Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
12 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
October 10, 2013

more


1 previous review
November 13, 2012

I am currently a volunteer with this organization. At the beginning of summer my daughter and I decided to volunteeer, intending only to participate for a short time. By the first week, we were hook... more

October 10, 2013

There isn't enough space here to say all the wonderful things that need to be said about Southern Counties. During the summer of 2012, my 19 old daughter thought it would be fun to foster a litter of kittens over the summer. Here we are over a year later, still going strong. We are a small but determined group of volunteers. A nicer and more dedicated group of people cannot be found. Phyllis, our "fearless leader" is amazing. Her dedication to saving cats and kittens knows no boundaries. She knows more about cats and kittens than anyone I have ever met, including vets.
To give you an example of her dedication, she drives four hours to get to our adoption events and four hours to get home again. In my opinion, that alone shows remarkable dedication. The list goes on... Recently, a man she has worked with over the years rescuing cats and kittens suddenly passed away, leaving over forty cats and kittens (some feral) to be trapped, spayed/neutered and either released into a safe environment or brought into her already full home to be treated for the seemingly never ending ails that come with rescues and socialized. She spent 3-4 days a week for several weeks trapping these cats and kittens.
Every cent that comes into the rescue goes back out again to help more cats and kittens. None of the staff is paid, and our adoption fees barely cover the needs of a healthy cat or kitten..and most rescues rarely come in healthy. Taking into account that at least half of these 40 cats will never be adopted, (and therefore the rescue will never see an adoption fee) the cost to get them spayed and neutered, as well as healthy again came out of her own pocket.
I could go on, but suffice it to say that this is a wonderful organization that I support wholeheartedly.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 13, 2012

I am currently a volunteer with this organization. At the beginning of summer my daughter and I decided to volunteeer, intending only to participate for a short time. By the first week, we were hooked. This nonprofit rescue is dedicated to rescuing as many kittens/cats as possible and finding good permanent homes for them. The cats are fostered in the homes of the volunteers until they are adopted. The rescue provides vaccinations, spay/neuter as well as any medications needed. All of the donations go toward helping the cats and kittens. There is no paid staff. These sweet cats and kittens are rescued from neighborhoods where the owner has moved and left them, high kill shelters and some are literally dumped on the street. Sometimes the kittens that come to us need to be bottle fed or nursed back to health. My daughter and I have learned so much during the past five months and we can't imagine not volunteering for this rescue. Southern Counties Rescue was started by Phyllis Elijiah and she knows more about cats and kittens than any veterinarian I've dealt with. She truly cares about the wellbeing of each and every cat that comes into the rescue.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 28, 2012

more

November 28, 2012

None of their staff is paid, so all donations go to the rescue and care of the animals. I totally support this organization as I have adopted from them.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 28, 2012

more

November 28, 2012

I work sometimes as a volunteer at the adoptions every other week for this rescue group in Mission Viejo, California. I also foster cats in my home nearby for this group. I am particularly impressed with how helpful the rescue group is toward those of us who foster and in other ways support their work. I.particularly congratulate the group for the thoroughness with which they prepare adopters to adopt new cats and kittens, and the high standards they hold out for the safety of the animals – for example, indoor-only cats, how to avoid crippling surgeries like declawing, how to provide a nourishing atmosphere inside the home for the cats.
I am happy to be associated with this nonprofit cat rescue organization when the need for their services are so high. I rate this organization as highly worthy of financial support, and recommend it to cat rescue groups locally and outside of state.
ElaineLavaSid

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 28, 2012

more

November 28, 2012

I have worked with this group and Phyllis for at least 7 years. Her know-how and support got me through several litters when I had questions no one could answer. A to Z, this group has what it takes to put kitties into the homes they deserve, and families get the loving pet they have been looking for. He work with educating the public in matters such as adopting 2 kittens together instead of one alone is outstanding, backed by facts and photos so children can learn too. I can't thank Phyllis enough and she is always at hand when a problem arises. I just give her a call and I am handled! Good luck to her and Southern Counties Rescue to continue their good work in the community for the lost, abandoned and hard luck kitties that become loving companions! xx

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 28, 2012

more

November 28, 2012

I have worked with this group to place rescued cats for several years. When I first started rescue, I had trouble finding a group that would let me show my cats at their adoption events - they either said they were full or didn't return my phone calls. This group, however, was very helpful, both by letting me show cats at their events and by giving me great advice. They are an all-volunteer group and are very knowledgeable and caring. I definitely give them two paws up!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 26, 2012

more

November 26, 2012

We have been working with this group for about 2 years fostering and placing cats. We would not be able to do this on our own. Their help is invaluable.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 21, 2012

more

November 21, 2012

I have nothing but praise for the "volunteers" that take care of our rescue kittens and cats. I especially thank Phyllis Millerburg for ALL her time, traveling, vet apts, etc., and finding perfect homes for our rescue kittens. We definitely need more good hearted people like these volunteers to continue their passion for saving our little homeless kittens. Please help them continue.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 19, 2012

more

November 19, 2012

My Wife and I have been working with this group for several years and they do a fantastic job. My wife has caught several feral cats to have spayed and neutered and we have fostered lots of kittens to get then old enough to be placed into loving homes. It's a JOY to work with this group.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 18, 2012

more

November 18, 2012

I started working with this group after my co-workers and I rescued a feral cat and her 6 three week olds babies living in a parking lot. Southern Counties supported me through the whole fostering period and helped me place all of them in incredible homes. There is no paid staff, all are volunteers so 100% of donations goes to helping the rescued animals. Their group of foster parents are dedicated to placing these animals in the best possible home matches for their personalities and needs. All rescues become part of the Southern Countie's Rescue family emotionally and physically until they are placed, no matter their age. I've been volunteering once a month for the past year at their bi-weekly adoption events to give a little back for all they do.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 17, 2012

more

November 17, 2012

I have been volunteering for this rescue for over two years. After my cat of 17 years passed i wanted to help out and save another cat. My first foster was a cat named Chloe that needed a foster home. Chloe came back to our rescue after first being adopted 6 years earlier. The people knew that our rescue would take chloe back so they didn't have to take her to a shelter. The rescue is dedicated to taking care of the kitty's know matter what the situation. They save so many cat's from the streets and even shelter's. They make sure that every cat is spayed/neutered, up to date on shots, dewormed, and flea free. The adoption donation doesn't even cover the cost of caring for these animals. The head of the rescue Phyllis has done so much for the welfare of these cats and also educating the community. I am greatful for the opportunity to volunteer for such a wonderful rescue.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help us setup for an adoption event in Mission Viejo, CA or break-down at the end of the event. Raise funds to help with vet bills. Foster a cat or kittens in need of saving. Volunteer