Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
11 Reviews
123.5454545
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
June 27, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 27, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I adopted Happy (a 3 year old, spayed, UTD on all vaccines, black lab/chow chow mix) from Southern Comfort Animal Rescue in May of 2011. The adoption process was thorough, and she was in perfect health when she was transported to us. She had complete veterinarian records with her. She was transported from Georgia to Maine. SoCo was a pleasure to deal with during the process, and we still keep in touch for updates on our girl. Having my sweet girl has made my life brighter and also her border collie brother's life brighter, as well. When we relocate back to Texas in a few years, I plan on adopting a third dog, and will most definitely be adopting from SoCo.

Photos

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 24, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 24, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have personally adopted 3 dogs from Southern Comfort over the last few years. My life was enriched by the loving, healthy dogs that I adopted from them. I was experienced the unconditional love from all the dogs, and from Soco. I did adopt another dog from someone else, and will never do so again, as this particular dog was not properly vetted when we got her and we were lied to. That particular adoption was sad, as our little Abby died of a sickness that was not disclosed to us. I will never adopt from anyone other than SoCo again, as I have learned that their dogs are healthy, happy and rehabilitated. This is what i would expect from a rescue, and SoCo went above and beyond my expectations. I cannot thank SoCo enough for enhancing my life on a daily basis because of the wonderful dogs they selected, based on my own wants and needs. Thank you SoCo for being a rescue that is in this for the right reason; to help find animals good homes. You have renewed my faith in people being honest and helpful.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 22, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

June 22, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

I have recently had the wonderful opportunity to foster 2 Pit Bull Mixes through SoCo, Bo and Dixie. Their original owner had become unable to care for them anymore and enlisted Scott and SoCo to help him find a foster family and ultimately adopt them to a family that wouldn't abuse them due to their Pit Bull genealogy. I live on a Farm in NC with 30 acres of land and plenty of time after I had a stroke recently so I offered to foster both dogs, but told them I couldn't drive to pick them up from Georgia and if they could help with food for them it would be wonderful. Scott Bennett arranged and Paid for a Lady to Drive them 10 hours to me after I filled out the foster papers, paid for food, and provided rabies vaccination papers. When we got the dogs, they were such loving and happy dogs that we knew they had been taken care of by their original owner, but noticed that they had not been spayed or neutered and except for the rabies vaccines had no documentation on prior shots. Scott Bennett and SoCo called the humane society here in Boone, paid for the spay and neuter and all the needed shots over the phone that moment. Now I have read some nasty comments below and have seen the conspiracy theory website, but what I know PERSONALLY about this man is that he and SoCo spent at least 30 hours with me and the bo and dixie situation this week across state lines from Virginia to Georgia and now in North Carolina, and all I can claim as fact is that in my situation he has acted professionally, responsibly and humanely in ways that I haven't seen in much more financially established rescues. I haven't spent a dime of my own money fostering these 2 fine young dogs, other than the gas to take them to get the vaccinations and spayed and neutering. Scott and SoCo have been available and even come out of pocket every time I brought the least little thing up to them, they are constantly in touch with us in case we need anything and even offered to have a nearby friend come help us take them out, play with them, etc because my stroke limited my physical ability. I won't go on to argue with people who have negative attacks on this organization, hate just breeds more hate, but SoCo provides SOLID loving animals to families and saves these animals from death and more. If I had more energy I would foster more, but be assured as soon as Bo and Dixie are adopted out, we will be fostering at least 2 more. Scott, no matter what anyone says to the contrary, you and SoCo have restored so much faith in humanity for me and my wife and we are grateful to be able to be a part of what you are trying to do.

Photos

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

How did you learn about this organization?

I helped a lady build a website for them.

June 20, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

June 20, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

I have adopted thru soco rescue 3 yes count it THREE times. The big hearted founder has struggled to make a difference in these animals lives. I now refer to him as my friend and when I was down on my luck he helled me by paying my sick dogs vet bill so she could get the medical attention she needed. I was carefully screened before being allowed to adopt. That were so careful they came for a meet and greet a week prior to the adoption to see how the dog and I got along and to check my living arrangements. Basically to see if it were suitable for a pet. Yes I can see that Scott does have telltale signs of a stroke in his past. I don't care if he had a brain transplant. His heart is I'm the right place. And guess what! I have filed bankruptcy twice before thanks to a sorry ex husband who refuses to work and pay child support. Everybody has hard times. What makes you a better person is you keep gingerbread. I am now the manager and director of a prestigious assisted living facility so no I'm not "trailer trash". I'm a God fearing animal loving devoted christian mother and I say keep- up the good work Soco Rescue!!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 20, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

