Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
66 Reviews
1234.833335
| 1 2 3...7 |
Write A Review
October 3, 2012

more

October 3, 2012

Southeastern Guide Dog went over and beyond our expectations. My husband lost his eye sight over a year and a half ago, a very difficult situation for not only him but for the entire family. As my husband attended classes at the Lighthouse for the Blind I began to search for Guide Dogs. There was one facility as close as Mississippi and as far as California. While searching the internet for many reasons Southeastern Guide Dog caught my attention more than others. The facility looked very clean, organized, the puppy cam was amazing, the details of the training were well explained and I was quite impressed about the detailed screening of the person that was to receive the guide dog. The next thing I knew I was filling out the application on line. What seemed like forever, after the background check took place, a kind professional person called to schedule an at home interview. About a month later a person came from Florida and interviewed my husband, took him for a walk with a harness and leash to measure his speed, strength and height. She looked at the home, answered our questions, played with our 2 boxers and told us they would be back in touch with us. A short time after we decided to go to Florida to personally visit the grounds. We were received by the staff and they gave us the tour. They actually put a harness on one of the guide dogs and let my husband walk with him. They made my husband feel like there was nothing more important in the world than him. It was the best thing that happened to him since he lost his sight. We prayed every day that he would be accepted by Southeastern Guide Dog. One day we received the magic phone call and he was asked if he could attend the class that started in October...Are you kidding, the scream of joy and tears were unavoidable. The day we arrived he was greeted by 3 professional trainers that entered his luggage and showed him to his dorm and helped him unpack and get comfortable . Amazing, his dorm had a large private bath, tv, closet, night stands, a large bed and a desk. He said he felt like he was in a 5 star hotel. Southeastern provided absolutely everything even the guide dog he needed at no cost what so ever to us. We could not have had Lucy if there was a cost involved. A Chef prepared the meals for the students, my husband had 3 of the most professional, kind, loving,understanding trainers and staff with him at all times. His 26 days there were the hardest but the most important days of his life. He not only learned to become more self dependent they taught him to trust his Guide Dog Lucy 100%. They are one when she has her harness on. Southeastern Guide Dog will always be in our hearts. It is so hard to explain what it means to regain your independence, to have Lucy at my husbands side 24hours a day. I trust Lucy with my husbands life thanks to Southeastern Guide Dog. They have opened a whole new meaning in our lives. Southeastern Guide Dog is a true non profit organization that knows how to treat and understands the persons coming for their guide dog in a very professional, loving, understanding way.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 2, 2012

more

October 2, 2012

I am a puppy raiser for Southeastern Guide Dogs. I must say how much I have loved working with this organization over the past year. Raising a puppy to one day become a guide dog is a pretty amazing adventure. There is a lot of work involved at multiple levels from administrative to breeding to puppy raising to trainers and kennel services. All of the employees and other volunteers I have encountered have been passionate about the mission. I turn in my puppy in 11 days to do her intensive training. I know she will be in great hands and that she will make a fabulous guide dog for someone in about 6 months. I am proud to be a part of this organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 2, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 2, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I am a puppy raiser and volunteer for Southeastern Guide Dogs, Inc. Southeastern Guide Dogs most definitely is very appreciative of the work I do for them; they never miss an opportunity to say "Thank you". Additionally, the organization is always striving to improve and is very professional; communication is excellent.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 2, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 2, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

It is our greatest pleasure to be a Breeder Host for Southeastern Guide Dogs. The facility is top notch, and so professionally run. The grounds are beautiful, the facility immaculate and the wonderful dogs that go to deserving individuals are perfectly trained. We will continue to support them in any way we can.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 2, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 2, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

this is the best run organization that i think i have ever volunteered with. I cannot say enough about the excellent staff and management and the CEO Titus is a gem.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 2, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 2, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I am visually impaired and I received my guide dog from Southeastern Guide Dogs a over five years ago. Their program is the best in the nation! The quality of the dogs they breed, the quality of their facility and staff, are truly amazing. I have traveled all over the world with my guide dog with confidence. They provide amazing graduate care and follow up after placement. This is a wonderful organization to support with your time and donations, please consider them in your non profit giving.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 2, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 2, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

My wife and I have raised six wonderful puppies over the years. I have had the opportunity to speak to many groups about the changes these dogs make in someone's life. I have never been more surprised that when I walk down the street with a pup in training, people stop me and thank me for what I do. I am amazed because they don't understand that I feel priviledged to be able to help an organization that cares so much for its volunteers, students and dogs. Just a great place filled with great people.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 2, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 2, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have volunteered at Southeastern Guide Dogs going on five years.It is a wonderful organization & I love my volunteer work with the Puppy Hugging kennel. I have seen these puppies grow up to be a great dog that will help for a impaired person or one of our men back from the military, they now can go out walking or just about go anywhere leisure, walking, visiting, making a person smile and to see how happy they are to live a normal life. It has been a great experience I've have learned an awful lot and hope to volunteer there as long as I am able.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

the best possible way like I said before I will continue to work in the puppy kennel as long as I am able and SEGD will keep me.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

It is working great now that there is more communications with the Staff . I don't feel there is a need for anymore changes it looks great now.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

That we can work in the Nursery with the new puppies we get to see them at six weeks I think it would be just great as we could get a chance to work with the new born puppies.

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

Yes it had a effect on me cause it taught me a new skill when I get together with my friends or family they are talking about their kids and I am talking about SEGD the puppies etc.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

It makes me feel great knowing I was volunteering to put a smile on a impaired or a military persons face that they will get a great dog to help them get along in life. It is a wonderful feeling especially when we are invited to a Graduation and see how happy the impaired person is, it is a wonderful wonderful feeling and it makes me feel so good.

October 1, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 1, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

My mom and I have been involved with Southeastern Guide Dogs Inc. in Palmetto, Florida for over a year now. We are puppy raisers and on our first dog. Southeastern is a fantastic organization that cares for their puppies, puppy raisers and those who seek their dogs. they provide guide dogs for the blind and visually impaired, as well as therapy dogs, dogs for Veterans and underage youth. Southeastern Guide Dogs is more of a family where everyone is intertwined, and everyone is there to help make the dogs the best they can possibly be and make sure that people's lives are changed for the better. I have met so many wonderful people through Southeastern Guide Dogs and I will carry their cause with me forever.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 1, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 1, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I started walking dogs at Southeastern Guide Dogs one year ago after I decided to leave corporate America and do some volunteering. Currently I have an Ambassador Dog from Southeastern and together we volunteer to bring joy to others in need and to spread the good word about the school. The more time I spent at the school the more I wanted to get involved. The mission, life's journey with mobility independence and dignity is a great one! The dedication of the staff and volunteers continues to amaze me. I am proud to be a part of their team!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers