Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
29 Reviews
1234.758625
| 1 1 2 3 | Next
Write A Review
March 29, 2012

more

March 29, 2012

Volunteering for South Suburban PADS has been a wonderful and rewarding experience for me. I started volunteering for the summer shelter one night a month in May of last year to give myself something to do. I have no regrets. To be there to listen and help in any way to make the people more comfortable in there stay for the night blesses me as well as myself being a blessing to them.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 28, 2012

more

March 28, 2012

I started volunteering at the PADS day site in Chicago Heights about 10 years ago. It was early into the experience when I knew I would be around for a long time. The homeless have given much more back to me in these past 10 years than I could ever have imagined. My job is simple. I spend a few hours once a week in the morning checking people into the day site before the offices open at 9am. The people are so appreciative of the little bit that I do for them. It humbles me to see their graditude for something that seems so minor to me. But they are always thankful. I have come to appreciate the struggles that the homeless encounter as well as the obstacles that the employees at PADS deal with day to day. The issues involved in homelessness are complicated and neverending. The employees persevere although sometimes even I feel defeated just sitting in as a volunteer. The needs are overwhelming and neverending. The employees continue to chisel away at all the issues the homeless face. Have I seen succcess stories? Absolutely! But I think the greatness comes from the employees who despite all odds never seem to give up on a group of people who really need them.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 28, 2012

more

March 28, 2012

I truly enjoy working for PADS. I work at two different sites. One in winter and a different church for the summer. PADS allows us to use our expertise to help not only the guests we supply shelter but also the churches that serve as shelters. They offer a full program. They don't try to enable people to remain homelss. They offer hope and help. They have a dependency, apartment, job training and life training programs.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 28, 2012

more

March 28, 2012

Over the past several years, my wife and I have volunteered for SOUTH SUBURBAN PADS at the United Christian Church in Country Club Hills. We volunteer for the 3:00 a.m. to 7:00 a.m. shift on the second Wednesday of each month from October through April. We are very comfortable with the approach taken by the church (which we do not attend) toward the clients. The program is well managed, and we feel appreciated for our efforts.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 28, 2012

more

March 28, 2012

After four years as a PADS volunteer, I have learned that the clients depend on us for three meals and for a place to sleep for a night. That in itself, doesn't seem like a big deal, but for many of the clinets, we become a friendly face who says hello, how are you doing, and cheer when we hear a client say, " I'm finally going to get a home, so you won't see me here next time." PADS offer counseling to help our clients get stability and find a job. Recently, a client passed away and the word spread to all, and I even saw his name in a prayer book at a retreat house I was visiting. PADS offers a community for those who travel the miles to find a place to sleep and eat each night and get to know each other. Many clients come and go, and I know that helping at PADS is a way to keep myself in touch with the reality that homelessness can happen to anyone at any time. It makes me grateful for the life with which I am blessed, and the friends I have that also work PADS for those who haven't found the blessings I have.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

seeing the joy on clients' faces that tell me that they have finally found a home.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Have newer bedding, more linens and be able to supply a place during the day

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

I really enjoy my time with other parishioners. I have gotten to know them, and also have gotten to know some of the clients.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Blessed with my own circumstances

March 28, 2012

more

March 28, 2012

The South Suburban PADS offers shelter and food to homeless men, women and children. Without their help, these people and families would go hungry and suffer from inclement weather.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

March 28, 2012

more

March 28, 2012

PADS is an organized and fun place to volunteer. I've been volunteering October through April for approx. 5 years. I miss it during the summer months and can't wait to return.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 28, 2012

more

March 28, 2012

My sons belong to Boy Scout Troop 729. I have helped my boys serve meals to the homeless at the shelter. They also assisted with getting the pads ready for the people. I think it is wonderful for my boys and myself to try and help others in any way we can.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 28, 2012

more

March 28, 2012

Amazing experience for my entire family. My husband and 2 oldest children worked with PADS for many years, until the birth of my 2 youngest children. My boys grew so much from the experience. They got to listen to the men (guests) at the site and learned so much from that time in their lives. We brought friends with to help that became a part of the volunteer network also. The guests were so appreciative of the volunteers- it was an awesome feeling to be a part of the program.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2008

| 1 1 2 3 | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers