Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
17 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
October 30, 2013

more


1 previous review
September 6, 2013

AIFF is striving to become one of the top-rated film festivals in the United States. The events, the hospitality, the creativeness of AIFF will put it there! more

October 30, 2013

Great group. Hard work is something they are very familiar with.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Some

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 6, 2013

AIFF is striving to become one of the top-rated film festivals in the United States. The events, the hospitality, the creativeness of AIFF will put it there!

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 28, 2013

more

October 28, 2013

The Southern Oregon Film Society has created one of the Premier film festivals in the US. Their professionalism and ability to keep their finger on the pulse of important independent films (and film makers) ensures their continued success. This organization helps bring an influx of tourists to our small community, thereby helping our small businesses achieve their own success.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

More venues.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 28, 2013

more

October 28, 2013

The Ashland Independent Film Festival has such a welcoming atmosphere, inviting newcomers into the theater to see Indie Films along with well-seasoned fans and filmmakers. In the gorgeous town of Ashland, everyone comes together over the few days of the AIFF to share many moving movie moments - in every genre of film. At AIFF, new filmmakers are respected in a very holistic way - the festival itself is an amazingly creative endeavor! The AIFF event relies heavily upon grassroots volunteers, whose involvement is equally treasured and honored. I have run into filmmakers while on the street in Ashland, learned about their next film, and started following their creative work. This non-profit organization is incredible.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Help them find funding to help get more of the filmmakers here for the festival week. Wish there were more screens in Ashland to expand the festival!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 7, 2013

more

September 7, 2013

I'm in my 4th year as a volunteer at AIFF. The staff is wonderfully supportive and appreciative of its volunteers and donors. I've worked in the office in a number of capacities as well as a screener. No matter what the job, from counting pencils to proof reading to reviewing films, I have always been thanked by a staff person. To me this is so much more important and fulfilling than the vouchers that are offered to volunteers (although that's a nice perk too!).

The quality of the films shown is unsurpassed and if not for AIFF many of us would never have the opportunity to see the many top notch documentaries, shorts and features screened each year.

The organization of the festival and the treatment of all involved, from filmmakers to film goers has consistently been professional and seamless. I can't say enough good things about AIFF!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I can't think of anything that I would want to change except to have AIFF be the recipient of more funding! It's amazing what this organization does with so little resources.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 5, 2013

more

September 5, 2013

I have worked as a volunteer with AIFF, a local non-profit organization, since 2006 taking tickets, cleaning the theater, etc the first couple of years. For the past few years have been a screener of documentary films (80hrs per season) which I have loved. I have worked as a volunteer for a number of other non-profit organizations. AIFF is by far my best experience. The collaborative leadership style, respect and support for volunteers, experience of fun and request for feedback that is used to affect the running of the festival all contribute to making my experience completely satisfying. I appreciate the way this festival contributes to the life of the Ashland and Rogue Valley community. The high quality of film makers that participate in this festival is astounding to me. I use film in my college level classes, workshops and retreats and know the power of film to change lives. Being part of this festival has been one of my most enjoyable experiences since coming to Ashland in 2006. This organization has style, pzaaz, heart and hutzpah!!
May it continue to thrive in the coming years!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

increase the funding that is available to bring film makers to the festival as well as providing a better heating air conditioning system for the theaters that are used during the festival.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 5, 2013

more


1 previous review
June 8, 2012

I am a volunteer screener at the Ashland Independent Film Festival in Ashland, Oregon. Film is my passion; I teach and facilitate workshops and classes using film. To me, film - feature films as well ... more

September 5, 2013

Firstly, AIFF is a non-profit with heart. The team is warm, empathic, considerate, generous with their volunteers. They also generate an environment of fun & creativity, and a strong sense of community. I, personally, am a volunteer screener. I feel what I do makes a difference, and I am made to feel that by the organizers as well: I contribute to the Festival being as good as it can be. I teach film classes, so I see first-hand on a regular basis how film can change both individuals and groups; movies are change agents!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 8, 2012

I am a volunteer screener at the Ashland Independent Film Festival in Ashland, Oregon. Film is my passion; I teach and facilitate workshops and classes using film. To me, film - feature films as well as documentaries - are agents of change. Many, if not most, films deliver a message which we are able to take in when we watch a movie with conscious awareness. The AIFF brings this possibility to Southern Oregon, where people come from all over to attend. The quality of films and the excellence of the filmmakers who participate are top-notch. Being a screener allows me to bring my skills and talents to help make the Festival a force of change in the world.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 5, 2013

more

September 5, 2013

When I arrived in Ashland, OR, several years ago as a newly retired person, I wanted to find a volunteer opportunity that would allow me to contribute while at the same time be enriching for me. I was astonished to learn that right in my new home town was an outstanding film festival that might want someone who had spent her whole career in the non-profit world. I walked through the door of AIFF and have never turned back.

Because of the great people who work there, their dedication and commitment to making the Festival the very best in the Northwest, and because the volunteers are treated with such respect--for these reasons and many more that is why AIFF is my absolute favorite volunteer activity.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

find an individual or individuals who would provide a a large endowment.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 5, 2013

more

September 5, 2013

I had the honor of interning for the Ashland Independent Film Festival which turned out to be one of the greatest experiences in my life so far. Being able to help plan this week long event from start to finish was so rewarding. For me, it was all of the people involved that made this event so spectacular. People come from all over to enjoy not only the films on the screen but the amazing staff, volunteers, and film makers.

For years to come I plan to be involved with this film festival. If you love film, this festival should be on your bucket list!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

That it happened more then once a year!!!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 15, 2012

more

June 15, 2012

I have been attending the Ashland Independent Film Festival for the past 5 years and have been extremely impressed with the lineup of films showcased. The panel discussions have been lively and informative and the event is well run. My interest in activism through film has increased as a result of attending these festivals.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 2, 2012

more

June 2, 2012

The Southern Oregon Film Society provides an amazing opportunity for both independent film makers and the public of this little town: we get to watch movies we would otherwise not have access to, talk with their makers face-to-face, and immerse ourselves for 5 days in the thoughts and inspirations of some of the most creative members of our society, and these film makers get to share the product of their work and discuss it with us!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers