Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
66 Reviews
1234.833335
| 1 2 3 4...7 |
Write A Review
October 1, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 1, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

My husband and I have been volunteer puppy raisers for Southeastern Guide Dogs, Inc. in Palmetto, FL since 2010. We are raising our second puppy to become a guide dog for the visually impaired. Being involved in this organization has filled our hearts with joy and purpose. It is an endeavor that not only has changed our lives but one in which holds the promise to change the lives of the visually impaired. SEGDi is a top notch organization. Everyone we have met from puppy raisers, area coordinators, trainers, to the many volunteers on campus that answer the phones, walk the dogs, give tours, etc. are professional and have the same goal in mind. They are all focused on supplying the best possible service dogs to those who really need them. SEGDi supplies service dogs free of charge and is a non profit organization that is entirely supported by private donations and volunteer labor. They place guide dogs for visually impaired, companion dogs for veterans with PTSD, as well as companion dogs for underage youth, ambassador dogs for VA Hospitals, and are linked in to alternate careers in law enforcement in the event a dog cannot be placed in their program. They breed and raise their own puppies with 200-250 pups in their program per year. The puppy raising community spans across 7 states with satelite groups located throughout the southern and eastern USA. We are located in Angketon, Texas.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 1, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 1, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

It all began with my looking into being a puppy raiser for Southeastern Guide Dogs, Inc. I had only lived in the area a couple of years, and had recently lost a cherished family dog when I filled out an application. As I love working with dogs, I presumed that being a puppy raiser would give me a puppy to work with while doing something good for another person. Along the way, I have made many new friends and have had many new experiences. I have also put in many hours, smiles and tears into raising a puppy, J.P., who recently became a guide dog. As a guide dog, J.P. is giving the gift of mobility, independence and dignity to a sight impaired individual. Working with J.P. enriched my life, but he is not completely transforming someone elses. What could possibly be better than that?

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 1, 2012

more

October 1, 2012

The independence the dogs give to the visually impaired is absolutely astounding! The volunteers and staff are dedicated to the mission. Truly a GREAT non-profit!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 1, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 1, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I've been involved as a Puppy Raiser volunteer for Southeastern Guide Dogs for over 12 years and as a member of the Board of Directors for 9 years. I've seen the organization go through tough times and good times. Through it all, they've maintained a high degree of integrity and positivity. I'm honored to be a part of this organization which changes lives in a very unique and individualized way - one dog and one person at a time. If you love dogs, this organization celebrates the elite of the service dog worlds. If your passion is helping people with one of the most challenging of physical challenges - loss of eyesight, this organization celebrates the abilities and independence of a population of America that is historically underserved. Your involvement with Southeastern Guide Dogs, as a volunteer, student, graduate or donor, is an experience that is life-changing.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 1, 2012

more

October 1, 2012

This is a first class operation, providing the gift of mobility to those visually impaired, companionship to those who have suffered unbelievable trauma, and well trained and impeccably socialized dogs to work in many different environments.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 1, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 1, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Hi,my name is " mother marge" at least to the 10 week old puppies I raise, teach and love. I'm a volunteer Guidedog puppy raiser. I get to raise this so very important the basics of becoming a Guidedog for the visually impaired from 10 wks to 14 months. Many sleepless nights but many more puppy hugs and love and countless " looks" from those eyes...that just say I love you mommy...please don't make me get off the bed!! Kick out dad!! We go everywhere together, they are truly my best friend, we play and work together. We go to markets , hospitals, schools, banks, Restaraunt and more together and I wear my training coat. I have raised now 3 Guidedogs and all different & all amazing . Best charitable organization I know....plus 84 cents on the dollar you donate is spent on the programs, we do what we do because of Love in our hearts.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 1, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 1, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

When I retired I knew I wanted to volunteer doing something completely different from the last 32 years I had spent as an educator and administrator at the high school level. I loved my work with young people but wanted to get outside and be more active. Plus I thought we should get a dog to keep us busy in our retirement. While attending a kayaking symposium, we met a couple who were puppy raisers for Southeastern Guide Dogs. Plus we met their Southeastern puppy, Mr. Magoo. I knew that this was the place I was meant to spend my "extra" hours. We began as a dog walker, exercising the dogs in for training. Some days we would help with the yard work on the campus. We were always welcomed with a friendly smile and thanked many, many times for the work we did. We joined a puppy raiser group and began preparing to raise a pup. Everyone was so helpful and friendly.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 1, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 1, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Southeastern Guide Dogs is second to none in professionalism, compassion, and customer service! They treat you like you're one of the family and are committed to making the client happy. I received my very first guide dog from Southeastern. In a world where quantity semms to be the mindset of most, Southeastern provides the quality that one only dreams of. The ehtire staff was friendly, eager to help, and happy to do so.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 1, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 1, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have been a Southeastern Guide Dog volunteer for almost a year. I love it! It's amazing the things that they do there. I have so much to learn, because there are so may fantastic things that they do. Everyone that works there is so friendly and helpful, and I love working with the puppies every week.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 1, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 1, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Being avid animal lovers, my husband and I finally committed ourselves to spend one afternoon a week helping out at this incredible organization. We have been volunteering at the puppy kennel since the end of May 2012. Our jobs have been to socialize the 6+ week old puppies by getting them used to a leash, collar, vest and different textures, sounds, and experiences. It is such a joy to finally do something that gives us complete pleasure and also benefits Southeastern. It is a win win situation, and we all gain something in the process. It is really tough to do this in the hot summer months in Florida, but the feeling of satisfaction we get from the experience makes up for the meltdown we experience during our volunteer hours in the hot, hot temperatures.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers