Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
12 Reviews
123.3333345
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
February 28, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
February 28, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

SPLC is more of a political activist group than a true charity. They do not deserve a non-profit status.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 16, 2012

more

October 16, 2012

SPLC's Teaching Tolerance program is working to foster school environments that are inclusive and nurturing – classrooms where equality and justice are not just taught, but lived. The program points to the future, helping teachers prepare a new generation to live in a diverse world. Adult bigots and their offspring have bullied children for years. My child, very Christian and loving, has been bullied and we seek education for all to end ignorance and hatred. We are saddened by the pervasive oppression, ingnorance and injustice we see in our world, thus we give when we can, as led by Christ's love to do so.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What specific problem, purpose, priority, or project prompted your gift?

Hate groups sadden me: The Sikh temple massacre, racial and homophobic oppression, anti-muslim, and anti-Christian groups are hateful. Jesus Christ does not condone hate - but too often I see so-called Christians spewing unholy hate, basing their odd behavior on Old Testament thoughts that have long been proven false. Our only hope is education and prayer. Bless you SPLC.

Why did you make your donation at this time?

My child has been bullied and ostracized. He has a choice: He could succumb to others' victimization which would hurt his self-esteem and could easily become a bully himself out of righteous indignation at ugly taunts. OR He could act Christlike and loving, overpowering evil with good. I prefer the latter. The right-wing-"falsely-Christian" pharisaical heretics need to understand the NEW testament, the gospel, the GOOD news. SPLC does and brings it to our schools. As far as I can see, whether they claim it or not, the SPLC people preach the gospel in words and deeds.

September 19, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

September 19, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

Before donating you should review the 990s that are publicly filed; as of 2011 this outfit--with only a handful of employees--is sitting on about 250 million dollars in assets.... That is a disproportionate cash position and given that their income covers expenses, you wonder just what that quarter billion dollars is doing? Substantively, they use the "hate group" label indiscriminately--groups that simply affirm marriage as one man/one woman--the definition that has been virtually uniform in western civilization--are condemned as hate groups. This is pure propaganda, worse because many of their charges have been directly rebutted yet they never retract their false statements.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Badly

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

Will you recommend this organization to others?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 4, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

more

August 4, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

Per their published reports, the Southern Poverty Law Center considers all of the following to be "extreme" individuals or hate groups: the Family Research Council, Rand Paul and other libertarians, anyone who wants existing immigration law enforced, anyone who is against redefining of term for political reasons (that is, Orwellian newspeak) when said redefining is something leftists are pushing for, the Tea Party, etc. etc. And who DOESN'T make the cut? Why, any group it would be "politically incorrect" to attack (such as Muslim groups that hold the same position against "gay marriage" that others were labeled as "hate groups" for holding). And, of course, all leftist groups get a free pass. They even admit as much. (See links.)

So... it's a great group to donate to if you're an intellectually bankrupt leftist hack, I suppose.
//
http://www.theblaze.com/stories/progressive-org-gives-muslim-groups-a-pass-on-gay-issues-condemns-social-conservatives/
//
http://www.renewamerica.com/columns/mbarber/100325
//
http://www.therightperspective.org/2011/07/14/splc-brands-rand-paul-an-extremist/

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 15, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

February 15, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

In response to Mr. Bandler, I believe the induction to the Direct Mktg Hall of Fame slur is misleading. Because Mr. Dees was inducted to this group means he excelled at has marketing skills, along with his contributions to society. There is a huge difference between efforts a non-profit makes in seeking donations to fund their cause and those who pay exorbitant fees to a FOR-profit fund raising group. Too many kind folks donate via a for-profit fund raiser, unknowingly giving most if not all of their money to them instead of the non-profit. The SPLC does excellent work on behalf of so many who need it most. I am grateful for Mr. Dees' consistent dedication along with everyone else there.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 30, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
December 30, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

I've contributed since 1975 and think this organization is one of the most effective civil rights organizations around. It goes directly after hate organizations as well as teaching tolerance

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 6, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
December 6, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

There's no other organization in the US that has fought hatred and racism and exposes the hate mongers as effectively as SPLC. I would give them 6 stars if possible.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 5, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
December 5, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

The fact that the founder, Morris Dees, is a member of the Direct Marketing Hall of Fame (www.the-dma.org/awards/hof/hofinductees.shtml#1998) should tell you that this organization is much more about raising money than doing good.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2007

November 23, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
November 23, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

I am so proud to be a donor to the SPLC. The SPLC has a solid record of real activism against hate in America. Unlike other civil liberties organizations that simply publicize hate and injustice, the SPLC is not afraid to take action. It has worked within the law to shut down white supremacist organizations and is currently in the courts battling a Minnesota school district that has turned a blind eye to anti-gay bullying despite an alarming number of suicides among its students. The SPLC's decision to brand several prominent Religious Right organizations as "hate groups" for their false and demonizing propaganda against gays/lesbians has put those organizations on the defensive. The SPLC takes a stand against all hate, whether it is directed against minority groups or majority groups. It has also remained independent and refuses to be co-opted by a major political party.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

July 6, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
July 6, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

I have donated to Southern Poverty Law Center since 1974, and have been both inspired and humbled by their unfailing devotion to social justice and their incredible bravery in the face of overt and frightening attacks, including at one time the firebombing and destruction of their offices. SPLC has saved many lives, defended many unjustly accused, used legal means to disassemble many neo-Nazi, racist, and other extremist groups, and served as a source of information when even the government had no knowledge of extremists. They also have the wonderful campaign of "Teach Tolerance" in the schools. After Oklahoma City the feds got much of the information that led to arrests from SPLC. Founder Morris Dees and others have put their lives on the line many times, and serve as inspirations to new generations of volunteers and staff, who are brave and steadfast in their devotion to justice for all.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I have seen SPLC reduce the effectiveness of or disassemble several skinhead, neo-Nazi, anti-gay, racist, and anti-government groups that plagued the areas I know---where I live or where my mother's family, my father's family, my sisters, or friends live. It is both safer and more just to live here in the U.S. because of SPLC.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Provide it even more security so it could spend more of its resources on social justice and education and less on protection and security.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

What specific problem, purpose, priority, or project prompted your gift?

Julian Bond at the Democratic National Convention in 1972(?)

Why did you make your donation at this time?

I was inspired by the work SPLC was doing. I saw this as a way to start "paying down the debt" that my Southern family, once slave owners and many KKK members, had "accumulated" over the years. I was raised in the West without "those old Southern prejudices" and I wanted to see that the mistakes of the past be reversed as quickly as possible. SPLC has worked hard to make the kind of progress that MUST be made.

What would you tell others about this organization?

If you want the most effective use of your donation dollar for social justice, give it to the Southern Poverty Law Center.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers