardian after I am gone. I do volunteering there and love doing it and I love the staff; they are just wonderful. I also attend the monthly Grandparent's Meeting (or get-together) that they provide. There will be great speakers at those meetings that provide a lot of help and knowledge to the grandparents, some of which are raising their autistic grandchildren such as I am doing. I just cannot say enough about the Southwest Autism Research and Resource Center (SARRC).

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

All the ways and then some that I listed in my note above

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

like to see them maybe be able to take those that are over the age of 19 to the camping experience at Whispering Hope Ranch although not necessarily at the same time that the younger teenagers go.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

There really is nothing more that they could do to improve.

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

Probably did not teach me a new skills but did meet a lot of wonderful people; and is certainly helping to keep me young.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Like I was doing something that mattered; something that would help others.

June 12, 2012

more

June 12, 2012

My experienced with SARRC began shortly after my beautiful son Issac was diagnosed with Autism 10 years ago. Our journey with Autism began with SARRC and it not only provided the greatest roadmap of support but also the roadmap for hope. SARRC's mission of support through the life span of those impacted by this condition, continues to evolve and grow as our kids grow. We were blessed by the impact SARRC had in our son and in our lives and seeing the positive impact it has in so many families today, makes me commit to this great organization in heart and soul. The programs developed by SARRC and its amazing staff, and more importantly the great results of such programs, are an example the power of the human spirit, channeled through science and research.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 12, 2012

more

June 12, 2012

My son was diagnosed with high functioning autism. I didn't really know what that meant and was having a very difficult time understanding what autism is. My family signed up for the Jump Start program and it has been a tremendous help! I am starting to understand my son and am better able to work with him and have more patience with him. Also, I have learned how to deal with his behaviors and celebrate the progress that he is making. I am grateful to SAARC for helping me have hope and see that my son can have success. The staff have been so helpful. They are great listeners and work well with the kids. I would highly recommend SAARC to anyone facing the challenge of having a child with autism.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 12, 2012

more

June 12, 2012

I was horrified to learn the challenges my son was going to have because of the diagnosis we had received. It was a nightmare. I was scared and didn't know what was coming. To educate myself I was glad to find SARRC, meeting the families and staff was the best thing that happened to my family. I met people who said they knew what I was going through because they had been there and they were going to help my family. I received practical teachings and strategies, they engaged me in real conversations about the conditions and I had heart to heart conversations with moms like me who had walked down the road that I was in. I left the building with something in my hands, a tool that I could use at home confident that I was going to make it through another day. Today, my son's progress is amazing, my confidence has grown and my life is much happier. My entire family has grown much stronger through this experience and it was all but that one phone call I made to SARRC that took us through this road.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 11, 2012

more

June 11, 2012

One of my grandsons has autism and is receiving support from SARRC. They have provided training at both their facility as well as in our home. All of the staff have been knowledgeable and very caring individuals. Not only do they know the technical side of autism and what treatments are most effective, they also understand the people side and how a truly compassionate coaching environment improves learning. We are very blessed to have SARRC's support.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

my personal life by seeing the impact they have had on my grandson, and in the lives of countless others through my service on SARRC's Board

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

get better insurance coverage from medical insurance carriers for individuals and families affected by autism.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

How did you learn about this organization?

Through a friend.

What is this organization's top short-term priority?

To continue and expand the services currently being offered.

What is its top priority in the long run?

To provide a "lifetime of care" for individuals and families affected by Autism Spectrum Disorder (ASD), from training parents of infants how to interact with their child, schooling, vocational training and job placement, and residential services for adults on the ASD.

June 11, 2012

more

June 11, 2012

Phenomenal facility, extremely educated and well versed staff and a truly loving and supporting environment.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

the infancy of my son's autism diagnosis.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Educated and encourage them to give more information on bio-medical fields of autism. I felt SARRC really did not give any information to me regarding bio-medical treatments for autism and actually did NOT encourage me to delve into bio-medical treatments AT ALL for my son. The staff ONLY pushed behavioral therapy as treatment for autism.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

How did you find this group?

through suggestions from friends, doctors and other mother's of children with autism.

What, if any, change in your life has this group encouraged?

The Jumpstart Program TRULY helped give me a strong foundation of information on autism and many of the important topics that pertain to it. The staff was extremely well educated on PRT and autism and ABA therapy. I was really impressed (and I'm not easily impressed)!

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Volunteers are the power behind nonprofit organizations like SARRC. From special events to project coordination and mass mailings, SARRC relies on its volunteers to help with a variety of tasks. Volunteer