more

June 20, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

I saw a posting of a beautiful dog from Athens, Ga. When she was picked up by animal control she was near death from dehydration and starvation. The volunteers at the a/c site tried hard to get a rescue for this girl. A friend sent me a picture of her. I saw such beauty and joy in this older girl I simply could not turn away. I immediately noticed the lump on her left shoulder and thought I must be an idiot to even consider taking an older dog from another state. Still no local rescues would help her for fear the lump was cancer. And I could not let such beauty die unloved and unwanted. So I started looking for a rescue that would help. None of the ones in the state I live in could pull her. It had to be a Georgia licensed rescue. Having been involved in the SaveAlice movement, I knew of Southern Comfort Animal Rescue so I contacted Mr. Bennett. Without hesitation, he helped me bring Joy home. Initial tests showed the lump to be benign, but 10 months later the unthinkable happened. My loving, adorable Joy had developed aggressive mast cell cancer. The vets here said it was so aggressive it was not something they were equipped to deal with, that a canine oncology specialist was her only hope. So I again turned to Southern Comfort Animal Rescue. Without hesitation, Mr. Bennett and his sister offered their help. The quickest way to get Joy into the best canine oncologists available in the southeast at UGA Vet School & teaching hospital was through a referral from a Ga vet. Mr. Bennett and Ms. Wolf made immediate arrangements with their vet for exam and referral. I took my Joy to them. They not only got her in the next day to their vet, they took care of her until her appointments and drove several hours to take Joy to her appointment at UGA. My heart was breaking because I was so far away, but responsibilities at home required me to be here. I simply could not travel the 12 hours round trip to be with her and I had to get her the best care available. Scott and Terry were with Joy and me every step of this painful, heartbreaking journey; never asking or even allowing any reimbursement for their personal expenses in gas, time and unexpected, but needed items for Joy's care. When I went to meet Terry to bring her home after her appointments at UGA, she was happy, obviously very well cared for and most of all, clearly knew she was loved. Treatments were decided upon and would be done by vets more local, but under the guidance of the specialist at UGA. Despite these efforts, Joy did not survive the cancer. It rapidly spread to her brain. Scott and Terry were there for Joy and through her, me as well. I will be forever grateful for their love, knowledge and unceasing efforts for and with Joy as well as, their kindness and support of sweet Joy's human.

Photos

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 24, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
May 24, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Recent current events have surfaced about this organization and we are waiting on a "lawful investigation" to expose these alleged facts: A)Their so-called "shelter" is operated in the founder's house and also " in a trailer" in his back yard. B) The founder has claimed bankruptcy at least two times C) has never filed a 990 and is currently on disability. D) is claiming disability from a stroke he had in his twenties. --------------------Fraud alert!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Have the authorities in Georgia conduct an impromptu investigation on the grounds that this "shelter " operates on.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Badly

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

Will you recommend this organization to others?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 16, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 16, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have sent money to them — but NEVER again! I was taken in by the story of "Alice" until I got the REAL story! I'm glad SoCo never got took custody of her, not that they ever had the right. Talk about abuse! If anything, SoCo is still abusing her by taking money for her and other dogs in their care under false pretenses. I found a website (www.realityrescue.com) that tells it all. I just wish I could sue and get my money back. The next time, I won't believe anything I read about a rescue unless I thoroughly check it out first. Shame on Scott Bennett for defrauding people. I think the IRS and any other governmental agency who licenses this sham/scam so-called rescue should do a very indepth and every unannounced investigation.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Shut them down completely!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

How did you learn about this organization?

On Facebook when SoCo along all their other multiple pages were created to scam money from people who think they're helping.

February 19, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

February 19, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

This "rescue" should be shut down. They have mistreated animals. This is basically a hoarding facility disguised as a rescue. Call the Georgia Department of Agriculture and ask for the file on this "charity". Donating to this "rescue" would be funding the abuse they have submitted animals to. Just call the legitimate rescues the animals were taken to after the "fire" and they can tell you how horrible the conditions the dogs were in.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Badly

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

Will you recommend this organization to others?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

February 12, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
February 12, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

Descibed as an ANIMAL HOARDING OPERATION by police and fire officials who responded to a stove file on the property 4/8/11. Nearly 100 dogs kept in horrible conditions. Officers found 25 dogs inside the 950 sq ft house, soaked in urine and feces. More dogs outside in wire pens declared illegal and inhumane by Georgia officials. Dozens of dead dogs rotting on property reported by neighbors; 59 dog "graves" found by officials. The operation had a permit for 70 dogs on property, they were caught with 100. Most of these had to be emergency evacuated by Humane Society of Atlanta and other rescue agencies. Numerous animal control violations (detailed below). Owner collects donations claiming 'the rescue burned down', when it was just his personal home stove. Owner still (in 2012) collects donations for a dog named 'Alice' which was featured on TV, but was never in his care and has not been seen since May 2011. Owner threatens anyone who exposes him or takes any photos of his operation. Owner solicited contributions throughout 2011, failing to tell contributors that nearly all dogs had been taken from him by order of the state, failing to tell contributors the organization had a STOP OPERATIONS order effective April 2011, had failed 2 inspections in mid 2011, and finally fined $4,000 to avoid trial for inhumane conditions in January 2012.

Legal Order with fines for inhumane treatment:

https://docs.google.com/viewer?a=v&pid=explorer&chrome=true&srcid=0B4ffBVOJvYo1ZDBjNGQ3ZTQtYTM3Yy00Y2FhLWIyZjMtNzMyOWY2YTQ3NmU4

Photos

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 18, 2011
4 people found this review helpful

more

December 18, 2011
4 people found this review helpful

SoCo provides an invaluable service to the animals in need in this rural, poor area of Georgia. They also have a wonderful outreach program to families who are struggling to feed and vet their companion animals. As a donor, I know my contributions help those truly in need. It is a small way I know I can assist those in need. I am so very thankful for SoCo.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers